We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Ranked #76 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

+ : We spent 3 nights in the Hoi An Lantern. The staff was very kind and helpful.
The room was huge and very comfortable for the price we paid (20€/night, double bed, breakfast included). We also appreciate the swimming pool, cause the beach was at 10km from the city center of Hoi An.

- : We booked a 2-days tour for Cham Island via Hotel's tour. We were very disappointed by it. The guide wasn't with us as it was said in the tour description. He let us at the homestay all the day long. Moreover, he forgot us the day after, and didn't take us for the snorkeling activity.
We asked to get a refund but the travel agency refused. So we just get 10% back from the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineCardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear travelers,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your recent stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. We were glad to read your feedback about the room, swimming pool and our staffs, nevertheless you didn’t happy with the tour which was organized by our tour desk, please accept our sincere apologies about that, we were not really get any commission from your tour, after you talking with us we understood to refund all commission to you, we are always to hearing every our mistake like you, that is the great experience for us to choose the travel agency partner in the future, we will be sure to make your next trip with the best thing. We’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday in Hoi An.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    209
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
239
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Like other reviews our stay was spoiled by the ongoing renovations. Woke early by jack hammer on top floor echoing through the hotel.Went out to pool and workers on the top floor were dropping bits of bricks other rubble beside where we were laying.Not safe atall and they were all looking at us as if to say are you going to move.So after about 5 mins we decided to go back inside as it obviously wasnt safe while the work was going on. Didnt see the manager once while this was going on so clearly didnt have health and safety high on their list.
Apart from the work going on the breakfast was poor aswell.Fruit,bread and buns all sitting out with flies on them which put me of although they did have fresh eggs, bacon and pancakes but apart from that i wouldnt have tried anything else.
Rooms were quite nice and kept nice and clean,daily cleaners.secure parking if you get a scooter and staff at reception were friendly,.helpful and could book any onward taxi, train journeys etc. When renovation is complete im sure the hotel will be great with a littile work on the breakfast perhaps.Think we just stayed at abad time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberthamilton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for posting a review about Hoi An Lantern Hotel on tripadvisor, We were glad to read your comment and your constructive feedback regarding hotel renovation. Allow me to add my apologies for the renovation on the top of the hotel to make you didn’t comfortable when you swimming at the pool but now we are really complete after a few days renovation because it was influenced by the typhoon. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel in the foreseeable future.
Wish you all the best,
My best regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel will only get better, the new owner is doing so many improvements to the hotel and it is a credit to her and the staff. I stayed for 6 nights in July the location was wonderful short walk to old town, the cooking class was great to. All staff go out of their way to help you I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,

We appreciate your recent stay of six nights and the feedback provided about your stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. we were always recorded value feedback from the guests like you, that is the basis for us to improve the quality of service, we just changed the owner so our general manager make improve every hotel's services, with flagrant purpose “service from the heart” and it will be grown with stature one of the 3 star standard international hotel in Hoi An, once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future.
Wish you all the best,

With my kindest regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 nights 4 weeks before arrival. When we checked in there was a note to say that maintenance would be going on the following day until 4.00pm. The work wasn't maintenance, it was full on renovations of the restaurant on the 4th floor with jackhammer, compressor, grinders going every day from 7 till 4.30. We complained about the noise on day 3 and were told it would be finished that day. It was still going on when we checked out on day 5. We could not stay in our room through the day and tried to sit by the pool with earplugs in. Even forced to get a taxi one morning at 9.15 because it was pelting down with rain. Check to see if the renovations are finished before you stay here. They were jackhammering the floor when we were staying there but they still have to put in a new timber floor. Not a relaxing place at all if this work is still going on. The noise echos through the hotel.
We were told by a member of the staff on our last day that they were going to close the hotel to do the renovations but because they had reservations for that period they decided not to. They should have advised that this work would be happening when we booked. Very disappointed that we had been lied to from day 1. We were very stressed out by the time we left.

Room Tip: Do not get a room until you have checked if work is still going on. Do not get a room that faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear value guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hoian Lantern Hotel and for sharing feedback about your visit, we are deeply sory for making you could not satisfy your trip during you stay with us, in our plan of renovations were one day only but unfortunately the water pipe system was broken so it was longer than expected, as soon as possible to remedy it so we have to used the jackhammers for ensure water to all our guests, we are alwals listen your comments, please accept our sincere apologies about that. Now we are really completed renovation every thing, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay with good price policy as well for you at our hotel and we will be sure to make your next trip with the best thing.

With my kindest regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai /Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The rooms are large, clean and have a small balcony. The staff are very pleasant. The breakfast was good. It is only about 700 mts to the old town, easy walking distance or you can hire a cycle from the smiley lade next door for 30,000 dong a day. I booked this hotel on agoda for $30 a night, but when we arrived there was no rooftop bar to be used as its ALL under renovations. We had a room with balcony on the street and the traffic (& horns!) start around 6am. Beds are comfy enough, good water pressure etc. Tip - ask for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and get the lady next door to do your washing for 1/3 of the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRoxy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear traveler,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for posting a review about Hoi An Lantern Hotel, also we were very happy during you stay with us and appreciate to have your kind comments about our staff, the room, swimming pool and breakfast buffet, Allow me to add my apologies to you for renovations bar and restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel, because influence the weather so the renovations take us longer time than our plan, but now we ware really finish. Once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future.

My best regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We decided to treat ourselves and go to a nice hotel during our stay in Hoi An. We chose lantern hotel for the amazing breakfast and the lovely rooms that we saw on their website.

When we arrived the receptionist check our reservation and asked immediately afterwords for our passports. A policy that I found wrong- as an alternative, if you don't trust your guest ask for advance payment.

The rooms were really nice and big. The shower was really good and the swimming pool excellent. However there were a few things that need improvement. During breakfast (that was excellent) construction work was going on which made the breakfast not such a peaceful experience. The construction work also affected the rooms and it started from 9am, which is not a great way to start your day. However this are minor things that really didn't put down the hotel.

What it was really bad was the reception. When we check out the personal checked our room and told us that we have been consuming food and drinks from the mini bar and that we had to pay. We clarified that we didn't touch anything. Then they brought the trash can to us, as a prove of "evidence". Finally they realized that they were checking the wrong room and that, as we said, we hadn't consume anything. Of course no apologies after the very uncomfortable moment. Lastly we asked a taxi to the airport, thinking that it was going to be the normal price, or cheaper. For our surprise booking through the hotel was more expensive than calling a taxi from the street. When I tried to arrange a price myself on front of the hotel, the reception stopped me to control their fix rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maramaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear value guests from Tokyo!
we would like to thank you for your choosing Hoi An Lantern Hotel on you holiday, we are really sorry about some problem to make you unhappy on your trip in Hoi An! if possible can you give me some more information about your full name and room number please! we always have a programme designed to recognise and reward or warning employees whose contribution or delay is outstanding, that is the best thing for we control and improve our service, we hope to have chance welcome you back our hotel on your next trip, we are sure everything are the best for you!
Could you contact me as: fom@hoianlanternhotel.com
My best regards,
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

lovely hotel, great location, super rooms, clean comfortable good facilities. Spent three nights here and really enjoyed our stay. loved the roof top bar. The pool was an added bonus easy to pop back to the hotel for a midday swim cool off and relax. We had a balcony facing the street I was a little worried at first it may be noisy but it was absolutely fine. Loved the breakfast, first time in 5 weeks in Vietnam I had crispy bacon. Really good value for money well worth the stay. Super friendly helpful staff.
Thanks room 202

Room Tip: book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear traveler,
We are very glad that you had an enjoyable holiday at Hoian Lantern Hotel, particular we were very happy during you stay with us and appreciate to have your kind comments about our staff, swimming pool, the room and breakfast buffet, we are unique 3 star hotel was located near the old town,it is a five minutes go on foot so almost the room view the town you saw a little bit eventful at daytime but very quiet and comfortable at night. Once again, thank you very much for having stayed with us and we hope we can welcome you come back for a longer holiday in the foreseeable future at our hotel.
Wish you and your family have a beautiful life!
My best regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#41 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#54 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.8 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#66 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Property: Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#46 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing