We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places we've stayed at anywhere in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #64 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places we've stayed at anywhere in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Betel Garden Homestay for 4 nights in July, and we found it to be one of the best hotel experiences ever. Tuan, Dong, Vang and Hien were the most hospitible and cheery bunch of hotel staff we've ever met. From the moment of arrival, we felt like we were staying with family; the staff all spent so much time getting to know us and we were privilidged to also be able to get to know them.

Our first experience with the homestay was Vang's helpfulness over email helping us to organise suitable accommodation for our whole family which required 4 rooms and had to accommodate 3 children from a small baby to 7 year olds. Arrangements were also made for airport collection and also a car to Hue at the end of our trip for very reasonable prices.

On arrival, Tuan and Hien were standing right in front of the car door as it opening with huge smiles and delicious passionfruit juice to greet us and get us inducted to the homestay.

The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, well-appointed and, while a bit chintsy and twee for my normal taste, suit the image of the homestay. The rooms are quite dark and while I would normally complain about this, it kept them cool and was also useful for getting our baby to sleep for her midday naps. And because the homestay is very sociable, we spent most of our time on our front porch, in the garden, in their restaurant, and in their pool anyway rather than in our rooms.

The new swimming pool (completed only 2 weeks before we arrived) was an added bonus, especially for the kids. While the water is a bit bath-like in terms of temperature (I prefer my pool water a little cooler, especially in the summer temperatures of Vietnam), the location of the pool means that it is in the shade and so is a great place to hang out with the kids and babies without risk of burning and overheating.

The food at the homestay is delicious, authentic, and has all the regional specialities. Breakfast was made to order and is included in the room rate. The only minor complaint was, because of the style of coffee-making in Vietnam (ie slow drip), it often arrived warm at best and required a bit of a microwave to get it hot again. We were fortunate enough to be invited by the owner of the homestay for a free dinner with her, the staff and the other guests who were also staying for a minimum of 3 nights (the requirement to be invited to the free dinner). It was a wonderful event, with over 20 people chatting in to the wee hours.

As I already mentioned, we had a young baby with us (8.5 months old). She immediately warmed to the staff at the homestay, who frequently took her on walks around the garden and played with her at their own will. We felt so comfortable with the staff that they offered to do a couple of nights baby sitting while we went to a couple of restaurants in the evening after our baby went to sleep. They were extremely loving and responsible and let us know when she had woken up (she had a slight cold while we were there and so wasn't sleeping well) so we could come home. When we got back to the homestay, she was sitting smiling with all the staff in the reception area. She was well taken care of.

When we left, I am not embarrassed to say that the entire family of 8 were all a bit teary as we drove away. We miss Betel Garden Homestay and we will definitely be back. I fortunately live in Saigon so it is just a short flight away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HongKongMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    136
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
188
383
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for 15 nights in July and it was amazing. The staff (Mrs Le, Ms Vang, Ms Hien, Mr Tuan, Mr Dong) treated us like their own family members. Nothing was too much.

The gardens were very peaceful and welcoming. The restuarant food was very tasty and reasonably priced. We ended up eating here half the time. The two free family dinners that we attended were a chance to meet all other guests and to talk with the staff and family in a comfortable setting.

The rooms / bungalows (only eight) are all comfortable and roomy with fresh fruit provided daily.

The free push bikes come in handy to get to the beach and into town.

Nothing was too much for the staff and they arranged a river cruise, cooking lessons and motor bike hire for us at more than reasonable prices.

We look forward to returning to Betel Garden Homestay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We spent over three weeks at the Betel Garden Homestay and loved every minute of it. The staff is so caring and thoughtful. The facility is absolutely beautiful, especially the new swimming pool. The food is excellent and very convenient. The staff can arrange car rental and other service on short notice. They can get a much better price than you can get on your own - because they do repeat business with the drivers, vendors, etc. Betel Garden takes all of the stress out of staying in Vietnam - and lets you enjoy the wonderful foods and sights of Hoi An. It is a little outside the city, and you do get some local noise, but that really is part of the appeal of charm of the place. It is the caring owners and staff that really make Betel Garden Homestay so special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridge_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Betel Garden Homestay for four nights and enjoyed it very much. It was such a lovely place and the family and the other people working there where really nice and treating us very friendly. For us it was the perfect place to relax. And when ever we wanted we could take the bicycle and drive either to the beach or to the village.
Our bungalow was gorgeous and we got fresh fruits every day and the free breakfast was yummy!! And the typical banana flour salad is very advisable!
We will recommend this place for sure to everybody who is going to Vietnam. And we will come back hopefully as well!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoraSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Homestay is a wonderful place with wonderful people. They make the stay in Hoi An tremendously easier. The Homestay really is a garden and it is absolutely beautiful to wake up to every morning. I highly recommend the Betel Garden Homestay.

Ben
Knoxville, TN USA

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Betel Garden was our home away from home for 3 amazing weeks. The staff is so friendly and welcoming, couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! The pool is tons of fun if you don't want to travel to the beach, and the gardens over countless gorgeous views. Do yourself a favor and visit!

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
10 Thank rothht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efland, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Everything in this place is beautiful! The people are so accommodating. After leaving there, I can truly say that everyone who worked their had become my friends. I missed this place as soon as I left and if I return, I wouldn't even consider some swank resort over this. Perfect place for the Hoi An atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank balliuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#50 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#25 of 142 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#38 of 142 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.4 mi away
Hoi An Waterway Resort
Hoi An Waterway Resort
#83 of 142 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing