We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Ranked #76 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best hotel & staff”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lantern Hotel for three weeks and have no complaints, the staff there are loverly, friendly and fun group of people. We enjoyed their company so much, each night when we return back their smiling faces were waiting for us. They were always willing to help in anyway they could and enjoyed to have you there. We have stayed in other accommodation in Hoi An but this was our most enjoyable stay. The room over looked the pool and houses at the rear, room size was good and the bed better than most hard beds in Vietnam. The cleaning staff did a good job and where good to have a laugh with. The CEO had breakfast with us one morning to welcome us and to check everything was ok, all the staff are the same they just want to please you. At the end of our stay it was hard to say good by because these people had become our friends, they even organised a afternoon tea on the day we left. The cost at this hotel is low which allowed us to stay longer, its not 5 star but its good. We will be returning to the Lantern Hotel because we had such a great time there with the staff and the location is so handy. PS. give the cooking and lantern making a try, the trip to the market to buy supplies( including coffee) and boat ride back are good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
Thank you very much for your long visit and for taking the time to compose a review about your experiences at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. We enjoy having you stay with us and more happy than with your truly comments about our staffs, the room and breakfast buffet we would like to thank you for your joining cooking class, lantern making as well which you were happy after having it, almost we had good feedback about cooking class, lantern making and vietnamese language teaching like you, we are training more staffs whose are responsible for each class, we always want to meet all travelers like you, from our honestly heart we want to send you our sincere gratitude to you and wish you have a beautiful life. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit Hoi An.
Take care all,
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    214
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
243
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came during wet time. The roads were flooded, the staff were efficient, always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast were good, lunch good but the dinner not so good. Not sure why.
Currenlty under renovation, but once it's all finished things will be very good. If you have a problem jsut let the staff know and it'll be sorted in no time. The staff are trained well in customer service and friendliness. Language can be a barrier at times but be patient you are in their home and they will do everything to accomodate you. My main requirement is good service so I focus on that aspect, once the renovations are completed there will a higher competition with the more expensive hotels. The price for the friendly faces, excellent service and assistance is above excellent. The rooms are always clean and attention to detail. You get a nice little surprise on your pillow each evening which is a beautiful touch. Totally recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyjj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
Thank you for your visit Hoi An Lantern Hotel on your vocation and for posting a review. We were very pleased to read your kind comments about our staff and are taking your constructive feedback regarding strategy of the hotel’s development in future. We were particularly happy to learn that and will retraining our staff, all of them certified in hotel’ serve standard. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner and my parents. Overall the hotel is very nice, there is renovations going on but honestly they didnt bother us to much as we were out almost every day.
The pool is very nice we swam almost everyday and the renovations were never a problem when we were in the pool. Great sun chairs and towels set out for guests. They also bring beer to the pool if your order one 15,000 or 25,000 (cant remember) pretty good if you ask me.
Now to the rooms. A few mixed feelings about them.
Firstly i would like to say everything was delt with in a promt and profesional way and we were very happy with our stay.
Now to the rooms our first room was great for the first 2 nights on the 3rd night i was bitten by something, i thought it must have just been mosquitos. I stayed there that night. The next day we were laying in the bed and i was bitten by something again (Im usually allergic to any biting insects) Now im not saying what it was it could have been anything on the sheets. Went down to reception and they promptly change rooms for us without any fuss and were concerned for me and seen that i was ok for the rest of my stay.
It could have happened to anyone and i still rated this hotel highly as i believe it was a one off thing and the way they managed everything was highly professional.
Overall it was a great stay with only minor issues that were solved. Id like to thank mr Tai for cooknig us an amazing meal upstairs at the resturant. and Ahn (giggles) for always having a bright smile on her face and making our stay very pleasent.
One more thing. There is a lady next to the hotel that does great washing for 30,000 dong a kilo. She was very nice. You can also hire bikes of her for 15,000 for the day. She got lots of buisness from us and we loved her.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbey444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
We were very pleased to read that your stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, your comments was exceeded our expectations after spent a few efforts time for renovation. We would like to thank you very much for your sharing feed back about our staffs, swimming pool and a executive chef mr Tai, ms Anh as well,they are always the good staffs from our hotel. We hope you will recommending Hoi An Lantern Hotel to your friends and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 6 nights at The Hoi An Lantern, located close to Ancient Town, rooms were clean and the pool was great. We had no problem with the renovations that were going on as we were away most of the time and they had finished at around 4pm - 4.30pm each day. We did have a few issues, but after speaking with management and staff the problems were fixed in a prompt and proffessional manner. Breakfast was good, Anh was lovely, she always had a smile and Mr Tai made amazing fried wontons and the pork rib was so tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
We were very happy when you choose Hoi An Lantern Hotel of 6 nights on your vacation! More particularly you was identify and give us the chance for complete renovation, some thing on the top of the hotel were broken by the typhoon so it take us longer time than our plan a few days, that is the difficult thing for us to take care all our guests but you understood for that, we’re really appreciate for sharing feedback on your trip about our hotel, every thing was completed, We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel in the nearest future.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

+ : We spent 3 nights in the Hoi An Lantern. The staff was very kind and helpful.
The room was huge and very comfortable for the price we paid (20€/night, double bed, breakfast included). We also appreciate the swimming pool, cause the beach was at 10km from the city center of Hoi An.

- : We booked a 2-days tour for Cham Island via Hotel's tour. We were very disappointed by it. The guide wasn't with us as it was said in the tour description. He let us at the homestay all the day long. Moreover, he forgot us the day after, and didn't take us for the snorkeling activity.
We asked to get a refund but the travel agency refused. So we just get 10% back from the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineCardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear travelers,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your recent stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. We were glad to read your feedback about the room, swimming pool and our staffs, nevertheless you didn’t happy with the tour which was organized by our tour desk, please accept our sincere apologies about that, we were not really get any commission from your tour, after you talking with us we understood to refund all commission to you, we are always to hearing every our mistake like you, that is the great experience for us to choose the travel agency partner in the future, we will be sure to make your next trip with the best thing. We’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday in Hoi An.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Like other reviews our stay was spoiled by the ongoing renovations. Woke early by jack hammer on top floor echoing through the hotel.Went out to pool and workers on the top floor were dropping bits of bricks other rubble beside where we were laying.Not safe atall and they were all looking at us as if to say are you going to move.So after about 5 mins we decided to go back inside as it obviously wasnt safe while the work was going on. Didnt see the manager once while this was going on so clearly didnt have health and safety high on their list.
Apart from the work going on the breakfast was poor aswell.Fruit,bread and buns all sitting out with flies on them which put me of although they did have fresh eggs, bacon and pancakes but apart from that i wouldnt have tried anything else.
Rooms were quite nice and kept nice and clean,daily cleaners.secure parking if you get a scooter and staff at reception were friendly,.helpful and could book any onward taxi, train journeys etc. When renovation is complete im sure the hotel will be great with a littile work on the breakfast perhaps.Think we just stayed at abad time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberthamilton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for posting a review about Hoi An Lantern Hotel on tripadvisor, We were glad to read your comment and your constructive feedback regarding hotel renovation. Allow me to add my apologies for the renovation on the top of the hotel to make you didn’t comfortable when you swimming at the pool but now we are really complete after a few days renovation because it was influenced by the typhoon. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel in the foreseeable future.
Wish you all the best,
My best regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel will only get better, the new owner is doing so many improvements to the hotel and it is a credit to her and the staff. I stayed for 6 nights in July the location was wonderful short walk to old town, the cooking class was great to. All staff go out of their way to help you I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,

We appreciate your recent stay of six nights and the feedback provided about your stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. we were always recorded value feedback from the guests like you, that is the basis for us to improve the quality of service, we just changed the owner so our general manager make improve every hotel's services, with flagrant purpose “service from the heart” and it will be grown with stature one of the 3 star standard international hotel in Hoi An, once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the nearest future.
Wish you all the best,

With my kindest regards,
Hoian Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#54 of 153 in Hoi An
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#44 of 153 in Hoi An
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.3 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.2 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Property: Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#47 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing