We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After a relatively bumpy overnight reunification trip from Nha Trang - Danang, it was wonderful that the hotel offered (for a reasonable fee) to pick us up from the Danang train station. And the service only got better from there. Even though our check in wasn't until 1pm, they allowed us to head to our room when we got there at 8am (which they also upgraded for free). They gave us a late breakfast that same day. They also helped book a cooking tour, and gave us a detailed map of the area, whilst also answering any query we had.

The hotel is a bit out of the city centre, but it's an insanely manageable walk and they offer bicycles you can rent (think it was free or a couple of dollars). The hotel was clean, the breakfast pretty good, and the rooms packed with more than everything you need. Cool views of the surrounding areas too.

On our last day we had to leave quite early, so they all woke up when we did and made breakfast a couple of hours earlier than they usually would.

If you want somewhere very affordable with seriously 5-star service, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    456
    112
    34
    9
See reviews for
164
683
182
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We initially booked with Agoda but decided to upgrade for an extra $3 a night. This was well worth the extra cost and the staff were more than accommodating to change our room. The room and facilities were nice and clean. The staff were fantastic and were extremely helpful (they even greeted you by your first name every time they saw you). We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and remembered our names making us feel very at home. Special mention to Sally who was great with recommendations! I had a number of beautiful clothes made across the road from the hotel in their sister tailors. The staff there were also wonderful special mentions to Chi and Fern who made sure the clothes were perfect. We very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Excellent value, clean spacious room and a pool! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJ2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very enjoyable stay here. There was a bit of building work happening while we were there, but there was no additional noise, or areas barricaded off or anything to annoy us.
The hotel is situated about 15 minutes' walk from the Japanese Bridge, the furtherest of the town's main attractions, but you can reach most of the restaurants and temples in town, as well as the river, in less than 10.
The staff are extremely friendly, almost to a fault. Every time we appeared in the foyer, we were warmly greeted by our first names. The staff were always very helpful.
The room....well, it was gorgeous. Very large room, lots of floorspace, with the beds displaying swans made out of rolled up towels, with red petals scattered on the bed. Some would say a tad cheesy, but we loved it! The aircon was powerful and quiet, and did a great job of making the room deliciously cool while it was mid-30s outside. There was even a desktop PC with excellent wi-fi connectivity in the room for our free use, as well as a TV and a fridge with very reasonably priced drinks. There's a little balcony, although while we were there, it was usually too hot to stand out there.
A nice, large bathroom, with an actual full size bath set tastefully into an above ground tiled bench.
Downstairs, there's a restaurant area where the complimentary buffet breakfast was served each morning, serving up a wide variety and range of tasty options, including, bacon, noodles, pancakes, pastries, fruits and cereals, as well as tea, coffee and juices. Fresh omelettes were made by the staff on request.
There's a good sized pool, and one of life's pleasures was lounging by the pool in the late afternoon, when the pool area was shaded from the burning sun, and sipping on a drink at "happy hour" prices.
The hotel has a good range of bicycles for rental for, I think, $US6 per day. I made the mistake of hiring one of the more sporty looking bikes which had gears, but the hard, narrow seats had my bum sore after a few kms. Made much better sense to get of of the more old fashioned bikes that didn't have gears, but had those big, wide seats which were much more comfortable, and are perfectly fine to use to ride around the flat area around Hoi An. You don't need gears to ride around Hoi An. We rode all the way out to An Bang beach on the bikes very easily.
One thing to remember - the hotel doesn't take credit cards, so you need to settle your account in cash. No big deal, because there's a couple of ATMs only 1-2 minutes from the hotel.
The hotel is on two floors. there's no elevator, but the staff happily carry your heavier bags up to your room.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Yen Bai, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I travel to Vietnam very often and every time I go to Hoi An I stay at the Hai Au. The staff is always so nice and helpful, the breakfast that is included is delicious and the location is great for shopping, walking around and seeing the ancient town of Hoi An. The rooms are not over the top nice rooms but it is all you need for a visit in Hoi An. They are clean, beds are comfortable and AC always works great. I would recommend the Hai Au for anyone traveling to Hoi An, no matter how long or short you are staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I was pleased and comfortable staying at this hotel with a few, minor gripes.

Pros: CLEAN, filling breakfast, nice pool, cheap bike rental, centrally located to beaches and town, used books to swap and mostly kind staff

Cons: It may be a cultural thing, but while staff was helpful and polite most of the time, there were many times that they were visibly annoyed with requests and acted unpleasant. The food during lunch was also slow to come out when we were the only people in the place.

Overall, despite the cons, this a nice place to stay with cold AC and comfortable rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dandenong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. Staff were very attentive even remembering our names. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed a little hard. Pool was great with it being so hot. Overall one of our highlights on our trip around Vietnam.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jowazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#49 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#15 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#25 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#8 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing