We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoi An NGO Homestay
Ranked #12 of 254 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a great stay at this homestay, the family was very welcoming & friendly. It was in a great location, only a short walk to the old town & eating places. We also hired a scooter & push bikes from here & they arranged airport transfer to Danang very cheaply. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    38
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
117
78
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a double room with shared balcony at the Hoi An Ngo Homestay after doing some research on accommodation in Hoi An and being attracted by good reviews and a useful location if we wanted to explore Hoi An.

It is located on Hoi An Islet, in the river just off the main town and linked to it by two nearby bridges, one mainly used by vehicular traffic and the other by pedestrians and a limited number of scooters and motorcycles, the homestay being on a quiet side street at one end of which you will find the small but lively night market and it’s just 2-3 minutes from the bridge into the heart of town so in terms of location it was ideal for us. If you want to head for the beach it’s only a few minutes to Cu Dai by inexpensive taxi though I would recommend going a little further to the as yet quieter beach at An Bang.

On Arrival – the homestay arranged our pick up all the way from Danang railway station - we were given a warm welcome and shown to room 201 which turned out to have no proper balcony and two twin beds that had been pushed together for us but we were told that we would be able to move to room 301 the following day if we wished, which is what we did. The rooms proved to have a good deal in common with a good quality wall mounted flat screen TV, a telephone, a kettle and cups that were too small for a traditional English cuppa, a small refrigerator and a wardrobe. Room 201 also had a small coffee table by the window, whereas 301 had a larger cabinet compared to the small 2 drawer version in 201. Room 301 also had a comfortable double bed. Overall the decor was restful and well thought out and the room was tidy and well maintained. There was no bath but a good shower and the wash stand and basin was quaint and really nice. Throughout it was as clean as it could be. There were an adequate number of power outlets if you have cameras or phones to charge and these are the twin round pin style that are not recessed so any round pin adaptor should be ok if the type you have at home is different, such as the three pin UK plug.

The room was bright and airy though looking out of the window the view was pleasant but a little restricted being of the courtyard below where the main table for breakfast is located and of the building across the road. There is a very limited view into and from the side window of the adjoining room, though that next to 201 didn’t seem to be occupied and when we visited its larger balcony looked like it had furniture stored on it though this wasn’t visually intrusive in any way. Room 301 was in the same position one floor higher but the adjacent room was occupied, so if you want the best room this might be the one to aim for. It also backed onto the ‘shared terrace’ with a small number of sun loungers where you could go if you wished though while we were there we only saw one person out there and for a limited time. At the back you directly overlook a pool, but this belongs to the hotel behind and although it can be used we were informed by a couple who had asked that non-residents were being asked for a high hourly rate, enough in fact to make the taxi fare to the beach a much better option.
There is a dining table in the reception area but the main seating is outside at a table that can accommodate six and under shade. We found a list of options for breakfast in the booklet provided but when we stayed no-one asked what we wanted and a breakfast was simply brought out to us. We liked what we got but found this a little surprising. We also didn’t question it as we could have and left with no doubt at all that had we done so we could have chosen something different because the biggest plus point for the Hoi An Ngo Homestay is the family that run it, especially the hostess, Nyung (my apologies if the spelling isn’t correct). The Hoi An Ngo Homestay combines the helpful and caring approach you will find in the professionalism of a more expensive well run hotel with a sincere and friendly welcome offering a much more relaxed and generally pleasant atmosphere that will make your stay an enjoyable one, whether you need to chill out in the middle of a back packing adventure or just want a short holiday. I don’t think we have ever encountered anyone more accommodating, no pun intended and for me one incident in particular indicates this. One of our fellow guests expressed the view that rooms should be fitted with a safe and although it had become clear that he and his companion would be staying much more briefly than originally anticipated a safe was duly purchased and fitted the same day. Frankly we found this quite outstanding and don’t believe we’ve stayed anywhere else that would have done this. I’d also make the observation that despite having already lost an item to pilfering in a hotel in Hanoi we didn’t once feel the need for a safe at the Hoi An Ngo Homestay and had absolute confidence that the same thing would not recur there.

The same care showed when we had to make an early start, both when leaving and to head off on a tour of My Son before sunrise to find Nyung was up to provide coffee and a bag full of breakfast items she had put together to ensure we got something to eat. When my wife subsequently asked how much a small kitchen item might be to give her some idea ahead of any bartering in the market, Nyung insisted on offering a couple as a gift and actually headed off on a bicycle to go and purchase them. We’ve never encountered that before and very, very much enjoyed the chance to eat with the family when Nyung also showed us how to make spring rolls, including vegetarian ones for me.

Of all the places we visited in our trip down the length of Vietnam and across Cambodia, Hoi An was the one we most wanted to linger in and that was in no small part because of where we stayed. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Hoi An Ngo Homestay to family and friends and it is definitely our first choice should we return to Hoi An. If you want an enjoyable experience, comfort and the feeling that you are welcome and not simply accommodation you will find it here as we did.

Room Tip: The upper central room has the largest balcony and direct access to the terrace and sun loungers. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Staying here gives you the feeling like being at home or at the family of a really good friend. The lovely family running this homestay will try to fulfill your unspoken wishes, making your Hoi An experience even more special. The rooms are lovely furnished as well as spacious and the bathroom is one if the best we had on our (budget) vietnam travel. Rooms are cleaned and tidied up every day. Good selection of superb tasting breakfast options.
Best accommodation we had during our 7 weeks in south east Asia. Definite recommendation!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I just left this homestay after staying 4 nights. I miss my room and the family already!

The location is awesome, walking distance to everything in Hoi An old town, no need for a bike even.

The owners help you with everything-tours, bus tickets, laundry, airport pickup in Danang, and even took me to a tailor for having clothes made. I was invited to several meals and found the whole family warm, friendly, considerate and kind. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and had a nice minibar for well priced drinks.


HIGHLY recommend this homestay for a wonderful stay in Hoi An!

Oh and breakfast every morning is fantastic! I had something different each of my 4 mornings, fresh fruit included!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cwithaspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We headed to an hoi island in search of another place but stumbled across this homestay. Ended up staying for 8 nights. We had top floor room, which was very nice and clean and bright.

Very kind family. Really enjoyed our stay here. Was invited for lunch and breakfast a few times during our stay.

Fab location. Hoi an bridge about 3 mins walk away. Lots of restaurants on an hoi island by river.

Best value place in hoi an! Thanks to family for being kind and genuine x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (two children, 5 and 7 years old). We stayed in the family room. The beds were great ( two single and one double), there is only a small window at the top witch gives light. It didn't bother us as we were out the whole day.

The homestay is on a very good location ( near the night market), 3-5 minutes to the old town, lots of restaurants just around the corner, 30 minutes by bike to one of the beaches.

The family's hospitality is excellent! They care so much about their guests. They are friendly and very helpful. They invited us to have cao lau with them, it was sooooo tasty!

We had a wonderful stay here, thank you so much!

If we have the chance to come back to Vietnam we would definitely stay at NGO Homestay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sibutzdaeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed just for one night at NGO Homestay, but we already knew Hoi An for longer. It's perfrectly situated near the river and ancient town. The room was awesome and the family, which runs the homestay was very kind and helpful. I forgot my phone chargers in the room when we left for going back home. They managed that another German brought them to Germany and he sent the chargers to me. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cdas31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#15 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Little Hoi An Central Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An NGO Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An NGO Homestay

Property: Hoi An NGO Homestay
Address: 74 Nguyen Phuc Tan Street, An Hoi Ward, Hoi An 51999, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, Hoi An Ngo Homestay offers comfortable and homely accommodation in Hoi An downtown and within 500 metres Hoi An Market. Free Wi-Fi access is available in the entire property.The homestay is just 300 metres to the Japanese Covered Bridge, while Cua Dai public beach and An Bang beach are within 5 km away. Da Nang International Airport can be reached with a 23 km drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hoi An NGO Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing