We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly. safe and homely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #59 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“friendly. safe and homely hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

great stay, bikes to hire easy to get around, great lococation, quiet sleeping, breakfast ok, would have liked cereal choice and a toaster to cook toast, instead of bagettes to have with eggs.
staff are so so friendly and always speak to you by name, very personal. great to be able to use computers in foyer.
pool nice and clean. rooms good, perhaps a ceiling fan would be good.
thanks girls in reception, had a great stay. sunscreen geoff
arranges great tours for us as well, jack the fishing tour great, worth doing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worsnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    466
    112
    34
    9
See reviews for
168
698
182
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We are a family of four and we had a very large room with two very big beds. The room also had a reasonable sized fridge, tv and dvd player, it also had a computer but we had problems with it but that was ok as they had four computers downstairs and there was always one available. All of the ladies at reception were very friendly and helpful, the hotel doesn't have a lift but that was o.k as the staff took your bags up to your room. The buffet breakfast was very nice and served in the restaurant attached to the hotel.
This room cost us $45USD per night and was very good value considering they had a pool much to the delight of our children.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel has an old world charm with big rooms, high ceilings, big shuttered windows and big bathrooms. Yummy, Minh, Kim and all the staff are wonderful. They are so friendly, attentive, cheerful and fun loving it's infectious and everyone feels the good vibes. Guests chat and share travel stories in the foyer in the relaxed surroundings. The rooms have air conditioning, cable tv including HBO and Star movies, lock up wardrobe, tiled floor and big bath tub in bathroom. Flowers and fruit are a welcome addition and towel "swans" and rose petals decorate bed on arrival. I found the pillows too hard so they were quickly replaced with soft pillows. The pool is cool, refreshing and private after a hot day out riding bikes to the beach or ordering tailor made shoes and clothes. Poolside there are comfortable sun loungers to relax on and check emails with free wi fi throughout the 4 floors of the hotel. Breakfast is plentiful with tropical fruits, juices, western and asian food and eggs made to order. The staf organised a cooking class for us at the Red Bridge Cooking School. Nothing is too much trouble. We have had the best time at this hotel and can recommend it to anyone who wants excellent value and service in Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

There are some places that just work and Hai Au is one of them. From the time we phoned to book in to the time we left we were made to feel welcome and the staff were so helpful and friendly that we really wish we could have extended our stay. They knew us by name, greeted us every morning and have great sense of humour. The tailor they recommended was fantastic, especially for fitted jackets - depsite may other tailor shops warning us about those who are attached to hotels (getting high commission rates etc). We had great weather in Hoi An as well so used the hotels motorbike rental and took to the beach and Marble Mountain - must do's in our opinion. We travelled for a month in total in SE Asia and Hoi An was the top spot - Hai Au had a lot to do with this and we hope we can get back soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My partner and I [32yrs old] arrived three days before Tet [February 2010] by unfortunately a noisy, rough bus ride from Ho Chi Minh City. On our arrival to Hoi An we were greeted by one of the many beautiful and friendly staff and driven back to the hotel which is a short walk to the main parts of town. We spent about 5 nights here and had a chilled out adventure over the New Year celebrations, we were able to hire cheap scooters from the hotel for a few dollars and we rode along the local beaches, out to marble mountain with a hand-drawn map and cruised through the old quarters of town.

The staff were very hard working and would help in any way whenever asked. Thanks to Minh and Yummy!! you girls rock!! Free breakfast and quiet, very clean, large rooms with balconies. There was a pool too.. the cliental while we were there ranged from 20 to 50 and all seemed pretty relaxed and adventurous. The weather didn't change from around a warm 32 degrees, tshirts and thongs.. perfect.

I recommend it.. it was neat, helpful and very friendly.. and a decent price. Just a short walk out of town, which was nice due to the groups of - sometimes - annoying tourists wondering around in the centre of town.

Get a [easy-to-ride] scooter, auto or semi auto.. and ride everywhere, such a good way to see much, much more. if you don't know how to ride, get a few lessons before you leave, or get a friend to dink you... or hire a bicycle.

Anyway, the staff at Hai Au Hotel really are the standout of this hotel. I've come across plenty of good hotels, but the staff here were really decent and quite memorable, I wish them all the best.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I booked this hotel after reading heaps of reviews on TripAdvisor. What a treat - booked for 3 nights but ended up staying for 8. My Superior room was excellent - TV, DVD player, computer, fridge, balcony plus 2 queen-size beds decorated with origami towels in the shape of a pair of swans! The staff are absolutely delightful - I was greeted on arrival with a hug and, over the next few days, received lots more. Special thanks to Yummy, Sao, Ana, Yum and Tao, plus others whose names have slipped my mind, particularly the helpful young man for whom nothing was too much trouble. The reception ladies even arranged a cake for my birthday and took me and other guests to a special local restaurant on our last evening - the do-it-yourself spring rolls were very special. I cannot speak too highly of this wondrous hotel. Do yourself a favour and try it out when next in Hoi An.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The Hai Au Hotel is located about a ten minute walk from Hoi An’s old town. It offers very clean and spacious rooms with facilities such as air conditioning, a television and a fridge. The hotel also provides a small swimming pool for guests and there is an attached restaurant where the included breakfast was provided. Laundry rates were competitive and the service was first rate. Room tariffs are good value when compared to similar hotels.

What really makes the hotel stand out is the fantastic staff particularly Minh, Yummy, Sao and Anna. They were incredibly friendly and did their best to treat everyone staying in the hotel as a special guest. Many more expensive hotels could learn from the staff at Hai Au.

While in Hoi An one of us had a haircut at Na which is very close to Hai Au and which also offers massages. The haircut was pretty abysmal and to make matters worse was relatively expensive for Vietnam. If you need a haircut we would recommend that you avoid Na.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 147 in Hoi An
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#27 of 147 in Hoi An
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#16 of 147 in Hoi An
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing