We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Ranked #69 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We walked in off the street at 8am after a horrible night at another hotel. The staff were friendly and very accommodating as we probably looked like death. They let us view the room and check in straight away. Normally not until 2pm
It is a large hotel with very spacious rooms, The breakfasts are great and the pool is one of the nicest we have been in while tripping around Vietnam. It is not noisy at all and the staff can arrange any tours that you would like to do.
We did the cooking class with the head chef, he was awesome, took us into the markets to buy the food, up the river on a boat and back to the restaurant to cook all while telling us about the Hoi An village.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to Hoi An,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing down on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Rachel P,
Thank you for your recent stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel and for sharing feedback about your visit, We were also pleased to learn that your executive chef looked well after you about the cooking class and the daily breakfast buffet were highlights during your stay and the staff from the tour desk also, we hope we providing you with an unforgettable holiday in Hoi An. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and your recommend our hotel to the guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next holiday. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
Your sincerely,
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    204
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
233
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Best three stars you will get. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is adequate but some expect 5 star Buffett. Rooms were clean and quiet. Pool is nice but no view of anything. Worth the stay. Greatly enjoyed out time here! Close to market and very easy access to everything. The tours were organised quickly and efficiently.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear tscutt,
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review about your visit at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt well looked after by our team and thanks for your booked our tour at tour desk. We will keep up the good work and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a good find. Comfortable rooms with tv, good wifi, complimentary water and comfy bed. The swimming pool is very welcome after a day out.
My only criticism is the breakfast is just average.
Overall a good hotel and only 5 mins from the centre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellingnic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear travellingnic,
Thanks a lot for your spend time with us at Hoi An Lantern Hotel and your feedback. We really appreciate your comments about our room, location, wifi system and swimming pool, as for the food for breakfast buffet we had changed and proved every day for more variety. From our honestly heart we’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have just returned from my holiday to Vietnam and found the Lantern Hotel in Hoi An was really good. This is the first time I have stayed in this hotel which was conveniently located so that we could walk into Hoi An or hire bikes to cycle to the beach. All of the staff in the Lantern Hotel were helpful and keen to ensure that our stay in their hotel was comfortable. The breakfast was also very good with a chef ready to cook eggs as required.
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel, located close to Hoi An I would recommend the Lantern.
Paul & Family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIA&DIBBLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tia&Dibble,
Thank you very much for your recent visit Hoi an Lantern Hotel on your vacation and for posting a review on Tripadvisor, We appreciate your feedback about the staffs, breakfast and the cooking cuisine. That is the motive for hotel management and our staffs development of hotel services in future, Once more, thank you very much for your truly comments towards Hoi an Lantern Hotel and your recommendation to another guests. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel in the foreseeable future. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and the staff very helpful. I will definetly go back if I travel in Hoi An again. Plus, there is a nice swimming pool and spa for guests. Hotel not too far from city center by feet or cycle

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sandrine B,
So nice to received your great comments. We would like to thanks a lot for spending time with us and your valuable comments about our staffs, breakfast buffet and swimming pool as well, We really appreciate your comments about us, we will forward it to every our staffs and look it like a background for us to improve and develop our hotel services . From our honestly heart we’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Although by no means the worst hotel I have ever stayed it, given so much choice in this peace bracket I advise you NOT to stay here. Having travelled across SE Asia I had become accustomed to excellent customer service- this is lacking at the lantern. Breakfast is average, with poor fruit choices, my room was extremely noisy as the doors didn't close properly and shower fittings were so low only a child could stand under. In addition I booked both a taxi to Danang train station and an excursion to Cham Islands. This excursion was a complete rip off! The taxi was an hour late, delaying our departure, we spent an hour walking through a litter strewn part of the islands with a disinterested guide, only to spend 10 minutes snorkling and 1 hour on the beach! We returned 3 hours earlier then stated! Do NOT take this trip. My taxi driver took me to the airport, instead of the train station- despite booking the taxi and train with the hotel. Very poor overall!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahitianPunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tahitian Punch,
Thank you for your recent stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel and for sharing feedback about your visit, On behalf of the hotel manager and all our staffs we would like to send our sincere gratitude to you about some thing make unhappy on your trip, we understood for your feed back, that is the problem for our hotel, we have surmounted all after your feed back. As for the fruits offering for breakfast we had provided more variety and cancelled frank the partners where organized the excursion to Cham island and taxi company. Once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards our Hotel. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. Nguyen Duc Tai /Mr, Front Office Manager.
My best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The staff here were friendly and helpfull at all times. The cooking class was our favorite event .Loved our chef Tie. We made the best food.
The location is perfect and you can easily walk to old town and all 300 tailors. Haha.
A very good experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Henry T,
Thanks a lot for spending time with us and your valuable comments about Hoi An Lantern Hotel, your feed backs were the background for us to improve and develop our hotel services. We really appreciate your comments about us, we will forward it to every our staffs and thank you for your joining cooking class with us. From our honestly heart we’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday. Nguyen Duc Tai / Mr, Front Office Manager.
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#38 of 142 in Hoi An
1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#58 of 142 in Hoi An
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.8 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 142 in Hoi An
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Property: Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#43 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing