We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for families -staff totally brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We totally loved our stay at the Hai Au with our 4yo and 1yo. The staff were amazing with the children -incredibly helpful in every way and just so super friendly and kind...I cannot speak highly enough of them -thank-you! The kids loved the pool with big wide step at perfect toddler height, the huge spacious, clean room, the fish tanks but most of all they loved to see their friends (the front desk staff). We hugely appreciated the babysitting with such genuinely caring staff. It was great to have a proper safe baby cot too and a decent sized fridge in the room.
Other things that are fantastic about the Hai Au are the motorbike and bicycle hire, the ability to eat restaurant meals in our room with proper table and chairs (very handy after kids in bed), comfortable beds, great tailor across the road, lots of help booking onward flights, tours, taxis etc and having computer in room.
I would recommend staying here, especially with young kids. The nearby Dingo Deli has a great playground, the old town is about 10-20min walk away (with many restaurants and best food we found in 3mth of Vietnam travel -esp try Morning Glory restaurant), the beach is just 5min in a taxi....all very convenient.
If good service and friendly staff are important, this is the place for you. We came for one week, stayed for two weeks and wished we could have stayed some more. A real gem of a hotel and we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Family room on first floor (201) was big and best location for pool and only one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed for a few days and found it to match the other reviews on Tripadvisor.

The hotel is a bit worn down and old, rooms are adequate and reasonable clean. Service is exceptionally good and makes somewhat up for old hotel. In general the prices in Hoi An are above the average in Vietnam. This hotel is no exception and you would get a higher standard hotel for this price in another city. In Hoi An, I guess it's on par with the rest.

Service in hotel were good. The girls in the reception greeted the guests every day by their first name and where exceptional cheerful.

The location in fairly good, a ten minutes walk from the old city center. If walking sound tiresome, the distance is perfect for ride by cyclo. Good bargaining skills are required if you don't want to pay the Hoi An tourist premium (we payed 60.000 VND/3 USD for a cyclo ride to hotel, which are much more than a metered taxi).

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed the food. Breakfast was good and had several options in western and Vietnamese cuisine.

If going back to Hoi An we would consider this hotel again, although due to the Hoi An-prices we would make it a short stay and rather spend some more days in Da Nang or Hue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Hai Au hotel for 4 very relaxing days. The hotel is about 5 years old now, the rooms were amongst the biggest we have stayed in. The furnishings were typical of this type of Hotel and we felt it was in good condition. Wi fi was free and worked well in our room. The hot water worked well as did the airconditioning. We paid about $40 US per night which would be about $35AUD now.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant attaced to the hotel and there was plenty of choice with a choice of eggs cooked to order. Nothing to complain about.

We reception staff booked us tickets for the train from Da Nang to Nha Trang and yes we were charged extra for it but it was so much more convenient and less hassle. With train booking though we booked air con seat but there are two types of carriage for the same fare. Ours was an old carriage and the air con was ineffective. The very next carriage was the same class but air con working, video playing and comfortable looking seats. Get the girls at reception to check it for you.

THE GIRLS ON RECEPTION!!!!!
My wife and I agree that the reception staff at this hotel are worth their weight in gold. Always call you by your first name,always smiling and so helpful. We spoilt them sometimes and bought them some treats back from the market. They were very appreciative.

I would not consider staying at any other hotel in this city. We also booked 2 day tours by car with hotel driver, one was about $65AUD full day. I estimate the fuel alone would have cost $25-$30. Yes, we may have been able to get it cheaper outside, but as the cost was very reasonable I cant see the point in trying to save $5- $10 a day when you are in a country where food and accomodation are so cheap.

Thank you very much to the beautiful ladies on reception.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmancockatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in a standard double room (31 USD per night) for 5 nights in July. The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds pretty comfy and the aircon superb (delicious walking into a very cool room when it's 38C outside). No noise at night.

The girls at the reception are exceptionally friendly and will remember your name (and call it out to you every time they see you) for the duration of the stay. They can help you with virtually anything.

The breakfast in the morning was OK, as was the pool (a bit small and not cold enough). The food I had from the restaurant was bland. The shower was pretty low on pressure, and the showerhead is unadjustable at 1.5m, which is annoying. However all in all, a pretty good hotel and recommended as a middle-range budget option!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retrolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay here - the reception staff are lovely: very friendly, made an effort to learn everyone's name quickly and helpful with travel tickets etc; even walking us down the road to the bus to make sure we got on ok. The room was clean, roomy and light, ours even had a pc in it which meant no arhuing over who got to use the netbook first (wifi worked well) and the breakfast buffet was great - lots of choice and always refilled. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Joslyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived after a 17 hour bus journey, and a taxi ripping us off from where we were dropped by our bus in Hoi An, but the friendly spirit of the staff quickly brightened our moods. We were shown to a very nice room that we had booked through Agoda, and settled in. We had lunch in the restaurant downstairs which was delicious and good value. We then hired bicycles at a ridiculously cheap rate to go down to the beach. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi to when we left this hotel, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. They arranged our flight to ho chi minh, booked our taxi to the airport, booked us onto a cooking class, they were super efficient, and happy to assist in any way. When we arrived they told us about some of the tours and sightseeing to do around the area, but were not pushy at all. The room was very spacious, good shower, they delivered fresh fruit, the aircon was good, and our overall experience there was excellent. We stayed on a couple of additional nights and the agoda rate was honored. The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the old town, and is away from the hustle and bustle which is nice, and is about 5k from the beach, not that far when cycling. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely return here for a holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bempkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a large group of Kiwis and Aussies across for a wedding in Hoi An, we needed a place to stay before the wedding begin. The staff at Hoi An was able to accommodate us all and we all had a great time with some of the group extending their time in Hoi An and coming back to stay at Hai Au. The staff were fantastic and service was impeccable, highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendonMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#54 of 162 in Hoi An
1,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 162 in Hoi An
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#58 of 162 in Hoi An
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#41 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing