We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, friendly and nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly and nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff made a special effort to learn the names of all the guest. I stayed in two rooms. One of them had an in room computer which is also a nice touch for the price. It's a short walk to the town center which is a bit dark if you walk in the evening. The breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastaciaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    448
    110
    33
    9
See reviews for
162
673
177
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We researched this hotel on TA prior to our visit and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in a good location, maybe five minutes walk to the town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and cannot do enough to assist. They remember everyone's name and go out of their way to help.

Breakfast is served each morning with eggs cooked to your liking (however sometimes the portion was a little small).

There is also a pool at the hotel and bikes are available for rent to allow you to cycle to the beach (around 5kms) which is great!!!

We had high expectations of Hoi An itself. It is a very quaint place however it has been totally westernised and I feel a lot of the charm has been removed as a result.

We also felt like we got ripped off at a few different places ie the shoe makers who did not deliver quality or agreed design after us spending 120usd on two pairs of shoes!

I think this is a great little hotel to stay at and a good base to explore Hoi An!!



  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybeach18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

of 6 weeks travelling in SE Asia, this place definitely wins for the best breakfast - great selection of fresh fruit, breads, cakes, egg, vietnamese local dishes, tea/coffee, juices....
and the staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful and most welcoming
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will hopefully return sometime soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaguliadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at this gem of a hotel, and would highly recommend it! The staff make this stay, they are all young, energetic and have a great sense of humor. I was truly impressed by the standard of English spoken here, and to be able to make very funny jokes with us was great fun. We were greeted as family, and when it came time to check out it was truly hard to leave such lovely, happy people! The breakfast was also fabulous, the best of our 5 week trip in Vietnam and Cambodia. The hotel is situated just a short 5 minute walk from the old town, and bikes are available for rent at the front desk. The only minor negative is the hard bed, but that's Asia for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel provides excellent facilities for the price (about $45/room) and is well located to the old town. It is clearly run by very motivated entrepreneurs - the owners also have a tailor's across the road (which made us some very good clothes) and appear to be connected with the highly rated Cargo Club restaurant in the old town. Certainly they are happy to make recommendations for whatever you might need. They also have drivers available to take you to Da Nang or elsewhere and are very helpful in arranging train tickets, flights, or whatever you might require.

As other reviewers have commented, several of the staff make a point of knowing your name and greeting you by it whenever you appear. Some might find this sort of approach a little forced and even intrusive - or perhaps I'm just a little cynical. No matter, our only substantive complaint was that it took 3 reminders and 24 hours for them to fix a blocked drain in our bathroom floor.

A very good choice for a stay in Hoi An.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road, so the noise sensitive may want to ask for a rear-facing room. That sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RexDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I am a 5th time customer of Hai Au Hotel and will continue to stay in this lovely hotel when I am in Hoi An.After having money stolen from my room in Dong Khahn hotel, the kind staff @ Hai Au rescued me and I found a safer and more secure room at this hotel. Everything else at this hotel is excellent> location/ breakfast/ cleanliness and of course, the amazing staff ( SUCH great English!) but their help with a horrible travel experience was beyond the call of duty.
A traveller could not get such caring, kind service from any star of hotel!Safety and security was what I needed and I got both @ Hai Au, along with excellent service that characterizes this small family hotel.

Room Tip: any room is nice, but the honeymoon suite is quite done up nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSHILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

from the minute you arrive the friendly folks at the desk know your name .... anna and her crew are the best.... theymake you feel as though your part of the family.... when anna had to leave early the night before we left she came to our room to say good bye... was sad to leave and would recommend staying here anytime.... great place... love you anna tom and thanks again

Room Tip: 2nd floor worked well for us..... no noise and plenty of room... computors in room helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtravelernewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#45 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#14 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#16 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing