We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for low budget but comfort traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #58 of 148 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for low budget but comfort traveller”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hai Au is a great place to stay in Hoi An and would recommend as value for money with great staff. They are about a 5 minute into the heart of town which works well when hiring a bike or scooter which they offer for around $5/day. Staff are friendly and willing to help, always personally saying hi and goodbye as we came and went during our stay. Breakfast is complimentary and the usual fare in Vietnam plus are also able to order eggs and pho any way you like. We had an enormous bed, fridge, tv, wifi and an shower with great pressure. Good place to stay in Hoi An that is value for money for travelling wanting the low budget but comfortable traveller.

Room Tip: Possibly a little noisy as we were the first room from reception on the ground floor, but close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockie_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    466
    112
    34
    9
See reviews for
168
698
182
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were here for 2 nights recently on our way north to Hanoi and were so impressed with the exceptional service given from staff; particularly the girls on the main reception desk. They were all too willing to help in any way possible. I felt as if I'd known them for years that's how friendly and personable they were. The hotel itself is basic and slightly dated, but it has everything you need to be comfortable. Our room had a very large bed, good air conditioning, wifi, and a decent sized bathroom. We even had a little balcony to smoke off. There is a small pool at the back of the hotel which offers great relief after a hot day wandering the streets. The town is not far at all from the hotel; about a 10-15min walk. Hoi An is just a lovely town in general with great shopping, food, and beaches. We have found the people here friendlier in general too (compared to other parts of Vietnam). I would come back and stay again so I could get more tailoring done (haha!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Hai Au Hotel in July, 2014 for three nights. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and a short walk/bike ride from the main shopping and restaurant areas. The beds were massive, and the rooms were definitely large enough for three people to share. The buffet breakfast was average, but there was always something we could find to eat. It was the staff that made our stay fantastic however. After we woke up to find an issue with our flight times (and knowing we would miss our scheduled flight), the staff at reception (and the manager I believe) jumped on the phone with the flight provider to sort out the problem. Fifteen minutes later, the issue was sorted. The problem would have been impossible for us to solve without speaking any Vietnamese, and the stress and worry the staff prevented for us made our experience at Hai Au phenomenal.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator so if stairs are an issue, request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enormous room, we had a family room. Very comfortable, although one bed was quite firm. Lovely warm friendly feeling here - always call you by name. Pool was clean and refreshing, good for the kids. Quite a selection for breakfast - local breakfast food was YUM. Air conditioning was excellent. Shoe maker next door was great too-happy with my shoes from there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Hai Au Hotel the staff were great and organized a range of things for us. We spend heaps of time at the pool which is fairly small but was always quite. The main food and shopping areas are a short walk away, we highly recommend trying some street food. The only disappointment was the fact there is no lift and when your on the top flore it can be a bit of a drain going up and down all day. Thanks for having us, will recommend to friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hai au for the second time with my girlfriend. Excellent value as before, with wonderful staff and a great location making it a solid option. Hai au is not a luxury hotel, and guests with expensive tastes might find it a bit lacking. That's not to say it lacks creature comforts, as the large beds and swimming pool ensure a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After a relatively bumpy overnight reunification trip from Nha Trang - Danang, it was wonderful that the hotel offered (for a reasonable fee) to pick us up from the Danang train station. And the service only got better from there. Even though our check in wasn't until 1pm, they allowed us to head to our room when we got there at 8am (which they also upgraded for free). They gave us a late breakfast that same day. They also helped book a cooking tour, and gave us a detailed map of the area, whilst also answering any query we had.

The hotel is a bit out of the city centre, but it's an insanely manageable walk and they offer bicycles you can rent (think it was free or a couple of dollars). The hotel was clean, the breakfast pretty good, and the rooms packed with more than everything you need. Cool views of the surrounding areas too.

On our last day we had to leave quite early, so they all woke up when we did and made breakfast a couple of hours earlier than they usually would.

If you want somewhere very affordable with seriously 5-star service, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 148 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 148 in Hoi An
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#27 of 148 in Hoi An
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#15 of 148 in Hoi An
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing