We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing! Clean! Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #68 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing! Clean! Great Service”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our family was on vaction in Hoi An and we found the Betel Garden Homestay Villa. What a GEM! This villa is located a short bit outside of the bustling downtown Hoi An area, so it is very peaceful and charming. There are about 8 different villas (large individual rooms, each in its own cottage), a swimming pool, dining area, play area, relaxation area, etc. This villa is perhaps the best place that we've stayed on our two week vacation in Vietnam.

The staff here are AMAZING. From the front receptionist, to the restaurant staff to the cleaning and maintenance staff - everyone spoke very fluent English and was always so pleasant and helpful! The grounds are immaculate and clean. There are fish poinds everywhere on the grounds. One of my favorite parts of my visit was that there are bicycles for you to borrow so that you can go into town or explore the city, free of charge. It comes complete with helmets, locks, and child seats.

There are services available during yoru stay - Pedis, Manis, massages, etc. Prices are super reasonable (~USD$14 for a 60 minute massage, USD$3 for a manicure, etc). The service people come from the outside, and are well trained and professional!

I certainly have plans to return to Betel Garden Homestay on our next trip to Vietnam! HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
188
393
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is truly one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. At first I was worried about this spot being slightly outside of Hoi an, but it is only a 5 minute bike ride away. I really enjoyed being outside of the old city in a nice authentic neighborhood.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food is delicious and the pool is chilly... Which is nice since Hoi an can get so hot!

The rooms are really nice for the price. If you aren't interested in an impersonal and sterile resort, this is a perfect alternative!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Betel Garden in 2010 for a week and enjoyed it so much that since then had vowed to return. Encouraged by our two teenage daughters who had their own fond memories of the place, we finally made it back for 6 nights over Christmas 2013 and it was well worth the trip. We were welcomed back by the friendly staff, many of whom were the same. They'd added a couple of more rooms, now 10 in total and the new pool was tempting but a bit too cold to use during our stay this time. The gardens were just as beautiful and food was delicious.
The neighbourhood is quiet and doesn't have a loudspeaker nearby, which is significant.
The management hosted a Christmas Eve party for their staff, friends and all the guests with complimentary banquet and drinks laid on with games for all to join in.
We love the fact that it's a bit out of town but not too far and you can either walk into town or use the free bikes to go anywhere. There are several restaurants and laundry facilities close by either on Cua Dai road or along the river if you don't want to use the inhouse offerings, but the in-house food is delicious and we ate dinner in a couple of times. We used the free bikes to meet up with extended family members staying at a nearby hotel who'd been unable to stay with us due to it being full at the time. We also rode the bikes to An Bang beach past Cua Dai beach, which didn't take much time at all. I'm not sure if it was my imagination or I was just used to it but there seemed to be less traffic than last time.
Breakfast is included and offers a wide range from a menu rather than a buffet. Rooms are large and clean and fresh fruit is supplied daily and we were greeted with fresh flowers. Staff are always very friendly and helpful and I think it says something about a place when nearly half the other guests were return visitors like us.

Room Tip: Any room is good. We had the elevated balcony room this time which was nice, and the girls had a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIJAdarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great place. The staff is very friendly! They invited us also for dinner. We borrowed their bikes and tour'ed the area. Our two children of 6 and 8 had a fantastic time!!! And so did their parents too :-) we can strongly recommend this place and their great staff.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have followed Trip Advisor's comments and we were disappointed. We went to city center by foot (about 15 minute walking) but you can take bikes that are at your disposal. The hotel organized a dinner outside with rest of the guests. It was a great way to meet and mix with other travellers. It was too cold to test the pool but we are sure the place is great when weather is hot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilou75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed three nights in a superior room. The room and ensuite were both large and felt very homely. The grounds are filled with lush green plants, mainly the Betel tree from which the accommodation gets its name, and is a beautiful oasis five minutes drive from Hoi An old town. After negotiating traffic and crowds in the township, Betel Gardens Homestay was a beautiful little paradise to return to after each outing. There is a clean swimming pool with a small deck, and we found it to be a suitable temperature. Breakfast is served in an outdoor pergola and is a lovely way to start the day. Breakfast is to order, simple, and tasty. The accommodation offers a complimentary dinner however I would give this a miss in favour of the many great places to eat in town. We were welcomed to the homestay by Tuan, whom we interacted with for the duration of the stay. He provided wonderful customer service, and is a great asset to their operations. We had clothes made through the tailor that they recommend; Bebe. Of course the Homestay receives commission from this, however we found Bebe's service and quality to be fantastic. It was reassuring to use this tailor because if they provided a bad service, it would also reflect poorly on Betel Gardens Homestay (which could make for bad reviews online). Overall we had a fantastic stay and found the accommodation to be very unique to others that we stayed at during our travels through Vietnam. If we were to return to Hoi An, we would definitely stay here again! I highly recommend Betel Gardens Homestay, particularly to those who might be 'travel weary.' It is a great place to revitalise for those tired of crowds and concrete.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaquelandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Betel Villa Homestay which we thoroughly enjoyed The setting is lovely among the gardens and trees. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were superb. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 147 in Hoi An
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#42 of 147 in Hoi An
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#90 of 147 in Hoi An
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Boutique Villa
Green Boutique Villa
#55 of 147 in Hoi An
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing