We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Betel Garden Homestay Delivers Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #59 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Betel Garden Homestay Delivers Again”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Just finishing off another wonderful fortnight stay with our friends at BGH. The staff Ms Li, Ms Vang, Mr Dong and Mr Tong are fantastic and made our time relaxing and exploring so nice. This is our second stay at BGH and hopefully not the last. The breakfasts are great with lots of variety and the rooms extremely tidy and very comfortable. Add to this free daily snacks and occasional dinners with guests and we've certainly been spoilt. The staff also are very helpful with tours, transport and local advice. Thanks BGH for making another visit to Hoi An so enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
195
396
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waitara, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Betel Garden was by far our favourite place to stay in Vietnam and we stayed in some lovely hotels along the way. Betel Garden is only a short distance from busy Hoi An town but feels very quiet, private and relaxed. The rooms have a traditional look, own space outside, beautiful, spacious, clean, serviced every day, mini bar stocked, bathrobe, slippers and fresh fruit daily. Free bikes to explore all the little back roads (so cool). Massages, nails etc, no problem the girls come to your room (so relaxing). Betel staff are amazing, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They made us so welcome and even put on a FREE family dinner for all the guests which staff attended and their fantastic chef served some of the most memorable food we had in Vietnam. Thank you Vang, Chong and all the staff, you should be very proud of yourselves and Betel Garden.

Room Tip: Check that photos you are seeing are what you are getting, i.e. standard rooms are not always the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The beautiful garden is the first thing you notice as you enter Betel garden homestay. The lush green plants help to make all the bungalows private so you seem to have your own little oasis. We had a large bungalow which was plenty big enough for our family of 4, the a/c was cold, bathroom large, beds comfy and mini bar adequate. Breakfasts were tasty and made to order and served in their outdoor dining area overlooking their lovely garden. All staff are very friendly and so attentive and answered emails promptly. It was a few minute and few $ taxi ride into town. A good short stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Writing this at the Betel waiting to be picked up having stayed for two weeks.
This hotel/homestay lives up to its reviews. It is by far the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in, the staff are superb and really look after you. The rooms are lovely and have an authentic feel to them.
Its situated amongst other homes so has a nice non touristy feel to it. Loved the dinners given to guests. Also really liked biking it to the beach and town, eating in a different restaurants most nights In truth I can't imagine how this hotel or for that matter Hoi An itself can be topped.
The Betel will make you feel safe, secure, comfortable and cared for so please dont hesitate to book.

Room Tip: All good as far as other guests comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimthefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Exceptional! I cannot understand how anyone could negatively review this hotel unless they had a bad experience! Set away from the busy roads and town this hotel is intimate, charming and very well run. The rooms are lovely and far better than you imagine they will be. Mosquito nets, mini bar, fresh fruit daily, bath robes and toiletries all includes. The pool area is a lovely retreat and very well kept. We borrowed bikes to go to town safely leaving them at the tailors owned by the hotel and also had a manicure/pedicure at the hotel for next to nothing.
The owners made us a lovely meal one night and the food at the restaurant was good quality. It is great value and you get the best of both the town and the quiet countryside. It's a 20 min walk to town or 10 mins along the river by bike or a taxi ride for less than 3$. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

It all appears to be great on paper. Big rooms, spacious bathrooms, nice staff, decent amenities. However, after staying here for a couple nights, you notice the small things that really matter that affect the quality of your stay.
1. The rooms are huge, but some of the decor and furniture is run down, old and needs replacing. You can tell that they've applied "bandaids" to fix things rather than replacing entirely. It appears tacky and cheap.
2. The bathroom needed work. Caulking was all black from wear and tear.
3. Lighting is awful. Dark in all areas.
4. When we had left to get our room made up, they definitely did not clean or wipe anything down. This is a huge pet peeve of mine. The floor was sticky from the day before and there was mosquito killed on the wall that sat there for 2 days and never once cleaned.
5. The pool. Looks nice from the outside, but again, don't know how long it's been since they cleaned it. The water is cloudy and around the lighting I saw green algae build up.
6. Construction. They started banging away at 6-7 AM each morning which was a bit disturbing.
7. The staff was nice but lacked a bit of professionalism. No uniforms, no extra attention to detail compared to my previous experiences at other notepad in Vietnam.

I think the best part of this hotel was the fact that you could rent bikes for free and motorbikes for relatively cheap.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatle, Người quản lý at Betel Garden Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jesse,
Thank you for your warm voice
We are sorry that you didn't ẹnjoyed your staying.
We are sure that we clean the room and swimming pool everyday.
We think your reviews are too much. We don't know why you said that.
We know our room is not modern as others. But we are sure that our room are clean
We always provide the best service for our clients
Thank you very much and We hope to see you next time. we can make you feeling happier than
Best regards
Ms Vang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After the madness and heat in Ho Chi Minh City, we were looking forward to a relaxing time in Hoi An. Betel Garden certainly provided that for us, the welcome chat sitting in the gardens with a cold juice was done at a relaxed pace and immediately made us feel comfortable. When we were taken to our room, we were amazed at how big both the room and the bathroom were, and both were spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is lovely - a lovely, tranquil place to read and swim. The staff were all really friendly, and nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble for them. The family dinners were great and all the nicer for both the food and drink being free. We also had a free river cruise with 2 other guests which was a lovely way to spend a morning. We would definitely recommend Betel Garden highly to anyone visiting Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatle, Người quản lý at Betel Garden Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear our travellers,
We appreciate your feedback .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your staying with us
We hope to serve you again
Best regards
Ms Vang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 155 in Hoi An
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#42 of 155 in Hoi An
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
1.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 155 in Hoi An
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing