We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with all the comforts you require. A beautiful swimming pool, sensational breakfast buffet and complimentary tastings of street food every evening. The quiet location over the bridge was ideal after a day in town. It was also close enough to stroll back to the night market and there are many restaurants and cafés nearby to suit all budgets. Opposite the hotel you can have laundry done and hire bikes at a very reasonable rate.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Pru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
There are newer reviews for Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was the second year running that we have stayed at Vinh Hung Resort and although the weather was poor compared to last year we still had a wonderful 14 days. The staff overall are so attentive and worked hard to make our stay an enjoyable one.
The hotel is situated on the banks of a river just 5 minutes walk from the beautiful old town, a world heritage site. The rooms are large and very clean and the buffet breakfast is first class in terms of both quality and choice. The area round the pool is very attractive and the late afternoon 'country market,' a local food showcase is great fun and much appreciated.
Overall it is the quality of service that would generally push me to awarding five marks. Unfortunately we were rather surprised, and annoyed, at the standard of customer care of some of the reception staff. When we arrived we were met with a distinct lack of friendliness and to cap it all they couldn't find our reservation. No kind words, no welcoming drink just blank stares. I met with the general manager the next morning and his response to our criticism was first class and in fact he waived charges to the Christmas banquet, a much appreciated gesture.

Given the honesty and concern at our treatment I was not going to mention this problem as it had been dealt with properly and generously. However the same lack of caring was exhibited on our departure with the young receptionists being more concerned with making sure we paid for a bottle of water that we had from the room rather than enquiring about our stay and wishing us Bon Voyage, this after a stay of 14 nights. We were also pursued, for about the fourth time about £100 worth of Scottish banknotes that they had changed for a guest. Unsurprisingly the local town banks would not accept the notes and we were constantly asked to exchange the notes for Vnd and take them back to the UK. We pointed out that we were away for a further two months and did not want to invest in that much money for that period and carry that much cash round with us. We were made to feel guilty because we wouldn't oblige.

We enjoyed our stay and loved the staff but please sort out the reception area, it is the worst we have experienced in 3 months travelling.

We will go back and I can recommend the hotel providing the 'front end' is improved.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Big rooms very helpful staff. huge pool good food very clean. Big buffet breakfast. Nice touches such as the country market where they give you free samples of street stall food each day at about 4.00 to 5.00pm.
Free boat trip to town, which is only a few minutes walk across the bridge.
Christmas Eve gala dinner was a buffet which was not that impressive. The staff provided the entertainment which was very cute.
It was cold while we were there and I think they should invest in a few heaters
Would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: They all looked good to me
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute here.
They even have a local market style event nightly at which Yu can try some local street food type dishes for free!
The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We had such a large bed we called it the Emperor as it felt larger than a ling size bed.
Breakfast is included and there is a great choice of local and western foods. Their pho ba was beautiful and a great selection of local fruits.
It's only a short walk to the night life of the river or across the bridge into the old town (close to the Japanese Bridge). But it is so quiet making it a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The grounds and the pool are all you would expect in a luxury resort. The entertainment at the free barbecue was a nice touch. The staff is warm and welcoming. I feel like I made some new friends. The food is very good. The location is exactly right.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hoi An Old Town is a delightful, quaint, centuries old town that has not changed for centuries. Vinh Hung Resort is a 5 minute walk or boat ride away. New Year's Eve in Hoi An Old Town was a very lively and enjoyable event.

Room Tip: The rooms on the corner have a much better front verandah area.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmcpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas period for our honeymoon. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. We loved the staff at this hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and so much fun. There was a compulsory dinner part for xmas eve at the hotel and they did such a great job. Lots of dancers, singers, games etc and they provided us with a great buffet dinner! We loved the location, it's just around the corner to get to the old quarter. Do the Morning Glory cooking class if you stay here as the meeting place is at the Market Restaurant which is just around the corner about 2 mins walk.
There is a laundry just across the road also which was very convenient.
The pool looks great too although it was too cold to swim the time we were there. Stay here if you want great service, location and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool or overlooking the river would be best
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micksom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing