We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #59 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best budget hotel we stayed in during a month long tour of South East Asia. When we arrived, and throughout our stay, the staff were so friendly. They all learnt our names and would say hello as we came and went, as well as giving us a map and recommending places for us. The clothes washing service was quick and excellent. Our bed was made up with flowers and a heart shaped design when we arrived. Breakfast was excellent- a buffet with lots of options including crusty bread and an excellent fruit selection. The bathroom and air con were brilliant, and it was a 10 minute walk from the old centre of Hoi An. We also rented bikes for $1 a day and cycled for ten minutes to get to the beach. They even gave us beach towels! I wish we could have stayed longer than two nights, and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    475
    114
    35
    9
See reviews for
174
713
185
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the presentation of the beds on arrival with flower petals and towels shaped as swans may have been a bit kitsch but a nice touch all the same. It was nice to be away from the bustle and noise as well.

The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of food, and plenty of fresh fruit.

The best aspect of the hotel was definitely the staff. They were friendly and took the time to learn our names. After having a bad experience in Hanoi, it was refreshing not to feel pressured into booking tours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicaG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff here are really friendly and lovely. They are really obliging. The rooms are large and had towels in the shape of swans making a heart with petals placed in a decorative manner on them which was a nice touch. On arrival they give a complimentary fruit platter which was delicious. There is also free wi fi in the room and a desk top if you do not have a phone or iPad. Breakfast is adequate they will make you an egg etc or you can have cereals cake and lovely fresh fruit such as mango star fruit, papaya, & banana. Also cakes & doughnuts on offer. Fresh peanut butter is also a must.
The hotel Is located about a five minute walk from the town centre which is a market so close enough to reach and far enough to be quiet and away from the noise. The swimming pool is small but ideal for a dip when it's hot & humid. For the price a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Had room on the second floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenathans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived early on a night bus and had pre arranged pick up. Because we were so early they treated us to a free breakfast.
When talking about the town, tripsa and places to go they weren't pushy at all and actually said we didn't need to do one temple trip if we had done angkor wat in Cambodia.
The staff make a point of remembering your name and having a conversation as you pass through the lobby.
Nice pool to relax in but it only gets the sun from late morning onwards. Good happy hour deals.
The old town was walkable in 10/15 minutes but a taxi there or back only cost 20,000 dong.
By the way, do your laundry here, it smells amazing!
Overall a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C15_and_S14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The staff at Hai Au really went out of their way to make our stay here excellent. Great service and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms & beds very big which was great for our family! Highly recommend this hotel. Excellent service at a good price!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 94847George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel, and would definitely stay here again if we visit hoi an. As previous reviews state, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, and make a conscious effort to remember your name. We didn't think the hotel was that dated - our room was modern with a balcony, flat screen tv, and very very clean. It felt more like a homely bedroom than a hotel. When we arrived the staff had sprinkled rose petals on the bed and arranged the towels like swans, which was extremely cute! They also provided free water and free fresh fruit in the room. The breakfast buffet was good, with a large selection of breads and fruit. The hotel was barely a ten minute walk to hoi an old town, and 3.5 km to the beach. my boyfriend and I walked one day but it was around 45minutes on foot, so best to rent the bicycles from the hotel( $2 for 2 bikes ) and cycle there in 10 minutes! Finally this hotel had a very nice pool, small but extremely private - we had the pool and loungers all to ourselves one day. Towels also provided. Very surprised how good this hotel was for the bargain price we paid, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room is worn out in the sense that old and not attractive. Clean though. BUT, you have superb breakfast and very helpful staff. Location wise it is 15 mins walk to the center. If only they redecorate the room, then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeilinHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 156 in Hoi An
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 156 in Hoi An
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 156 in Hoi An
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#18 of 156 in Hoi An
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#37 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing