We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Clouds Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Clouds Homestay
Ranked #6 of 242 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A real favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in some really good hotels in Vietnam, and this was no exception, in fact it was probably the best. After a long but thoroughly enjoyable day on a motorbike from Huế, we were greeted by Mr Duong and family with cold drinks and big smiles, and this continued throughout our stay.

The room was spacious and extremely clean, the shower was powerful and the beds more comfortable than we had elsewhere. It is well located just outside the old town, which can be easily explored by foot (or even more easily and enjoyable by bikes for $1/day).

The staff couldn't help us enough to ensure we made the most of our time in Hoi An. We also used this as a base for our overnight trip to the Cham Islands (Bai Huong) which they arranged for us (very basic - which Mr Duong warned us about - but I would thoroughly recommend not being put off by this if you want to experience a non-touristic side to Vietnam - definitely one of our Vietnam highlights).

We loved Hoi An and loved Blue Clouds. I'd recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
206
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Mr.Duong's family for four nights whilst in Hoi An and we were extremely impressed by their warmth and generosity from the moment we arrived. We were offered a welcome drink, checked in four hours before check in time and were offered a delicious complimentary Sunday lunch to meet other guests on our first day! Mr. Duong and Kim arranged our tours and had plenty of bikes for rent at $1 per day - perfect for getting around Hoi An.
On our last night we were interested in sampling the local Banh Mi sandwich so we asked Mr. Duong where he would recommend for us to try it. We couldn't believe it when he insisted in buying it for us as it was our last night in his home!
We would highly recommend Blue Clouds for real Vietnamese hospitality and hosts who go above and beyond to help during your stay in lovely Hoi An!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great value and without doubt the best place that I stayed in Vietnam. Clean and shiny new but the best feature is the warm ambience and wonderful staff. John and Kim go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. A mere 10 minute stroll out of the old town but grab yourself a rental bike. I loved riding around Hoi An!

Room Tip: If you come by taxi from Danang airport. Negotiate a "off the meter" deal with the driver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at Blue Clouds Homestay, and I can safely say this is one of the nicest places we've stayed at in our five months of travelling across NZ, Australia and SE Asia.

They were prompt and polite in their emailing, and organised our car to Hoi An (15 USD) from Da Nang.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Kim, and the first thing they did was to offer us a cold drink of lemon juice, which was blissful on a very hot afternoon. They also took our heavy backpacks to the room for us. We arrived mid-morning and had to wait for our room to be cleaned, but this wasn't a problem - we sat and had our drinks whilst Kim showed us a map of Hoi An and explained all the attractions. She also told us that on that afternoon they'd be serving lunch (I believe they do this every Sunday?) so we were happy to hang around.

Lunch turned out to be for all the guests together, about 13 of us. They set up tables and chairs in the little courtyard outside and served us a beautiful noodle soup with and cold fizzy juice. It was a really nice chance to get to know the other guests and chat. And Mr Duong offered us seconds, although none of us could manage!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, the air conditioning was great and the beds comfy. The mattresses are quite stiff, but we slept well. There was a lockable drawer and cabinet for valuables.

We visited their family's tailor shop called Nu Ni and had some quality items made - a dress, three shirts and a tie. We could tell they wanted us to buy more things, but they didn't push it. We are extremely happy with the quality, which you wouldn't get in all local tailor shops.

Throughout our stay, Kim organised taxis and trains for us swiftly and with a smile. They went over and above when I fell ill on our last night: despite there being a storm and a short power cut and I'm sure plenty of other things they could've been doing, they made me some ginger tea with honey and plain rice in broth, free of charge, to help me feel better! The next morning they went even further, and gave me a snack of muesli and milk (and even one of their spoons!) for the train to Hue, saying that train food wouldn't help my tummy. I tried to offer them some money to pay for the rice/tea/snack/for their kindness, but Mr Duong absolutely insisted that he was happy to do it for nothing. I've never received customer service like this... ever, I think! I am very grateful to them for looking after me.

If you want to stay in a clean place with great location (7 minutes from old town) and especially with trustworthy and helpful staff (just like family), you have to stay at Blue Clouds. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu_Frannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Blue Clouds and couldn't fault the place. The family who own and run it are lovely, really friendly and helpful, and make you feel right at home and well looked after. The rooms are great, breakfasts are nice and the location is close to the old town, 10 min walk or 1 min on a scooter. Also, if are planning to get clothes made whilst in Hoi An, the family place recommended is very good. We got 2 shirts, 2 dresses and a coat made and were very happy with the results. Overall one of the best places we've stayed in 10 months of travels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I originally booked for two nights but I enjoyed Blue Clouds Homestay so much that I had to stay one more. This has been the nicest and cleanest place that I have stayed in Vietnam. The family that runs the homestay are extremely nice! They were very kind and made sure you were enjoying your stay. They would do anything to make sure you felt comfortable and were having a good time. They provide the best hospitality. The food was incredible and they even made an authentic Sunday lunch for everybody that was staying there. They are very generous and invite you into their home with open arms. If I had more time I would have stayed longer. I felt very comfortable and satisfied. They had a ton of TV channels and two of my favorites (national geographic and discovery channel)! If you're looking for a place to stay in Hoi An, look no further! Best place to stay in Hoi An!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doublek818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The value for money that you get here is great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is always someone on hand to help you. They serve breakfast which was nice (at extra cost). It's only about a 5 minute walk to the centre but it's down a side street so you don't get the noise. The bikes are rented for 1 dollar a day (some places eg the 'full house home stay' offer breakfast and bikes inclusive of the price) and it's not too far to the beach. The owner offers a free lunch on certain days to all guests and this was a great experience and was so kind of him to do so. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brummygirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
1.7 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
2.1 mi away
Magnolia Garden Villa
Magnolia Garden Villa
#4 of 242 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Grass Land Villa
Green Grass Land Villa
#7 of 242 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Clouds Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Clouds Homestay

Property: Blue Clouds Homestay
Address: Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Clouds Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing