We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Ranked #52 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were very disappointed with Vinh Hung. Firstly we booked two twin rooms, only one was ready and they tried to give us a double with a horrible, hard portable bed. After complaining they moved us to a twin room, which was down the other end of resort from the rest of our party and upstairs. This was not what we booked. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious, with good wifi. Unfortunately for the 3 nights we stayed there, we did not have one hot shower. At best you could say the water was tepid. Buffet breakfast was included, but it was of a very low standard. Limited choices and not good quality, even the fruit was tasteless and I just don't understand how that is possible when we had the most glorious fruit all throughout Vietnam. The staff we very friendly and tried their hardest to please. Only one staff member was unpleasant. When we checked out early in the morning, the night manager accused us of not returning one of our room keys, when we had returned both keys. He argued endlessly until we ordered our taxi driver to leave for the airport. Overall this resort is not up to standard and is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC2bfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
There are newer reviews for Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Vinh Hung Riverside Resort. I generally have a positive impression of the hotel; however, there are some flaws to report.

Much of my impression of this resort arose from our check-in experience. We had booked a ticket with an online travel agency; however, upon arrival the resort had no record of our booking. The confused staff treated us poorly as they sort-of attempted to sort it out. After almost an hour, we were permitting to check into a room while they continued to research this, although we were made to sign documents and our passports that clearly indicated they thought we were scamming them. This despite giving them confirmation numbers and the original confirmation e-mail. No friendly attitude at all here! Additionally, they told us they were fully booked the second night and that we were definitely out of luck, plus it was our responsibility to sort this out with the agency. It took a call to the travel agency with a very long hold time to sort this out. The agency had to call the resort manager. It was apparently some computer problem on the hotel side. No apology was forthcoming at this time, and the 3 hours of stress and lost vacation left a very bitter taste in our mouth. The manager did manage a lukewarm apology at check-out.

The room was generally fairly comfortable. Quite spacious (a lot of empty space in fact). Amenities are fairly modern, although WiFi in the room was spotty, it worked better in other parts of the resort. The bathroom had some repair issues as the shower leaked copiously and the exterior window had mildew, although plenty of hot water.

The location was really excellent. A nice view of the the river from the hotel...I'm sure the riverview rooms are even better. It was also quite a short stroll to all the action in Hoi An, but thankfully set just away from Old Town. I enjoyed this combination of proximity and peace and quiet.

The hotel has a nice "Country Market" each day where they set up tables on the lawn where staff make safe-to-eat versions of Hoi An street food. A guitar plays a lot of Paul Simon and some classical, and this is a really pleasant added bonus. Breakfast was also pretty good with an abundant selection of fruit and some great outdoors tables.

If we hadn't had the incredibly rude, stressful, and unpleasant check-in experience, I'd give this hotel a 4; however, they handled it so poorly, the best I can manage is a 3. Lost reservations are one of example of the kind of issues every hotel sees from time to time. Things go wrong with stays all the time; it's how the staff respond to the issue and the guest that make the difference between good and bad service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryPlusPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in December 2013. Hotel is in a great location with the ‘centre’ 5 min walk away. Staff on reception gave us tips and great advice and helped book sleeper train tickets to sapa on vietnam railways (government trains) $15 per person, rather than some of the tour places which try and get you to buy a private carriage for getting on for $200. All staff spoke very good English. The setting of the hotel was in lovely clean grounds. The breakfast was lovely and with plenty of choice. Our room balcony overlooked the pool, was clean, quiet, spacious and everything we needed. Complimentary boat ride in the morning available. Laundry and food and drinks were available opposite the hotel for a lot cheaper, as are excursions taxis etc. booked a taxi to Hue through the hai van pass for $50.
Hoi ann, is an old quaint town in the daytime and transforms in to a mini ibiza at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterTonytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Me and my lovely girlfriend spent 4 fab nights here. We stayed in a massive and well maintained riverside room (no.709 I think). A daily local market style event happened between 4pm-5pm. It allows you to try various local food, make yourself a lantern and have something written in Vietnamese calligraphy. It's probably included in the price of the room but it feels free and is a nice touch.

Breakfast is good - the banana pancakes were a particular favourite. Service is very good. Location is perfect for the old town action... It's only a few mins walk to the old town, yet it's just far enough away to be a very quiet and peaceful resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0bwillm0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with all the comforts you require. A beautiful swimming pool, sensational breakfast buffet and complimentary tastings of street food every evening. The quiet location over the bridge was ideal after a day in town. It was also close enough to stroll back to the night market and there are many restaurants and cafés nearby to suit all budgets. Opposite the hotel you can have laundry done and hire bikes at a very reasonable rate.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Pru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was the second year running that we have stayed at Vinh Hung Resort and although the weather was poor compared to last year we still had a wonderful 14 days. The staff overall are so attentive and worked hard to make our stay an enjoyable one.
The hotel is situated on the banks of a river just 5 minutes walk from the beautiful old town, a world heritage site. The rooms are large and very clean and the buffet breakfast is first class in terms of both quality and choice. The area round the pool is very attractive and the late afternoon 'country market,' a local food showcase is great fun and much appreciated.
Overall it is the quality of service that would generally push me to awarding five marks. Unfortunately we were rather surprised, and annoyed, at the standard of customer care of some of the reception staff. When we arrived we were met with a distinct lack of friendliness and to cap it all they couldn't find our reservation. No kind words, no welcoming drink just blank stares. I met with the general manager the next morning and his response to our criticism was first class and in fact he waived charges to the Christmas banquet, a much appreciated gesture.

Given the honesty and concern at our treatment I was not going to mention this problem as it had been dealt with properly and generously. However the same lack of caring was exhibited on our departure with the young receptionists being more concerned with making sure we paid for a bottle of water that we had from the room rather than enquiring about our stay and wishing us Bon Voyage, this after a stay of 14 nights. We were also pursued, for about the fourth time about £100 worth of Scottish banknotes that they had changed for a guest. Unsurprisingly the local town banks would not accept the notes and we were constantly asked to exchange the notes for Vnd and take them back to the UK. We pointed out that we were away for a further two months and did not want to invest in that much money for that period and carry that much cash round with us. We were made to feel guilty because we wouldn't oblige.

We enjoyed our stay and loved the staff but please sort out the reception area, it is the worst we have experienced in 3 months travelling.

We will go back and I can recommend the hotel providing the 'front end' is improved.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Big rooms very helpful staff. huge pool good food very clean. Big buffet breakfast. Nice touches such as the country market where they give you free samples of street stall food each day at about 4.00 to 5.00pm.
Free boat trip to town, which is only a few minutes walk across the bridge.
Christmas Eve gala dinner was a buffet which was not that impressive. The staff provided the entertainment which was very cute.
It was cold while we were there and I think they should invest in a few heaters
Would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: They all looked good to me
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing