We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and staff”
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #133 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location and staff”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location is great as its only a short walk from the beach and there are several shuttle buses to and from the old town. On top of that the staff are happy to chat and help you with learning Vietnamese, on a few occasions I watched some football matches with them in the lobby and they were good company. Breakfast was also good, the chefs make very nice and tasty omelets.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear SeanAdvice,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you so much for writing us a lovely feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated by the whole group. We are happy to hear that you've had a great time staying with us during your time in Hoi An.

We look forward in seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
29
50
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Noble Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

When we arrive, as the voucher haven't been received yet. We ask the receptionist for a Superior room. They said there is no more Superior room and the Deluxe room is 1/3 more expensive than the Agoda's rate. We showed the website and asked for the same rate but they said it is the right one. Luckily for us, Agoda sent the voucher just in time, and they had no choice but to let us stay with the Agoda rate. I will never go there next time, the hotel is not good enough. The staff is trying to rob customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear richard m,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Many thanks for spending some few minutes in writing us a feedback about our staff, hotel, and services. We are happy to hear from you as your comments and suggestions are very important to us. We regret to hear that you felt like getting ripped off by our staff at Sea and Sand. Just to point out, our property has been in operations for more than 5 years already and we've never tried doing this to our customers.

Yes, we are completely aware that our hotel and services do not meet most of the people's standards, but this does not mean that we would even think of robbing them just to get money. The management team of Sea and Sand trains our staff with integrity.

Again, we are sorry for all the troubles that we may have caused you. We hope to see you again next time when you get back to Hoi An and please contact me directly if you have any concerns.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Can't recommend it at all. Even some of the staff was unfriendly, very unusual in this lovely, friendly country.

However it's near the beach.

I have nothing else to say.

Horrible, horrible, horrible.

The unfriendliness was remarkable

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Augusta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Augusta C,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you for spending some few minutes in writing us a feedback about our hotel and services. Your comments are highly important to us.

In behalf of the unfriendly staff that you've encountered, we would like to send our deepest apologies for the dissatisfaction. Though we are a budget hotel, we try our best to improve everyday and provide the best possible service ever to our beloved guests.

It is actually unusual for us to get such feedback. Our staffs are one of the friendliest group of people in the whole town. Maybe there were just some misunderstanding or miscommunications between the two parties that they came off as unfriendly. But again, thank you for your feedback as we are already on the process of fixing this issue.

We look forward in seeing you again the next time you visit Hoi An! If you need any assistance, do not hesitate to contact me prior to your arrival. We will be more than happy to serve you once again.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel. It is a 2 minute walk away from Cua Dai beach and a dozen fresh seafood restaurants. The plus sides, staffs are friendly and helpful, location, cost, some services like laundry and shuttle bus to Hoi An are good. The negatives, its a little run down, lights and switches not working so well, Wi-Fi didn't work for 4 days even after notifying the staff, it is a little noisy, I noticed lots of groups of younger locals in here who like to keep the party going late into the night in the next room, and on the next balcony. It seemed like they were sitting in the room with us when they were out there.

Depending on what kind of trip you are looking for. Low budget, close to the beach, and average rooms. Its perfect! Quiet peaceful stay, or romantic place, not exactly. It worked great for me, and I will probably go back again if I visit Hoi An. Oh one last thing, I checked out on a Monday morning, needed to catch an 9am flight in Da Nang so I was getting a 7am Taxi to the airport, I came down at 630am to check out and grab the included breakfast but found that during the week you need to travel to a different hotel to eat breakfast. I had all my luggage and they told me to just leave it sitting there and walk down the street to some different hotel with a ticket and show them and I could eat something there. Ummm I didn't do it, not sure if anyone else has tried it, but a little notice about that would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 777Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in sea and sand for 2 wks. It isnt a 5 star allinc resort some people who give there review here hope it is.
But you get a lot for what you pay for!

The rooms are clean and fine. The personel is friendly and always willing to help you. Airco works fine. Location is great!! Only 250-300mtrs from the beach. The beachbar called GoBy is a nice place to stay. Free beds and towels.

In cua dai beach there are a al lot of beachrestaurants and shops. So enough to do. If you want to go to hoi an the shuttlebus is free! Just ask at the reception and they will arrange it for you.

Great place with superb value for what you pay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mh_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear mh_1204,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Many thanks for writing us a feedback about our hotel and services and for staying with us for 2 weeks during your trip in Hoi An. The whole management team and the staff are really happy that we were able to satisfy your needs whilst being with us.

We look forward in seeing you again the next time you get to visit Hoi An in the near future!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Sea and Sand is a decent budget hotel if u want to stay near the Cua Dai beach at a reasonable price. Most of the other accommodation near the beach is resorts and u will pay significantly more, so if on a budget and u want a clean and basic hotel this is a good choice.

They have their own section on the beach which allows u to have sun bed for free (though you get them anywhere on the beach for about 20000vnd).

The hotel it self does not have a pool but you can use the pool next door at the Hoi An River resort for free whenever you want to which is great if you want to lay by the pool and not have the ladies on the beach trying to sell you stuff all the time.

The ladies on the beach are persistent but if you take the time to speak to them and buy a couple of over priced souvenirs you can learn a lot about the Vietnamese way of life their stories are lovely to listen to.

The breakfast at the hotel is fairly basic but suitable if you not expecting a huge buffet. On my last day there was only a few people staying (I was there in low season) so they sent me next door to the resort which had a much bigger selection.

I would recommend this hotel to budget conscious people who don't want to stay in the town, they provided free shuttle buses to the old town during the day so easy to get to. Though a taxi into town is only about 89000 VND.

The only negative for me staying here was the airport transfer they provide from Da Nang which as a solo traveler was outrageously expensive at 500000VND absolutely too expensive. Though if u are with a group you can split that cost which would make it more economical.

One last tip if u want a quite room don't get one at the front of the hotel, the Vietnamese people go to bed early and rise early and if you are at the front of the hotel you will be waking up very early every morning (I'm an early riser so I did not mind and it was Greg to sit out on the balcony and watch the locals go about their daily lives)

Room Tip: If u want quite get room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickTeasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear riker2010,

Warm greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Many thanks for taking the time in writing us an informative and helpful feedback. We appreciate all your kind words since your comments are very important to us. Thank you as well for choosing the Sea and Sand as your second home during your stay in Hoi An. Our staff and the management team are all happy to hear from you.

We regret that we weren't able to satisfy you that well because of our services and the price of our airport transfer. Everyone here is doing their best to improve our skills and services for better customer satisfaction in the future.

We hope to hear from you again and welcome you once you get the chance to visit Hoi An next time!

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Cheap price, have private beach, shuttle bus to the down town as scheduled, simple buffet breakfast, etc that made us feel relaxed and happy to stay here.
Staff is friendly and always smile whenever they met us.
The room is ok
Overall, it is ok and we will come back next holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea and Sand Ho... H, General Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Tomy P,

Good day! Greetings from the Sea and Sand Hotel Hoi An!

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us a feedback and for staying with us during your family trip here in Hoi An. We are happy to hear from you since your feedback is very important to us.

We hope to see you again soon when you get the chance to drop by Hoi An next time.

Best Regards,
Bui Van Tao (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sea Star Homestay
Sea Star Homestay
#84 of 271 in Hoi An
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ki No Homestay
Ki No Homestay
#126 of 271 in Hoi An
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Park Homestay and Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hien Hoa Villa
Hien Hoa Villa
#41 of 209 in Hoi An
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Property: Sea and Sand Hotel
Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing