We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Firstly the staff at this hotel are fantastic, we were lucky enough to have Christmas eve here and were treated to a fantastic evening of fun and food. The staff will give you as little or as much assistance as you need. They are happy to recommend things but at the same time aren't pushy.

The room we had was very spacious, clean, comfortable and not noisy at all. A nice added touch was the free fruit in the mini bar. The breakfast was probably the best free hotel breakfast we had in Vietnam, with plenty to choose from.

We found the location of the hotel to be perfect. We would walk into the old town several times a day as it only takes about 10-15mins.

The Hotel also has a tailor linked to it which we made use of. They were reasonably priced and the service and quality were exceptional. We will definitely have more things made by them in the future.

All in all this hotel is a great spot to stay when in Hoi An and I would certainly recommend it, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claredono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    449
    110
    33
    9
See reviews for
162
674
177
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Hi,

Just spent 4 days at the Hai Au and had a lovely time, we have just left and we are actually missing the staff!!

Hotel booking was easy (through bookings.com) and when we had to change our dates in an emergency we phoned the hotel direct and they managed to sort this out and were so easy to deal with, and the rate got cheaper! ($27)

We got the airport pick up, always good as the hotel taxi will know where the hotel is, though is normally around $5 more expensive than getting any taxi from the airport.

Check in was friendly and fast and we were shown our room.

Room was huge, with 2 beds, computer area, fridge, TV, spacious bathroom with great shower and bath (though hot water ran out when we tried to run enough water for a bath). Bed was quite hard, which we are finding normal practice in Vietnam...

Presentation of room was lovely, with rose petals all over the bed. It had a balcony overlooking the road which was noisey.

Our room was 401, room 411 was identical but overlooked the back of the hotel so would have been quieter (hotel was fully booked so we couldn't move). Yes there is a karaoke bar opposite the hotel, but we only heard it 1 night.

The staff have excellent English and are so helpful, nothing is too hard to sort out, if you have any problem just tell them. They remembered our names instantly and welcomes us so warmly ever time we came back to the hotel or left for the evening.

Wi-fi Internet was excellent, very fast and reliable.

Breakfast was good, eggs and bacon, patisseries, fruit, asian options, juice etc. As it was it's own cafe / restaurant attached to the hotel breakfast ran to 10 am which was nice and relaxing. We ate there at night and it was cheap and tasty.

The location was a bit out of the way, about 10 mins walk to the start of the old town, and of course if you then walked on through to the end of the old town then the walk home was a fair distance. We didn't mind this, but some people might want to be closer in.

(We found many of the restaurants in the old town over priced aimed at tourists, and not that great in quality, certainly not 5 times nicer than the hotel food which was the price difference.)

Faifoo on Tran Phu Street was great local food at good prices.

We did enjoy the expensive (but delicious) cakes and good coffee of the very popular and western style Tam Tam cafe and Cargo Club. With big comfy chairs and lovely old building conversions, these 2 cafes were inviting but priced for westerners, and popular with the tour groups.

The staff organised our private taxi to see My Son temples, cost $25 for the 2 of us rather than the $12 using the tour bus. So we avoided the crowds and the tedious multi hotel pick up and drop off. We decided to arrive at 10.30 am as all the many many buses were leaving, so got the temples all to ourselves. (the tour groups are at 5 am and 8 am normally, and it's 1 hour aware from Hoi An)

Also did the Hoi An Day Spa on Ba Trieu, excellent, body massage 1 hour $12.
The Hoi An Photo Tour was also a great experience.

We hired a bike from the old lady at the front of the hotel for $1 for the whole day, bikes were good.

Overall we would normally have given this hotel 4 stars, as the location was a bit far out, but the staff were so amazing that it deserves top marks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Just stayed here for 4 nights and were sorry to leave (we missed the Christmas party). Lovely hotel, clean and very spacious. Great buffet breakfast as well. Good location as well a short walk from the old town and short cycle to the beach. The staff are also so friendly, always greating you by name. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

After staying at Hai Au, I have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone. The service we were provided with was amazing - the girls remembered our names and always said hello to us in the morning and evening. Their english was impeccable and they were very well spoken.

They didn't hesitate to recommend some great places for us to go including a tailor for us - who turned out to be very good.

The room was BIG and clean and was very well presented. The bathroom had a bathtub in it, which is a rarity in Vietnam.

I was very impressed with the hotel, even though it is a short walk from the old town, it was quiet and well priced. The breakfast was included and was very well laid with many choices.

We also went on the hotels tour to My Son, there were a few people on it, but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and his english was great.

Definitely worth a stay here, we were impressed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

The best thing about the Hai Au is the friendly and helpful staff. They checked us in in no time and offered up a lot of good info on the town. Unfortunately, that's where my positive review ends.
The rooms were large and a little old fashioned and have only a huge florescent light. The bathroom had a stinky mildew problem. The a/c unit sounded like a Harley Davidson. Not much sleep here.

In addition, the hotel is really far from town. We noticed several places closer for about the same price with more amenities. Overall it is really not a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thattravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

I just left this Hotel after spending 3 nights there.

I am a solo traveler and I felt really at home there with the fantastic service by the counter staff. They all knew my name, and when i left today they even gathered outside and waved me off! Things like that really make your stay. They went out of their way to help me whenever I had a request.

The room was really clean and comfortable. Location wise it is terrific as it is a short walk to the town, but it is on the beach side of the town (if that make sense) so it's easy to jump on a bike and peddle to the beach.

I read the review below- I too stayed at the Orchid Hotel in Hue and agree that once you stay at the Orchid you kind of expect the same at the next place- but I think that's impossible! The Hai Au is good value for money and I would definitely highly recommend it.

PS- The breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speechie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

My husband and I were disappointed staying at this hotel. It may have been because we stayed in such an excellent place in Hue (Orchid Hotel) for less money and just blew the competition out of the water. The rooms are clean and spacious which I suppose is the main thing, but I do believe it is over priced $35 per night for the quality. I have not been able to find something in a similar price bracket in Hoi An though, so maybe it is the norm here. The staff do make a point of learning your name and greet you whenever they see you (which can be a little over the top at times) but I'm not sure that when you actually have a request, they actually listen to it, or perhaps it is just that they don't understand. It took us two days to get an extra pillow, but they did bring us a 'Happy Honeymoon' cake so it is hard to be cross. Check-in was very efficient, but the mini bar was not explained to us and there are no prices, so we were not sure if the apples and bottled water were included in the room price. It is a small walk into town, but a very easy one. The worst thing about the room would have to be the bathroom. The shower is positioned so low that my husband is not able to get under it. The hot water cylinder is above the shower head too, and the bathroom fan does not work. Also, Intrepid Journeys use this as one of thier hotels for their tours. Once again, I'm not sure for the price what the other competition is so perhaps keep reading the reviews and something better value for the money might pop up.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#46 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#13 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#17 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#10 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing