We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa in a great location. Superb...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Banyan Ocean Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
White sands
lazy shade
The Beach
Relax and indulge
Poolside bedroom
Heavenly Bathroom
Outdoor Private Tub
Poolside lazing
View from upstairs bedroom
Bedroom
Pool cabana
Living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chayato
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“From Beauty to Fraud”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

It was our second stay at the Villa. Our first stay in January 2016 was nothing short of exceptional. We decided hence to come back 2 years later to regrettably discover that what used to be a secluded charming villa with surrounding exotic nature and direct access to the beach was now surrounded:

- to the right (it used to be a beautiful natural site with palm trees) a massive boutique hotel was built with balconies overseeing the Villa’s garden and 1st floor terrasse and a huge wall of AC engines and a noisy extraction hood (heavy sound during 10mn every now and then)...

- more importantly, on the front, the beautiful tree line that was separating the villa from the beach was a huge in progress construction site which starts with heavy noise (shouts, chain saw, hammers...) at 7:00 am sharp and lasts most of the day making your stay unbearable. A restaurent is apparently being build there with many worker on the roof directly overlooking the villas’ garden and pool making any enjoyment or privacy impossible.

- around the villa a tall white wall was put up making the garden look much less natural.

This was not indicated to us by the villa’s owner who preferred to literally ruin our vacation by hiding this from us. We were a group of 8 traveling from New York, London and Paris and our stay was a complete discomfort. We tried to find alternatives but all options were closed as it is peak season and nothing much was available. So we were completely trapped in an unacceptable surrounding.

Also, the villa is poorly maintained (walls and ceilings are all stained...) the owners obviously preferring to milk their investment over spending a penny on maintaining a decent environment. What was also astounding was a new Australian manager who dared welcoming us by saying that the construction site was an opportunity for the villa and the beach economy (it is an ecological disaster). That was actually a disgrace.

The only positive note goes to the onsite local team who still provides a caring service and amazing food. They felt so sorry for us as we were so frustrated by the fact that the owners deliberately hid this new reality from us. I would hope they soon find a decent job with another more honest and professional owner.

These people are indecent, fraudulent and do not even deserve 1 star. We would have not stayed there even for free. I have photos ans videos available to share.

Run away. As far as you can. Our vacations were ruined. Save yours while you still can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Hello Chayato
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are very sorry you found the development in and around An Bang beach to be unacceptable. An Bang has quickly developed into a "must visit" destination and with that comes the development of restaurants and accommodation to cater to visitors. Just like the villa. Unfortunately, we are not in a position to control what is approved for construction and when it is constructed. The restaurant will be completed in February 2018. We did not expect the noise to impact the villa as much as it did. Until the roofing construction commenced, guests have enjoyed the villa without complaint. We certainly did not deliberately hide it from you and for that impression, we apologise again. It was extremely unfortunate the roofing and major construction happened during your stay. The villa will still have a path leading directly to the beach as it did before. It will be re-built in the coming days now that the major building work has been completed. Whilst the village has changed and not to your taste, other guests may enjoy a high end restaurant at their finger tips. We have discussed this at length during your stay. For future travellers, the gate leading to the beach is still in place and in just a few short footsteps you will find the beach. You may want to stop for a cocktail or use the day beds on the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa in a great location. Superb service from the villa staff.”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family group of 3 couples and stayed 3 nights / 4 days at Banyan Ocean Villa. The villa was perfect for our needs and exceeded our expectations in every regard. The location is great - close to the beach and village. Had some great meals and spa treatments within a few minutes walk of the villa. We did several visits to Hoi An and were captivated by its charm - even though the flood waters were rising!
Leanne, Yen and all the villa staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Yen even rode her motor bike in the rain to get us lunch on our last day! We highly recommend this accommodation and hope to return again one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nonniedai...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! words can't describe the property, location, staff and service”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We'd read all of the reviews before booking, which were amazing but still didn't give the villa or staff the justice due.
We've been lucky enough to visit several different countries and have stayed in a variety of accommodation but nothing compares to the Banyan Ocean Villa and Vietnam in general.
A dream holiday in paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaMc...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing - I will be back!”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Banyan Ocean villas exceeding my expectation from the location, facilities and beyond anything the amazing staff - Yen is simply divine. Amazing girls week away but I will be back with my kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager69...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury on the beach!”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

After 2 nights in the hussle and bussle of Ha Noi, arrived here to find the peace and tranquility we'd been looking for. Unlike other places we'd stayed in 3 years ago, Banyan Ocean Villa hasn't been photoshopped to impress and everythng works! Staff have been 5 star and in attendance each and every day to cater for our every need without being intrusive....rare in Asia! Hard to leave the pool and walk the few meters to the pristine beach too. Spoilt for choices of places to eat and have to recommend 'The Deck House' which is 2 doors away and Thuan's amazing sea food platter. It's crazily cheap but the standard hasn't been reduced for the quality just like staying here. Needless to say I'm sad to be leaving but I'm already looking at dates for a return visit next year! 5* recoommendation from this world weary traveller! Cheers Michael Norman Melbourne Australia

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
58towrigh...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As a group of 8 staying for a week we could not fault this beautiful villa, from our very comfy clean rooms, the pool, the path to the beach & the amazing attention to detail from Yen & staff. We highly recommend this villa for location, beach, restaurants & delicous breakfasts

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173lizzie
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow what an amazing place! On the beach but secluded, right next to the great restaurants along the beach. Rooms were huge and the beds so comfy. Ean is a fabulous host and went out of her way to make sure we had a fantastic time. She is awesome! Easy and cheap to get a taxi into Hoi An for some shopping and sightseeing. Felt like we were staying in a 5 star resort and will definitely come back!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Host, location pool Vietnamese coffee
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing