We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #62 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The grounds of the Betel Garden Homestay are beautiful, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the staff very welcoming and helpful. When we were checking in, we were advised that the homestay would provide a free dinner that evening for the newly-arrived guests. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed, as I'd heard so much about the fabulous food in Hoi An, and I didn't want to waste one of our evenings on a hotel meal. I needn't have worried - the food was great. (Only in Hoi An - foodie's paradise - would the food served by a mid-priced hotel be memorable.)

Our children enjoyed the swimming pool. The breakfasts were very good - only wish I'd realised earlier how good the muesli was!

We appreciated the fact that nothing was any problem for the staff. For instance, after we all went mad at the tailors' shops, we had to quickly arrange to send a couple of big parcels home. The hotel organised for the chap from the postal service to come to our rooms to pack the clothes and help us with the form-filling. (And the box we sent airmail was waiting for us when we got home, about 16 days later.)

The Homestay is located a short drive from the centre of town. Taxis are so cheap that this was never a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
195
396
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

4 older New Zealanders chose to go here rather than the beach resort picked by our travel agent. Very friendly and helpful staff, food great, lovely swimming pool, surrounding garden ideal and not too far to walk to town. As this was in the midst of a residential area there was a degree of noise which disturbed the sleep but part of living in that situation--eg dogs barking a lot in the night, cockerels crowing from the very early hours and builders working on the house opposite from 7am. Loved the free meal provided one night so guests and staff could get to know each other a wee it.Laundry could not be done in the room but a very cheap(cost by weight not per item) and fast service provided. Was a great choice although a few pointers would help make it even better.
My bathroom had a locked partially glass(frosted) connecting door through to what seemed to be the family quarters so a bit disconcerting to see a light on in the bathroom when not in use by me or my husband. Suggest putting some kind of blackout curtain up on the glass of that door.
Need to be a bit more consistent when doing the rooms--eg first night no spare toilet roll, rest of the time--3 more nights-- flask of hot water for making tea was not replaced and there was not a kettle/jug provided to boil our own water. There was also a bit of confusion re the drinking water--we assumed, as had been the case every where else we went, that the bottled water was complementary but on checking out saw it was on the bill.The fruit provided was free.
Despite the points made above we all loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone wanting away from the more sterile large hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the one with the connecting door through to the family area unless the problem of the glass do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Together with our friends, we spent six nights at this beautiful little oasis just outside the old town. We wnated to stay here 2 years earlier but there was no vacancy, so were determined to get in this trip.....and we were not sorry. From the moment we arrived on New Years Eve to the moment we left, we were welcomed and looked after as family. We spent a very special NY Eve with other guests, staff and their families with complimentary dinner and drinks, Karaoke and games! What a night. We were all given an arrangement of flowers the next morning for 'Happy New Year'. Breakfasts were hearty and staff always knew your name and what you had previously ordered. There was complimentary water and fruit platters daily. Dong, Tuan, Vang and Hien, ?Le and all her staff (Gardener and security guys) are the best you will find. Nothing is too much trouble. The villas have everything you need and our serviced daily. If I had to find fault, it would be that beds are a little hard for our liking, but this would not deter me from staying here again and again. The gardens are beautifully kept and there is a lovely pool area (bit cold for us). Thanks to Marianne and Perre (Swedish guests) they showed us the quiet way into town on the bicycles via the river. A short ride out the front gate direct to the quay, and then we rode along quietly beside the river to town each and every day. It was a lovely ride, and we felt a ltitle part of the neighbourhood of sorts. On our last day we were offered a complimentary river cruise, which was an unexpected delight. Betel Garden really is the most beautiful setting and with only small number of rooms, you will get to meet and swap notes with fellow guests. Be sure to book early.....and enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Agree with the reviews, this is a great place and great value. Situated an easy 15min walk outside of Hoi An the Betel Garden Homestay is the ideal place to chill out. This is an opportunity to experience the culture and village life. Take the time to walk around the streets, have a coffee or beer in the local bars. Borrow a bicycle and ride the 2kms to the beach. If you go early in the morning you should miss the traffic and ox. Take timeout for a massage in your room. The dinner here with the other guests and family last night was wonderful. Thank you again to our wonderful hosts for such a restful and peaceful stay.
Alyssa and Ken

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Our family of 5, including 3 young kids, had a wonderful stay at the Betel Garden. We booked late at a busy time, so weren't able to get a family or connecting rooms. So we had a double downstairs and a triple upstairs, which was still good value. The staff are lovely and just great with the kids. Small but beautiful pool, lovely gardens for leisurely breakfasts, and lots of bonuses like free bikes, fruit and wifi. The location is walking distance to town, but probably a bit too far for young kids in the heat. But transport is cheap and easy. It's also an easy bike ride to town along the riverfront bike path (much quieter and safer than the main roads).

The charming hosts put on a lovely Vietnamese dinner for all the guests one night. We all shared one big table and it was a generous and charming way to get to know our hosts and other guests. The food was delicious too.

We would have loved to stay longer but we moved to stay with friends as Betel Garden was booked out. I accidentally left my credit card at reception on check-out, and the hotel staff tracked down our friends to make sure it was returned safely to me. Great service!

This is not the place to stay if you want to be right in town with cafes and shopping at your doorstep. But if you want a lovely oasis with charming hospitality within easy reach of town and beach, Betel Garden is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Dont bother spending more money on acomodation in Hoi An. This place is great. The staff are lovely and relaxed. The food is as good as anywhere we found down town. The massage was great. Our kids loved the pool and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The title is exactly from the mouths of the wonderful hosts. Including the broken English. Trung (I hope I spelt this correctly) and Dong, were the most amazing host. Their memories are incredible. All Westerners could take some lessons from them.

We got to know the staff like long lost friends. We arrived the night of the 24th December (Xmas Eve) and they had organised a special Christmas dinner for the guests. The opening lines for the evening were "We are not Rich Hotel but we are Rich in Emotion". How true this was!!! We were greeted with warmth the moment we stepped out of the taxi, If we stepped out the room we were greeted with "Is everything OK can I do something for you" (every time without fail).

The gardens are a tranquil oasis awây from the bustling town. The pool is nice, but it was too cold to use at Christmas. The tiles are ẽxtremely slippery so some care needs to be taken when entering and exiting the pool.

Back to our Xmas party, the staff had a bigger night than normal this night and we soon learned how much they love working with each other and how much they love seeing their guests happy. You will never get this service in a rich 5 star hotel.

The rooms were big. We started in the Family rôom but needed to move on our lást night. The double and twin rốoms were just á big and comfy.

The Homestay ís a little out of town, the pushbikes are in disrepair so we ended up renting mopeds(scooters). Thís was awesome, it gave us so much freedom. My wife was scared stiff so my son drove the second bike.

Thểre so much to say but we loved our stay, it is so depressing being in Hanoi after our stay in Betel garden. The only pitfall would be, 7 days was a lttle tôo long for the family as Hoi An dóes not have a lot to offer children (12 and 15years).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 156 in Hoi An
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#34 of 156 in Hoi An
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
1.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 156 in Hoi An
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing