We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves it's reputation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Deserves it's reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel lives up to and deserves its reputation and position on trip advisor. Yes there are better equipped and more modern ( and expensive!) hotels available in Hoi An. But I doubt you will find one with a more warm and genuine welcome from the staff. The girls on reception are wonderful and really make this place and by the end of our 5 day stay we felt like one of the family. Every time you enter reception area you are greeted with a warm smile, and the girls will remember your first names and room number within a day! Location is about 15 minutes walk to the centre of the town but your walk will take you past the cloth and central markets and also past the multitude of good bars and rstaurants Hoi An can offer. Hire a bike if you can handle being amongst the Vietnamese traffic! and bike out to the beaches, which takes about 20 minutes for a change from shopping or eating or drinking! - Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very special and one we will remember - we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: superior room was worth the extra for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    448
    110
    33
    9
See reviews for
162
673
177
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,879 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel has some of the most friendlly staff we have seen and they pride themselves in remembering your name. The hotel is located on the edge of the old town, about an easy 10 minute walk. It has 4 stories and no elevator so we stayed in a quiet room in the rear on the second floor. The room was very large with 2 queen size beds, a small balcony, fridge, computer and there is free wifi through out the hotel, as well as 4 computers and a printer in the lobby. Coffee and tea is provided in the room--they bring you hot water in very large thermos bottles. There is no safe in the room, but there is very quaint mosquito netting over each bed d they provide 2 free bottles of water each day. One negative was the poor lighting for reading in bed--the side lamps are almost useless and we had to turn on a high flourescent light to be able to resd. There is a small pool and about 5 lounge chairs which was very pleasant. There is a breakffastt buffet where you can get eggs or an omlet made. There is also fruit, pastries, juices as well as some Asian dishes such as pho.

There is an ATM nearby, but no real convienence stores. There are stands that sell sodas, candy, cookies and you have to bargain with them because there are no set prices just like most things for sale in this area. There is street food nearby but you have to sit on tiny chairs. There are some restaurants to the left on the main street as you exit the hotel, notably My Hiep where we had a tasty meal. In the old town the Old Garden, in an alleyway off Tran Phu between Nyguyen Hue and Le Loi, has some of the best, inexpensive food in the city. Near the Japanese Covered Bridge are some food stalls that serve great cao lau, the local specialty, for only 20 dong and on the dock on Bach Dang is a guy who sells great bahn bao in the afternoons.

Overall, we liked staying at Hai Au and feel it is a very good hotel at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in Hai Au Hotel 3x since 2007. Every time we experienced a great hospitality of the staff, especially of a girl called Minh. She showed us around in Hoi An, made us familiar with the local eateries/kitchen, helped us shopping chines lanterns ..................! This year we arrived on 21.2.2012, staying 3 nights in this lovely Hotel. Minh and the other girls were again so helpful and so sweet in talking, it was great. My Thai wife loves the girls too. Unfortunately we had to leave after 3 days for South Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel has seen its glory days. It has 4 floors with no elevator but there is someone there to bring your luggage to your room. Some rooms are large and some are cramped like the one given to us on our first day. We moved the next day to a bigger room and we were not charged extra which I reckon was really the room for us that I have booked. There is no rubbish bin in the room only in the toilet and we easily filled that up. The hotel has a small swimming pool at the back but we didn’t have time to try it though.
Our accommodation comes with free buffet breakfast which is fantastic and free wireless internet access in the rooms. The room also comes with a pc with internet access. The rate is value for money.
The hotel has a car pick-up service from Danang airport for U$17 which I later found out is U$4 – U$5 more than some private service which has newer cars. It also has a restaurant/bar where we had our free breakfast and at night it doubles up as a bar with nigthly happy hour.
Staffs are friendly and try to greet you with your name every time and I feel it over friendly but fun. The hotel is close to heaps of clothes makers/tailors and shops making made to order shoes which are really cheap. The food in Hoi An is also good specially their famous Cao Lau which I recommend everyone should try.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you have not pre-book, ask if you can look at the rooms because some are cramped with 2 queen bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hai Au pluses (+): Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice linen in bed, more than adequate breakfast, and the price is right. A higher price would be too much, less would be a bargain.

Hai Au minuses (+): Very small back yard pool, so you might want to book elsewhere if the pool is important to you. Then, there is the 10min. walk to town center. If you enjoy that (we did) it's ok, if not it can be a bit tiresome.

when we visited Hoi An we first arrived to Hai Au and stayed for a couple of nights. After that we stayed in a few other hotels and actually returned back to Hai Au for the last night. We wanted to have the good breakfast of Hai Au on our last morning in Hoi An!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at Hai Au for 3 nights and had a great experience. The staff was super friendly and helpful. My room was huge and quiet, bright,cheery and spotlessly clean. Nice balcony too. Great breakfast buffet. I know some people on this site have complained that Hai Au is run down but I didn't get that impression. It wasn't the Hilton, but nearly is the price. I thought it had the most personality of any place I stayed in my 5 weeks in SE Asia.

Room Tip: Ask for room 411-huge comfy bed and a great balcony off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The best place we stayed in all Vietnam, mainly thanks to the above and beyond efforts of the wonderful staff. The room rates were very reasonable. Rooms were large and clean. Internet provided (pc) in the room. Hotel food was beautiful. Happy hour in the courtyard was a nightly must. Hai Au tailors were also fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. We also did a cookery tour organized by the Hai Au staff. It too was fantastic, mainly due to the great people who ran it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nifty134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#45 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#14 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#16 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing