We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It REALLY is as good as everyone says!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betel Garden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #67 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It REALLY is as good as everyone says!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed at Betel Garden twice in December and January - the first time (6 days) was such a wonderful experience, we knew we had to come back. This hotel will treat you like you are very special guests, and everyone will go out of their way to make sure your time in Hoi An is everything you hoped for. The location is lovely - peaceful and away from the rush of the town. You can easily walk or bike into town the 1.5km into town, or reception will call you a taxi (which always arrived within 10 minutes), which was only $2-3 to town, or $4 to the beach. The food in the restaurant here is exceptionally good (in a town full of great food) and if you stay 3 or more nights, you'll be invited to one of the fabulous 'family dinners', with a range of traditional food, at no cost. We had 3 fantastic weeks in Vietnam, but Betel Garden was the highlight, and we will be back>

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    136
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
187
377
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were the first guests to stay in their Deluxe Bungalo, so it was perfectly clean. Both the sleeping room and bathroom were spacious and modern. Two adults and two kids would definitely be comfortable. The grounds of the Inn were relaxing and quiet. The owers and staff are professional and helpful with recommendations. The location is ideal if you don't want the noise of being right in Hoi An; it's about a 15 minute walk to town. The food provided at breakfast, as well as the dinner we had there, were acceptable for Inn food. Having never stayed in Hoi An, I can't compare it to anything there. However, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it Western travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

How does one describe the most astounding hotel experience ever? As veteran travelers, we have stayed in everything from five-star resorts… to no star, sorry we stayed shacks.

But Betel Garden is something that cannot fit into any of the standard categories. I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe the experience. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like treasured guests. They were delighted to see us and happy to help with anything we needed. It is not a traditional home stay, in that the rooms are not like the US version of a B and B, instead the semi-detached cottages are strategically nestled in a garden so as to create a very private feel. The gardens are full of fruit trees, vines, and flowers, all tended brilliantly by Mr. An, along with various song birds, and startling appearances by chickens and an out of tune rooster, make the grounds a lovely place to let your mind wander.

Of course like every hotel they can book your tours, direct you to good shopping, cooking schools, and historic walks. But this family and the staff they employ (which seem like an extension of our host family) go beyond that. They are warm and accommodating; they don’t push, merely suggesting ideas, as they genuinely want to help you enjoy your stay. If you choose, you don’t have to do a thing, but sit in the garden, read a book, or wander the streets on your own, but take advantage of some of their ideas, you can’t go wrong here. There are no vendors trying to sell you anything. The hotel is situated in a very quiet neighborhood but very accessible to town, a 10-minute walk or a few minutes on the free bicycles available for all the guests. The beach is a short 3km walk or ride as well.

There is a small restaurant, which is tended by a delightful woman, creating the most amazing banana flower salad, soups and prawns you would ever want to eat. The complementary breakfast selections satisfy both western and eastern tastes.
You need never leave the grounds, but do, because the historic buildings, the river, the shopping and the food in Hoi An are extraordinary. Stay longer than the 3 days I’ve seen others suggest. It is a lovely small city with lovely people; you may get tired of being asked to “look in my shop”, but the intent is genuine, so be gracious and say no thanks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

How does one describe the most astounding hotel experience ever? As veteran travelers, we have stayed in everything from five-star resorts… to no star, sorry we stayed shacks.

But Betel Garden is something that cannot fit into any of the standard categories. I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe the experience. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like treasured friends. They were delighted to see us and happy to help with anything we needed. It is not a traditional home stay, in that the rooms are not like the US version of a B and B, instead the semi-detached cottages are strategically nestled in a garden so as to create a very private feel. The gardens are full of fruit trees, vines, and flowers, all tended brilliantly by Mr. An, along with various song birds, and startling appearances by chickens and an out of tune rooster, make the grounds a lovely place to let your mind wander.

Of course like every hotel they can book your tours, direct you to good shopping, cooking schools, and historic walks. But this family and the staff they employ (which seem like an extension of our host family) go beyond that. They are warm and accommodating; they don’t push, merely suggesting ideas, as they genuinely want to help you enjoy your stay. If you choose, you don’t have to do a thing, but sit in the garden, read a book, or wander the streets on your own, but take advantage of some of their ideas, you can’t go wrong here. The hotel is situated in a very quiet neighborhood but very accessible to town, a 10-minute walk or a few minutes on the free bicycles available for all the guests. The beach is a short 3km walk or ride as well.

There is a small restaurant, which is tended by a delightful woman, creating the most amazing banana flower salad, soups and prawns you would ever want to eat. The complementary breakfast selections satisfy both western and eastern tastes.
You need never leave the grounds, but do, because the historic buildings, the river, the shopping and the food in Hoi An are extraordinary. Stay longer than the 3 days I’ve seen others suggest. It is a lovely small city with lovely people. The touts in town are just trying to make a living. Be gracious, and say no thank you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We found out about the Betel Garden homestay via tripadvisor and weren't let down. The family and staff were incredibly welcoming, the service amazing and the food was some of the best we had in the whole of Vietnam. The homestay was beautiful, tidy and incredibly relaxing - so much so that we ended up spending 5 nights there. We'd definitely recommend that everyone, regardless of age (other guests included couples, young and old families, single travellers) stay here if you get the chance. The prices were very reasonable and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapsanddrools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

I paid $45/night for a deluxe room with 2 beds (queen, double) over Christmas in December 2010. Located a km from Hoi An old town on a quiet sidestreet, the homestay consists of 6 spacious bungalows set in a compound isolated from the outside world by trees, bushes, and ivy-covered walls. Koi ponds, songbirds kept in suspended cages, and lights strung from the trees at night make this a serene spot by day, and almost magical by night. The excellent restaurant serves meals upon request in your room or on an elevated terrace in the main garden. Choices at breakfast (free for me) are plentiful, ranging from omelettes to noodle soup to pancakes and fresh fruit.

My spotless room contained a canopied bed, an excellent mattress, was decorated with local handicrafts, TV with several English channels (HBO, ESPN, BBC, Cinemax, etc), a very reasonably priced wet bar; fresh fruit was brought to the room each morning. The bathroom provided excellent hot water and pressure, and included both a shower and a tub (and a bidet).

Free Internet, laundry service and bicycles are provided. The homestay will also arrange tours, but as is the case with its restaurant, does not pressure you to use these services (this is extremely rare in Vietnam). It will even bring a masseuse to your room.

What made this accommodation so special was the effort made by the family/staff to make the guests feel welcome. On Christmas eve, the staff hosted a buffet dinner for the 11 guests, complete with a program of musical performances and games. A keyboard player was brought in and taped music was interwoven with songs performed by the staff and guests. Gifts were given to the guests and everyone participated in humorous games and competitions (e.g., gift wrapping with one hand).

I chose this homestay based on the almost unbelievable recommendations on Trip Advisor; it surpassed even these. I count this as one of the most memorable experiences I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelindave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed at quite a few hotels on our travels with the majority being $120 per night and this homestay was by far thebest service I received! The family is so
Polite and will go out of their way to help (free of charge). The room
Also includes free laundry, Internet, and a family meal! The meal is beautiful and great quality! Once you get your laundry done make sure you take it out of the laundry bag or they will just wash them again when they clean the room! The bedroom is cute and quirky! The beds are a little hard though and it took me forever to work out the lights! Overall I highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinkingoutloud121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.3 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Ruby  Villa
Ruby Villa
#129 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#62 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing