We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If u want to be near Cua Dai beach”
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #133 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If u want to be near Cua Dai beach”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Sea and Sand is a decent budget hotel if u want to stay near the Cua Dai beach at a reasonable price. Most of the other accommodation near the beach is resorts and u will pay significantly more, so if on a budget and u want a clean and basic hotel this is a good choice.

They have their own section on the beach which allows u to have sun bed for free (though you get them anywhere on the beach for about 20000vnd).

The hotel it self does not have a pool but you can use the pool next door at the Hoi An River resort for free whenever you want to which is great if you want to lay by the pool and not have the ladies on the beach trying to sell you stuff all the time.

The ladies on the beach are persistent but if you take the time to speak to them and buy a couple of over priced souvenirs you can learn a lot about the Vietnamese way of life their stories are lovely to listen to.

The breakfast at the hotel is fairly basic but suitable if you not expecting a huge buffet. On my last day there was only a few people staying (I was there in low season) so they sent me next door to the resort which had a much bigger selection.

I would recommend this hotel to budget conscious people who don't want to stay in the town, they provided free shuttle buses to the old town during the day so easy to get to. Though a taxi into town is only about 89000 VND.

The only negative for me staying here was the airport transfer they provide from Da Nang which as a solo traveler was outrageously expensive at 500000VND absolutely too expensive. Though if u are with a group you can split that cost which would make it more economical.

One last tip if u want a quite room don't get one at the front of the hotel, the Vietnamese people go to bed early and rise early and if you are at the front of the hotel you will be waking up very early every morning (I'm an early riser so I did not mind and it was Greg to sit out on the balcony and watch the locals go about their daily lives)

Room Tip: If u want quite get room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickTeasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear riker2010,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Many thanks for taking the time in writing us an informative and helpful feedback. We appreciate all your kind words since your comments are very important to us. Thank you as well for choosing the Sea and Sand as your second home during your stay in Hoi An. Our staff and the management team are all happy to hear from you.

We regret that we weren't able to satisfy you that well because of our services and the price of our airport transfer. Everyone here is doing their best to improve our skills and services for better customer satisfaction in the future.

We hope to hear from you again and welcome you once you get the chance to visit Hoi An next time!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
29
50
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Cheap price, have private beach, shuttle bus to the down town as scheduled, simple buffet breakfast, etc that made us feel relaxed and happy to stay here.
Staff is friendly and always smile whenever they met us.
The room is ok
Overall, it is ok and we will come back next holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Tomy P,

Good day! Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us a feedback and for staying with us during your family trip here in Hoi An. We are happy to hear from you since your feedback is very important to us.

We hope to see you again soon when you get the chance to drop by Hoi An next time.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our family stayed here on 11th May 13. Staff was super friendly.We were small family with kid and felt very comfortable at this location. Rooms are nice and little bigger, but only smell in room . Breakfast was good. Bus from Hotel to Hoi An town, it is free of charge. We will definitely recommend this to families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bnktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear bnktravel,

Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a wonderful feedback and for choosing Sea and Sand as your home during your stay in Hoi An. The whole management team and the staff are happy to hear from you and are pleased with what you have written here.

We look forward in seeing and welcoming you once again when you get back to Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The best thing about this hotel was leaving it, because we only stayed four hours and they gave us half our money back. Not to say it was terrible, but there were no curtains and a bright sun; no bedside lamps, and no kettle or tea-making things. The bathroom was just OK. We moved to the Sea and Sand to get away from a hotel room in Hoi An itself that had no window. Also, we wanted to be near the ocean.

I agree with other reviewers that it's OK for a cheapie. We opted to splurge on a resort hotel two doors down, with its own private beach. We don't do this often, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RT1Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hi RT1Perth_Australia,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback. We also would like to send our thanks for choosing Sea and Sand as your home in Hoi An though you only stayed for a few hours.

It is important for us to evaluate and review everything that you have observed during your stay with us. We are doing our best to keep our guests satisfied with our facilities and services and we apologize for not reaching that standards that you were expecting. With that being said, we are happy that you were very honest with your observations and feedback.

If you get to visit Hoi An again next time, we would like to invite you to stay with us and re-experience the Sea and Sand in a whole new different way.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We've spent 4 nights here in April. When we were choosing the hotel we wanted something near the beach and the options were: beach resorts for 60-100 EUR per night or Sea and Sand for merely a small part of this money. So logic won and we decided to stay at Sea and Sand and we are very happy with our choice.
Hotel: very basic, quite spacious rooms with balconies, although quite noisy in the mornings because of the traffic. Bathroom was clean and all the appliances worked (we stayed previous night at 70 EUR/night hotel and no of three shower heads worked).
Breakfast: again very basic, but with 3-4 USD breakfast in all nearby restaurants it's hardly a problem.
Service: most of the stuff was very helpful, although one of the guys in the reception spoke less English than I did Vietnamese :) Used free shuttle to Hoi An a few times.
Location: Superb! 300 meters from the sandy beach. Hotel has agreement with one of the bars on the beach, so we could use their chairs, umbrellas and beach towels for free.
We've spent most of the time (8AM - 6 PM) on the beach, then we had some dinner in nearby restaurants our in Hoi An, so we only used hotel for showers and sleep.
Verdict: Great for such a price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valdemar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear GriskevicV,

Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time in writing us a positive feedback about our facilities and services. We are very glad that you've enjoyed staying with us for 4 nights here in Hoi An. It is also our pleasure to have served you during your time here.

In behalf of the whole management team and Sea and Sand staff, we would like to send a big thanks to you and your partner for all the kind words.

We look forward in welcoming you again here in Hoi An!

Best Regards,

Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Whilst we appreciate that you get what you pay for, there is no excuse for dirt! The bathroom was filthy and we felt we never even wanted to use the bath because of this! The hotel is on the main road and as the market starts very early each morning, the traffic and noise is unbearable. The breakfast could hardly be called that! We checked out after staying only one night - not a great experience at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Jenny-Lee H,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing a very honest review about our hotel and services. We would also like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Hoi An.

It's a pity that you didn't have a good time staying with us and that you've only checked in for 1 night. We could've done better if only you still decided to stay with us. Anyway, we hope that you'll give us another chance when you get back here in Hoi An. The whole Sea and Sand team is trying its best to improve our services to satisfy our valued customers.

On the occasion that you go back to Hoi An, please contact me directly so we could prepare and arrange everything for you. We would like to give you a more positive experience next time.

Thanks and Regards,

Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here thinking that we would be at the beach a lot more because of our 2 kids. We ended up spending most of the time in Hoi An and doing the beach beach twice in 4 days but only a couple of hours at a time. The rate was exceptionally cheap for 2 adjoining rooms so we actually didn't expect too much in terms of service and rooms. We tried to organise a shuttle from Da Nang but that didn't quite workout so we got a cab from the Airport. 500 000 VND. The staff were friendly like everyone in Vietnam. Not the greatest command of english but very helpful. The hotel and rooms reminded me of some of these movies set during the war. Not the most modern but maybe was quite nice during the 70's. The rooms did have AC which worked fine. No safe, so we had to keep things in the main safe at reception, it worked out OK. The bathrooms were a bit sad though. We were missing a shower curtain in one of the adjoining bathrooms but ended up using the one in the other bathroom. The lighting in the bathrooms wasn't up to my wifes standard but we didn't bother making a fuss about these things as this was not a 5 star hotel. I'm guessing most people are the same. The pool is quite a non event, tiny and not the cleanest, definitely not inviting. Don't book this hotel based on the fact that it has a pool.
The breakfast buffet was OK. We did our My Son tour through the hotel and it worked out quite nicely. There are other tour operators in Hoi An that offer more tours with different rates so don't think that you are obliged to just use the hotel's options. Taxis to/from the Old town run for about 80 000 VND. The restaurants in the Old town are better than the local beach ones, which is why we would definitely stay in the Old Town for our next stay and just catch cabs to the beach instead of the other way around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear RobFog,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel services and facilities. We highly appreciate every comment that you have given us. Also, we would like to thank you for choosing the Sea and Sand Hotel as your home during your stay in Hoi An.

It's a pity that you didn't much enjoy your stay with us. To be honest, we are doing our best to improve all of our services and facilities to be able to meet most of our customers utmost standards. We are also on our way in renovating our property in the next few months. So if ever you or some of your friends/family drop by, you'll be expecting a lot more from us.

Again, thank you for your honest feedback and recommendations. We hope and look forward in seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Homestay
Sea Star Homestay
#84 of 271 in Hoi An
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ki No Homestay
Ki No Homestay
#126 of 271 in Hoi An
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Park Homestay and Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hien Hoa Villa
Hien Hoa Villa
#41 of 209 in Hoi An
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Property: Sea and Sand Hotel
Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing