We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, so much so that we extended our stay by a couple of days. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the afternoon local food fair was a lovely added touch. My daughter enjoyed making lanterns and having her name written in calligraphy.

Great location as it's only a short walk into the centre of the old town.

We will be back next time we are in Hoi An.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfr8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
There are newer reviews for Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Vinh Hung Riverside Resort and Spa. Located right on the river and across and the canal from Hoi An. Very private and tucked away on a back street so no tourist traffic. Only three min walk to old town. 5 star super service from all staff. The resort is a little older but the building architecture is timeless and beautiful. We did not have a reservation so Mr. C. the manager worked out a 12 day stay for us in different type rooms. 4 days in each category type room. All the rooms are large with very cold AC and all hardwood floors. The rooms are very clean. The suites come with a bottle of complimentary wine. All river facing rooms have a back porch with a large cabana. In addition, they also have front porch with table and chairs. The compound is very picturesque with many palms and beautiful gardens. The staff is constantly cleaning the grounds. If you like flowers and gardens everywhere this is the place. The resort has three bars, a Tiki bar, swim up to pool bar and a piano bar in a separate building. Wi-Fi is everywhere. They have a tour desk right in the lobby. Check out Ba Na Hills 15 miles west of Da Nang. The food is very good and I fell in love with the PHO soup for breakfast. My wife would have preferred more western dishes. Our sixth week in south East Asia so she was ready for pizza. They have their own vegetable gardens right beside the river. At 4pm every day they have local food tasting buffet in grassy area in front of restaurant. Local soups, rice rolls, dumplings, tea, etc. Oh by the way it’s also free.
The resort offers free transport around 10am to Cua Dai beach and return around 3pm. They also offer free small boat transport to old town every hour except lunch until 5pm. Boat accommodates 14 people. You may sign up for a guaranteed seat but usually not necessary. Boat dock is located 50 meters from Tiki bar. A free sunset cruise every evening at 5pm with drop you off in Hoi An or return you to resort around 6pm. May purchase beer and wine on boat for $1.00-$1.50. You can rent motorbike everywhere near resort but be careful the bike traffic is wild in town. I had a rental bike and we recommend An Bang Beach two mile north. Go to Soul Food restaurant.
I needed a 30 day passport extension. Mr. Vinh took me three different places on his own scooter to get a visa extension. He later went to customs office two days later and picked up and delivered our visa extensions. Would have been very difficult without his help. In addition, we were having breakfast and Mrs. Yang walked up to my wife and gave her a bouquet of flowers and said happy Int’l Woman’s Day. Once again the staff is super. The managers Mr. C., Mr. Vinh, and Mrs. Yang were very attentive and friendly to name a few. The bartenders Tin Bui and Ms. Damm, (pronounced Dum) were lots of fun. We travel all over the world and this place won our hearts. It all just came together. We will return. Must stay a week if possible.

Bob & Denise
Pittsburgh Area.

Room Tip: Select room facing the river for great view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was our second visit to Hoi An and we decided to stay somewhere that was more than a hotel. This place is on the island with a river setting and just a short walk from the old town.
The hotel seems to be very popular as, although we booked some weeks before leaving home, there was very limited availability and we could only stay for 4 days.
The spacious room had a sitting area with a sofa and chairs on the balcony.
The bed was large and very comfortable .The bathroom toiletries were disappointing and were probably not four star hotel quality.
The hotel has two pools with lovely gardens where the 'street stall food market' is served between 4 and 5 pm daily. This is a great idea which allows guests to sample typical street food and sit with a drink as the day draws to a close. Watching the sunset from the garden is delightful.
The restaurant serves all meals. We had breakfast there each day and were impressed with the food and the staff who kept the buffet replenished quickly and efficiently. We'd been in Vietnam for 2 weeks and this was the first place to serve cereals at breakfast!
Each day we walked into the old town for shopping, sight seeing and lunch as the resort is about 5 minutes walk across the island to the bridge over the inlet to the old town.
We took advantage of the evening sunset cruise and the shuttle boat into the market area of the old town. These are both complimentary for guests as is the afternoon food market.
Although the hotel was full, the numerous staff were not flustered at any request and always greeted us with a smile.
My only grouch would be with some guests who put a towel or other article on poolside loungers after breakfast, go away and return anything up to an hour later and expect to find the lounger unoccupied. I think the management could discourage this selfish, unsocial and rude behaviour with appropriate signage.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would happily return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In planning our Itinerary for our trip through Vietnam, we included several days at The Vinh Hung Riverside resort as " a must", due to our previous experience at this resort. We wanted a relaxed, enjoyable location to break our hectic schedule &that is exactly what we got. Everything we had recalled from our previous visit, including facilities, staff & food, were as good, if not better this time round. The sunset cruise & the country market were highlights. While there is cheaper accommodation available in the area, in terms of value for money, this place is very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Probably advantages in ground floor suites, particularly if stairs are a problem for you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Vin Hung for 8 days in March. The resort has everything you need, great rooms, excellent breakfast overlooking the river, there are 2 swimming pools and a couple of outdoor bars. If you need anything else all you have to do is ask. The staff are excellent all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble, We had a couple of favourites Na our sweet waitress and Tan in the outdoor bar who was very friendly and made nice cocktails.
Yang who is one of the managers more on the public relations side was just lovely and once again very helpful as was the assistant managers Vinh and Cheung.
The locations was great only 10 minutes to the Old Town but most days we took the free Boat shuttle into town and walked back. They also offer a free sunset cruise and a local tasting market every day 4 to 5 pm which was excellent.

We loved it so much we have booked a return trip in 2015

Room Tip: I would recommend any room with river view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross and Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel has all there is to offer! Locate perfect for a short walk into town or take advantage of the hotels water taxi! Gardens and pools are restful - at 4 pm Vietnamese nibbles are provided in the garden which go very nicely with a cocktail from the outside bar. Hotel grows it's own veg. There is a complimentary sun set tour. Staff attentive and booked us taxis to and from airport as well as our next destination. Try to visit hoi an on a full moon to experience the ceremonies on the river - we have a wonderful time here. Make use of the laundry directly opposite and take home your holiday clothes clean and ironed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

To be honest, I really am not a 'resort hotel' person, but this place was excellent. It has probably the best location in Hoi An as it has a beach feel (being on the river and away from the noise) however it is a stone's throw from the center of town. We don't eat in hotel restauarnts so no comment except that the breakfast was outstanding with the possibility to sit on the river front. The staff bend over backwards to help (as everywere in Vietnam). Our initial room was poor (upstairs with a useless balcony) but we were moved to nice downstairs room with good balcony overlooking the river and backing onto the pool. Initial bed was also rock hard which they addressed with lots of duvets under he sheets. Room furniture is a bit poorly thought out (heavy wood) but room was massive.

At this time of the year (cool) you really should not need air con but of course this is a concrete hotel, so sadly you will opt for it. No eco points there!

Real points go to the cleaner who discovered a 50euro note that I had erroneously left in my bath robe for payment to the spa. Honesty or what?

Oh, and the spa is good and grotty places in town are no cheaper.

Room Tip: downstairs, beach front.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkKitesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#35 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing