We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a brief visit”

Cham Island (Cu Lao Cham)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Underwater Walking Tour in Cham Islands - Seatrek Viet Nam
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Full-day Snorkeling in Cham Island from Da Nang
More Info
US$98.00*
and up
Full-Day Scuba Diving in Cham Island from Da Nang
Ranked #46 of 125 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cham islands are 15km from Cua Dai. There are seven islands altogether named according to their shape or characteristics. They are called Lao ( pear ), Dai ( long ), La ( leaf), Kho ( dry ),Tai ( ear ),Mo ( tomb ) and Nom ( East Wind ). They have good climate, cool the year round, trees and animals as well as marine life are plentiful here. On the island, there are precious bird nests while under the water, the coral is marvelous. There are also scenic spots around the island, such as Suoi Tinh ( Love stream), Suoi Ong ( Sir’s stream ), Hon Chong ( Piled up rocks ),Hang Ba ( The lady’s cave ). the island is also surrounded by very nice beaches with clean white sand and transparent, cool water.
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just a brief visit”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We only stopped on the island for lunch following a morning of diving. The beach is stunning, but unfortunately we were there around midday and it was far too hot to be on the sand or in the water, so we made do with chilling out under the palm trees. Definitely not a bad way to kill a few hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    142
    100
    65
    83
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went on a tour of Cham Island during our trip to Vietnam. It was the worst tour that we did. We were shoved on an over crowded boat with no escape should the boat go down. We went to the island and did a walk around the village. We visited a pagoda (which was ok) then went to a spot for snorkeling. I guess coming from Australia we are quite lucky to have such beautiful reefs, but there really was very little to see on this reef. The coral was lifeless and there were very little fish to see. Following our swim we were transported back to the island for a seafood lunch banquet. To be honest, the food was the worst we experienced in the whole of Vietnam. Perhaps if you took a private boat and organised your own lunch you may have a better experience than we did. All in all it was a wasted day in beautiful Hoi An.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pams951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointing, expensive trip”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We paid $28 each for the trip to Cham Island. There was a lot of waiting around before we were wedged into a speedboat and ferried across to the island. A hot walk across the island followed to see a temple, then back to the boat and a brief trip to the beach. Finally we got the chance to go snorkelling - another quick boat trip to the site. The snorkelling was disappointing after all the build up. Little live coral or fish. We returned back to the beach then to join the rows of tourists in deck chairs waiting for lunch. The lunch itself was tasty - one good point! The beach was mediocre - pretty but lined up with speedboats so not inviting for swimming. After an hour on the beach we were brought back to the pier and on to our hotel.
I wouldn't recommend this tour for the amount it costs, and it appeared that all tours were almost identical. If you're heading to Thailand I'd save your money for a snorkelling trip there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifurrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“westerners not welcome here!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

this was a wasted morning...we went to catch a boat to cham island. On arrival at the 'boat' station, we were allowed to board one of the boats for the trip...supposedly 100,000vnd each way. then we were told to get off the boat. The boat operator said they had no insurance for westerners and as the boat was not safe we had to get off. I am not sure what the vietnamese on the boat thought of this!

We went to the speedboat station...we were told the price was 600,000 vnd each for a return trip. then as we went to pay they said westerners were not allowed as it was the day after a public holiday and they had many vietnamese customers (though they were not reserved!)

clearly the vietnamese still have to learn if they want to earn money from tourists, attitudes need to change a little!

we had a great day on Cam Kim island instead...no hassle with the ferry there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“A great day trip.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went with the "Cham Island Diving" company. It was a very enjoyable day- two different sites for snorkeling, a delicious lunch provided on the lovely Cham Island, very friendly staff. Would highly recommend this as a day trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cham Island (Cu Lao Cham) also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Cham Island (Cu Lao Cham)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing