We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Average Hotel”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Rainbow Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #140 of 343 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for six nights while in DA Nang. We first booked a room with a river view which appeared to be quite nice however the shower was the type that had a showerhead in the centre of the bathroom with no enclosure. This would have meant living with a wet bathroom for six days. We were moved to a large room facing the back of the hotel which had a musty smell but a decent shower. The room otherwise was at best average. The hotel delivered breakfast to our room which was very poor in quality. I believe they order in the food which arrives cold and poorly prepared. We declined breakfast for the rest of our stay. We are not picky eaters. The hotel staff were very good and accommodating. Also the hotel location is extremely good in DA Hang right on the river which is ideal for everything you want to see or do in the city. We really enjoyed our time in the city and would consider this hotel again minus the breakfast and would select a different room. Not the worst place but not the best....average.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The room is simple, clean & comfortable. The decor is modern and more elegant than the price tag. Bathroom is well presented & stocked. Yes, the shower is a bit splashy. However, if you can't deal with that, pay more.

The reception staff organised some local travel. Hoi An was 500k for a return trip taking 4 hours. It's probably better to stay in Hoi An longer because it's a charming place. 900k to My Son for the day. If you have a few people going, that's pretty reasonable. They also sorted out laundry, which we desperately needed. The receptionists do speak some English (1 quite well). It's better than expected in a non-English speaking country.

We had a back room so didn't really get any street noise. It's Vietnam, so even a quiet place is noisy & the scooters are on the horn constantly. If you want a bit of peace, in short, visit another country. You won't get it here.

$25 gets you a clean room with a not uncomfortable bed & a decent breakfast of your choice. It's not perfect but my expectations were far exceeded. If you want to stay at the Westin in an English speaking country, it'll cost you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Ended up here late after finding cockroaches in the hotel we originally booked and were given a room with a nice view straight away. When asking for the train to hue, owner helped us out by getting train hours and even arranging ticket for us the next day. Overall very pleased with service and room, good value option for a stay over in danang

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katleenverhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach QLD Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We read about this hotel in Lonely Planet, I'll be writing to them suggesting they remove the hotel from there recommended list. We got a front room overlooking the river which you may think "great" but it was noisy, the traffic beep beeps all night, there a bar next door that goes into the wee small hours, none of which you may say is the hotels fault I agree but the rooms walls were filthy, the bed was like a rock, the shower is not confined so the water goes all over the bathroom leaving the floor wet and slippery all night. The breakfast which they bring to your room is a greasy omelette and huge Baguette roll. Tea with condensed milk despite asking over and over for fresh milk. The male staff member was nice but the women were dragons to say the least. Really look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the noise, if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheppards28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Nang hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed 1 night here and booked 1 double bed room with river view and 1 family room with city view(looking at apartments). VERY HAPPY with both rooms but the river views room is FANTASTIC!!! Booked directly with the hotel and Miss Anh is GREAT in communicating back and forth and VERY PROMPT in replying email. Location is DEFINITELY UNBEATABLE! Since our flight is in the morning, we requested breakfast(make to order) served at 7 am. To our surprise, the owner offered us a complimentary ride to airport for the 6 of us.

Room Tip: Request for River Views as the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starofjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on the Lonely Planet review. The receptionist spoke a limited amount of English and showed us a room that was acceptable, but not great. We decided to take it and then it began pouring outside...as we stood there looking at the water pouring through the window of the room, we asked for another room. The reception woman became quite irritated with us, but moved us one floor down to a little nicer room....however the room was having the same problem. So we decided that it would be best to move to another hotel. When we asked to move, she became irate and said we would have to pay if we "cancelled". Since she already had our passports, there was nothing we could do! She was horrible to us. We had no choice but to stay. They cleaned up the water, tightened the windows and changed the bedding. Then there was the noise....rowdy boys all night and early morning. The hotel is very echoey. I had to call the desk many times late at night to ask them to take care of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhpaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We scored a river side room with a great view, especially at night. Our room was comfortable but pretty generic...white walls with no pictures. We found the staff to be very helpful. Our breakfast, basic but good, was presented to us in the ground floor room under the reception area which was fine since we were the only people down there at the time and the motorbike parked next to us didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
New Moon Hotel
New Moon Hotel
#42 of 343 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuong Tam Hotel
Phuong Tam Hotel
#65 of 343 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoang Linh Hotel
Hoang Linh Hotel
#63 of 343 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blossom July Hotel
Blossom July Hotel
#131 of 343 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
AVORA Hotel Danang
AVORA Hotel Danang
#8 of 343 in Da Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Da Nang Hotel
Luxury Da Nang Hotel
#175 of 343 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: 220 Bach Dang | Hai Chau District, Da Nang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Vietnam/Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing