We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staffs will get A+”
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #137 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our family stayed here on 11th May 13. Staff was super friendly.We were small family with kid and felt very comfortable at this location. Rooms are nice and little bigger, but only smell in room . Breakfast was good. Bus from Hotel to Hoi An town, it is free of charge. We will definitely recommend this to families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bnktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear bnktravel,

Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a wonderful feedback and for choosing Sea and Sand as your home during your stay in Hoi An. The whole management team and the staff are happy to hear from you and are pleased with what you have written here.

We look forward in seeing and welcoming you once again when you get back to Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

The best thing about this hotel was leaving it, because we only stayed four hours and they gave us half our money back. Not to say it was terrible, but there were no curtains and a bright sun; no bedside lamps, and no kettle or tea-making things. The bathroom was just OK. We moved to the Sea and Sand to get away from a hotel room in Hoi An itself that had no window. Also, we wanted to be near the ocean.

I agree with other reviewers that it's OK for a cheapie. We opted to splurge on a resort hotel two doors down, with its own private beach. We don't do this often, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RT1Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Hi RT1Perth_Australia,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback. We also would like to send our thanks for choosing Sea and Sand as your home in Hoi An though you only stayed for a few hours.

It is important for us to evaluate and review everything that you have observed during your stay with us. We are doing our best to keep our guests satisfied with our facilities and services and we apologize for not reaching that standards that you were expecting. With that being said, we are happy that you were very honest with your observations and feedback.

If you get to visit Hoi An again next time, we would like to invite you to stay with us and re-experience the Sea and Sand in a whole new different way.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We've spent 4 nights here in April. When we were choosing the hotel we wanted something near the beach and the options were: beach resorts for 60-100 EUR per night or Sea and Sand for merely a small part of this money. So logic won and we decided to stay at Sea and Sand and we are very happy with our choice.
Hotel: very basic, quite spacious rooms with balconies, although quite noisy in the mornings because of the traffic. Bathroom was clean and all the appliances worked (we stayed previous night at 70 EUR/night hotel and no of three shower heads worked).
Breakfast: again very basic, but with 3-4 USD breakfast in all nearby restaurants it's hardly a problem.
Service: most of the stuff was very helpful, although one of the guys in the reception spoke less English than I did Vietnamese :) Used free shuttle to Hoi An a few times.
Location: Superb! 300 meters from the sandy beach. Hotel has agreement with one of the bars on the beach, so we could use their chairs, umbrellas and beach towels for free.
We've spent most of the time (8AM - 6 PM) on the beach, then we had some dinner in nearby restaurants our in Hoi An, so we only used hotel for showers and sleep.
Verdict: Great for such a price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valdemar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear GriskevicV,

Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time in writing us a positive feedback about our facilities and services. We are very glad that you've enjoyed staying with us for 4 nights here in Hoi An. It is also our pleasure to have served you during your time here.

In behalf of the whole management team and Sea and Sand staff, we would like to send a big thanks to you and your partner for all the kind words.

We look forward in welcoming you again here in Hoi An!

Best Regards,

Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Whilst we appreciate that you get what you pay for, there is no excuse for dirt! The bathroom was filthy and we felt we never even wanted to use the bath because of this! The hotel is on the main road and as the market starts very early each morning, the traffic and noise is unbearable. The breakfast could hardly be called that! We checked out after staying only one night - not a great experience at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Jenny-Lee H,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing a very honest review about our hotel and services. We would also like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Hoi An.

It's a pity that you didn't have a good time staying with us and that you've only checked in for 1 night. We could've done better if only you still decided to stay with us. Anyway, we hope that you'll give us another chance when you get back here in Hoi An. The whole Sea and Sand team is trying its best to improve our services to satisfy our valued customers.

On the occasion that you go back to Hoi An, please contact me directly so we could prepare and arrange everything for you. We would like to give you a more positive experience next time.

Thanks and Regards,

Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here thinking that we would be at the beach a lot more because of our 2 kids. We ended up spending most of the time in Hoi An and doing the beach beach twice in 4 days but only a couple of hours at a time. The rate was exceptionally cheap for 2 adjoining rooms so we actually didn't expect too much in terms of service and rooms. We tried to organise a shuttle from Da Nang but that didn't quite workout so we got a cab from the Airport. 500 000 VND. The staff were friendly like everyone in Vietnam. Not the greatest command of english but very helpful. The hotel and rooms reminded me of some of these movies set during the war. Not the most modern but maybe was quite nice during the 70's. The rooms did have AC which worked fine. No safe, so we had to keep things in the main safe at reception, it worked out OK. The bathrooms were a bit sad though. We were missing a shower curtain in one of the adjoining bathrooms but ended up using the one in the other bathroom. The lighting in the bathrooms wasn't up to my wifes standard but we didn't bother making a fuss about these things as this was not a 5 star hotel. I'm guessing most people are the same. The pool is quite a non event, tiny and not the cleanest, definitely not inviting. Don't book this hotel based on the fact that it has a pool.
The breakfast buffet was OK. We did our My Son tour through the hotel and it worked out quite nicely. There are other tour operators in Hoi An that offer more tours with different rates so don't think that you are obliged to just use the hotel's options. Taxis to/from the Old town run for about 80 000 VND. The restaurants in the Old town are better than the local beach ones, which is why we would definitely stay in the Old Town for our next stay and just catch cabs to the beach instead of the other way around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear RobFog,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel services and facilities. We highly appreciate every comment that you have given us. Also, we would like to thank you for choosing the Sea and Sand Hotel as your home during your stay in Hoi An.

It's a pity that you didn't much enjoy your stay with us. To be honest, we are doing our best to improve all of our services and facilities to be able to meet most of our customers utmost standards. We are also on our way in renovating our property in the next few months. So if ever you or some of your friends/family drop by, you'll be expecting a lot more from us.

Again, thank you for your honest feedback and recommendations. We hope and look forward in seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

To email information about this hotel was extremely punishing. I wanted to confirm a transfer from the Airport on arrival, but all my emails were un answered. At the end we arrived with no transfer to our hotel but it worked out fine and ended up cheaper. This Hotel was in a great Location, a little noisy, Close to the Beach and amongst the local shops, tailors and Restaurants. The Hotel itself was old but you pay for what you get. We had a connecting rooms and the value for this was excellent. The beds were comfortable but the rooms were old and are in need of a bit of maintenance. The bathrooms were big with plenty of hot water but there was a lot of mould on the ceilings and around the bath tub.
Breakfast was included every day and there was plenty and it was good. Staff were very friendly and tried very hard to understand English. The pool was a disappointment for the kids as it looked very dirty and cloudy so we did not use it.
Overall it still was a great holiday and these things did not ruin our time in Hoi An. I would definately recommend this hotel for the solo or Friends travellers who are on a budget, not so good for families with kids who are also wanting a pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8NicoleM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear 8NicoleM8,

Warm greetings from the Sea & Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing a very informative feedback about our hotel and services. We would also like to send our deepest gratitude to you and your family for choosing the Sea and Sand as your home during your stay in Hoi An. The whole team is trying to do its best to improve all of our facilities and our service. Though obviously there are still some flaws that you encountered with us, the Sea and Sand staff are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the unanswered emails, we do really apologize for not being able to do so for some apparent reason. I have reported this issue already with the concerned departments and will make sure that it won't happen again.

We look forward in welcoming you again when you get back here in Vietnam.

All the Best,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We have been there because of the good location to the beach.
But we have been very disapointed: The room was quite old and not very clean.
Although the living room was OK, the bathroom was dirty. The staff was hardly speaking English,
which should even in Vietnam should be a matter of course in that category. Wifi was also not working in the rooms, we had to go to staircase or to the PCs in the lobby.
We can not recommend this hotel at all, there are much better ones in Hoi An.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konrad_Brummi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Konrad_Brummi_,

Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

First of all, thank you for choosing the Sea and Sand Hotel as your home during your stay here in Hoi An. We truly appreciate it.

Regarding your feedback, we apologize for our shortfalls and we are doing our best to improve our services especially with regards to communicating in the English Language.

On the other hand, during your stay, the Wi-Fi was not working inside the rooms because that was the time when we were doing our improvements on our facilities. We also do apologize for not giving you prior notice during your stay.

All in all, thank you again for taking the time to share you thoughts and experience with our hotel. We look forward in meeting you again once you visit Hoi An again next time.

Kind Regards,

Bui Van Tao (Mr.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Villa Hoi An
The Villa Hoi An
#124 of 162 in Hoi An
13 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
#103 of 162 in Hoi An
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#87 of 162 in Hoi An
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing