We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #65 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had the most lovely stay here. Everyone is genuine and warm and were probably the most generous hosts we experienced in our 3 week stay in Vietnam. The location is idillic, the breakfasts the best we ate and it was all just perfect. Don't hesitate to stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
393
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Despite a slight mix up with the booking, which was more of an Agoda issue, Betel Gardens lived up to the reputation that it is getting on Trip Advisor.
Not only were we randomly given a free boat trip, we were also invited to a free "family" meal with all the residents and staff. Free beer and far more courses than was possible to eat, it was a great way to gossip and chat with other guests and find out who is from where...and what they have been up to in Vietnam.
The beds were super comfy, wifi was average (but apparently we were just unluckily placed...according to other guests). TV, aircon and everything else you would expect to find. Mini bar prices are cheaper than some of the shops you will find. Im so glad we chose Betel Gardens as our base while in Hoi An. It was the most amazing and relaxing part of our stay in Vietnam!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our first visit to Hoi An and finding the Betel Garden Homestay made it perfect. Everything we read in the reviews was true, beautiful gardens, spacious comfortable rooms, wonderful friendly staff and amazing hospitality. Twice during our 6 night stay we were invited with all the other guests to an evening meal of superb food, which provided a great opportunity to get to know the other guests. It felt more like we were staying with family than in a hotel, a feeling that was reinforced when the staff all came out to wave goodbye to us when we left, this was after we were presented with a parting gift. Janet & Stephen

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Betel Gardens for 4 nights last week. The staff were so friendly and we particularly enjoyed the dinner party the night before we left. We can see why this is voted one of the top places on TripAdvisor. Thank you Betel Gardens! Laura, Tolly and Helen.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff and great location.

The only fault was that we were unfortunate enough to be in a bungalow with construction work going on behind it. The work started at about 6.45am every morning and it was not just a little bit of noise, it was like being on a building site. Luckily we were up and about every day fairly early anyway and only stayed for 2 nights. If we had been staying for longer we definitely would have complained as we were not even warned before arrival. I would of really expected an email or something to inform us as it was just so loud and impossible to sleep past 6.45 and continued throughout the whole day.

This did not spoil the stay for us but we were glad to be only staying 2 nights so we could at least have the option of sleeping in later at another hotel. I would check before booking to see if this work has been completed as the environment was far from relaxing when we visited.

They gave us free bicycles to use and a map of the local town which was very helpful and pointed out some good local resturants. I can recommend Mango Mango along the river, very good food.

Nice swimming pool, adequate for the amount of guests staying and there were always free sunbeds.

Overall I would recommend staying here to a friend but only if the construction work had been completed.

Room Tip: If construction work is going on whilst you are due to stay here request a room away from the swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdefg186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Betel having visited the same time last year. Everything that other reviewers have said about this place, remains true and visually, it's a lovely little oasis. We had booked our room about six months ago to be sure to get the dates we wanted - it gets booked out pretty quickly so book as far ahead as you can. We cannot praise the staff highly enough as they are all welcoming, warm and friendly and will go out of their way to ensure you have the best stay possible. Ms Vang and Tom are great and are on hand to help you book trips or activities. The garden and various seating areas have bloomed even more since last year and the pool area is pretty and relaxing which is nice after a hot day out. The bedrooms are spacious, cool and furnished in a traditional style and have a minibar with drinks which are similarly prices to the local minimart etc.

One thing to note is that there is some neighbouring construction work going on behind a few of the rooms near the pool. With this, when we were at the Betel, an amount of hammering / sawing commenced at 7am and continued throughout the day until 5pm. If you are out and about all day then this shouldn't cause you an issue. however, if you just want to relax in your room, then it may become somewhat irritating.

There are free bikes to use if you want to go to town (5mins) or the beach (15mins). The Betel offer an airport pickup / drop off for circa $18 which is great value. Breakfasts are lovely with a menu of fruits / yogurts / eggs / bacon / bread and fantastic juices. The breakfast area is set in the middle of the gardens and is serene. As the Betel only has 10 rooms, it has a lovely friendly atmosphere and guests all chat to each other freely over breakfast and at the pool about their trips / where they have been etc. which is nice. We were lucky to be staying on the night that the Betel hosted one of its guest dinners and we and 16 other guests enjoyed a fantastic 4/5 course meal with wine, beer, soft drinks with Ms Vang and Tom. It was a lovely evening and shows how generous the team at the Betel are.

There is a reason as to why this little place scores highly on TA and other booking websites and it's really because the people are great. Thanks again, Richard & Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We tried to book a villa with Betel during our previous trips to Hoi An but they were always sold out. This time we hit the jackpot. The staff truly treats guests as if we are staying in their homes. They even threw a party for all the guests and treated us to a meal as good as many we've paid for. We don't usually mingle with other guests at hotels, but the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of this place encouraged us to get to know fellow travelers. The breakfast is delicious (no buffet -- order from a menu), the rooms are clean, well-decorated, and spacious, and the pool and foliage are lovely. Book this place early, and you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 147 in Hoi An
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#42 of 147 in Hoi An
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#89 of 147 in Hoi An
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Boutique Villa
Green Boutique Villa
#56 of 147 in Hoi An
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing