We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #57 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent hotel for the money”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The staff are the best bit of the hotel. genuinely enthusiastic and very helpful. Nice rooms with every amenity including flat screen tv and wifi. Only thing you don't have is a safe or a kettle but they do bring thermos flasks every day. Compared to hotels in Saigon and Hanoi, the rooms are palatial and we had two huge double beds for two people. The layout of the bathroom is quite unique. Breakfast was traditional and tasty and you could have as much as you liked. Hotel is situated about 5 minutes from the shops and about 10 minutes from the central market. We struggled to find any late bars which was just as well as we woke the staff up from their beds in the lobby when we got in at 11pm. Prices in the hotel were the same as locally e.g. water etc

Room Tip: we were on the first floor, they don't have a lift but very enthusiastic bell boys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJW1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    468
    112
    35
    9
See reviews for
170
703
183
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The staff at this hotel really made us feel welcome, always addressing us by our names, asking how our day was etc. It was my birthday on one of the days we stayed, and the staff organised a personalised cake for me, free of charge! They also took a photo of my partner and I and gave it to us as a present. The hotel itself is somewhat dated, but the room was reasonably clean and spacious. Free internet in the lobby. Breakfast buffet is good given the smaller size of this hotel, with local specialties changing each day. Location is quite good, about 5 mins walk from the old town, and an easy 3-4 km bicycle ride to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CangMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed there 2 nights , very good room and restaurant . The welcome from yummy and team was amazing after travelling overnight from Hanoi.
Good location to walk into Hoi An.
Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatePeterCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hai Au is possibly aging a little bit compared to some of the very recently refurbished places we stayed but it beat everywhere else on the friendliness of the staff. the rooms were clean and there was free pineapple and water. Compaints about messed up bookings are surprising as they seem to be on top of everything and on near permanent duty. Breakfast is very good. Prices for trips and taxis are not inflated as far as we could tell. Good cooking school on offer from reception. Thank you girls!

Room Tip: upper floors at the back or side would be a good idea though no lift so get fit first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauljamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We found this hotel to be great value for the price we paid. It is a 2-3 star hotel. The bathroom is a little dated and the damp tending to mould on the ceiling.

Wonderful staff, happy to help with any queries from what the price of a sandwich (Banh mit pate) should be from a street vendor to posting postcards for us.

The hotel is five minutes walk to the town. Breakfast is served each morning with eggs cooked to your liking. Bikes, in good condition, are available for rent to allow you to cycle to the beach (around 5kms) or around town.

No kettle in the rooms. But they do provide a thermos flask. If you phone reception, they will bring you a new thermos with boiling water to make your tea/coffee. This was not explained to us on check-in.

Room Tip: Room at the back, away from the street and the Karoke bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you are british in nature and can get over the american style first name thing with the staff, it is a great place. they are honest, friendly and helpful as any we have come across.

They gave good advice and reasonably priced. we were tired when we arrived late, our room was set with complimentary pineapple and refreshments. there is wifi and a computer in the rooms. relax view to the back and great breakfast. an oasis, highly recommended.

taxi to danang airport was via the hotel at 16 USD. Cheaper than by taxi metre.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We made our reservation about a month before we came to Hoi An. Hotel promised free pick up from bus station. We confirmed our arivial 2 days before and got message that everything is all right. When we came to Hoi An there was no pick up. They forgot. We still wanted to stay there and we walk. The room we saw was pretty. Unfortunately we wanted to have a nice balcony (they offer them in booking.com site) as we were going to stay there for 5 nights.That what we saw scared us a bit. The balcony was so small that there was no possibility to put one chair on it. And there was view on the awfull garages or something. Looked bad. We didnt stay although receptionist tried hard. She was nice and seemed helpful. Maybe other rooms are better but we couldnt see any because they were full. This was the last time we made reservation before. We found chaper and beter room with beautiful balcony closer to the center for less money.

Room Tip: Dont book ahead. Go and see the rooms. They dont care about you if you booked earlier. They are alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlosiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 153 in Hoi An
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#28 of 153 in Hoi An
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#17 of 153 in Hoi An
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#13 of 153 in Hoi An
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing