We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressively beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #1 of 270 Hotels in Da Nang
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressively beautiful”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The resort is different from all others in Vietnam. It's beautiful, charming and exceptional. Appreciate front office staffs, especially Mr.Viet Phuong who was so kind and helpful. All our familly enjoyed our holiday in Intercontinental Danang.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear sunflowerhanoi

Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind words about our resort. It's our pleasure to create memorable holidays in an outstanding hotel and our team really appreciate your compliments.

We hope that we'll be able to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    321
    70
    36
    24
See reviews for
778
1,079
86
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is probably the best 5* resort you can find in South East Asia.

Many people have written good things about this resort, and I fully agree with the reviews.

This is one of the latest addition in Danang, having completed some 2 years ago. The properly is just amazing, with rooms built alongside the slope. Highest level of the rooms are closest to checkin and the restaurant that serves breakfast (this is another surprise, try to go early and get a table in the balcony). Vertical movement from this Heaven level to the beach is by electric gondola.

Beach is unspoilt with crystal clear water. As the resort is surrounded by a peninsula, the water is calm. We would kayak to 30 metres from the beach and rest there to sunbath. During one morning, we also spotted a rainbow in the sky connecting 2 clouds.

Food in the restaurants is not cheap, but you would expect in a hotel of this category.

The only problem is that this area of the country gets hit by storms in the summer months, so watch when you go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty_M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Misty_M8

Many thanks for your review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your taking the time to review us and we'll pass your comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A quick get away from HCMC with two beautiful women ... we were blown away by the craftsmanship, design quality, exceptional service and natural beauty enhanced by skillful landscaping. Quite and peaceful. The service from arrival at the airport lounge to delivery of bags, assistance through checkin, and the airport lounge inside security is what 5 stars is all about and seldom actually achieves. The best Intercon I have experienced.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Charles O,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor ! we are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed your recent stay in our Resort.

We look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, to the place "Where Myth Meets Luxury".

Best Regards,

Iain McCormack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful resort in June 2014 for 10 days (6/10/14 to 6/24/14). We loved every minutes we spent at this resort. We have traveled extensively and have stayed at many beautiful resorts in the world. This resort is simply the best in our opinion. We love the design of the resort, a wonderful blend of modern luxury and surrounding nature. The resort was built on a hillside and blended in with the mountain. There are four levels in this resort (Heaven- highest level, Sky, Earth, and Sea- lowest level). You can use the Nam Tram (similar to the funicular) to go up and down these levels. It does not matter what level you stay, every room has a wonderful ocean view. The resort is very clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed at the Villa by the Beach. The villa is smartly designed with its private pool and outdoor shower. We are only a few steps away from the private beach. We love everything about this villa (highly recommended- well worth the money if you want the best). We really enjoyed the food and the service at the beautiful La Maison restaurant (a must try!). The resort is beautiful, however, the staff here is even more beautiful. Everyone we encounter is very courteous and helpful. From our private butler Huong, to the house keeping staff, to the Nam Tram operator, to the restaurant staff, to the Club Lounge staff, everyone always greets us with a warm, genuine, and beautiful smile. The management team has done an outstanding job with staff training on customer service. We can tell that the management team here really cares about its customers. They are always there when you need them. And they are very quick to resolve any issues we encounter. A big thank you to the management team and all of the staff at Sun Peninsula for making our trip memorable. A special thanks to Jason Min, Lien Tran, An Nguyen, and Huong Le for your extra touches and caring gestures. At the end of our vacation, we did not want to leave this paradise. We have made so many new friends and felt so at home here. We will definitely come back to this resort in the near future. We hope to see all of our friends again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Every room offers beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Rosie N,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review ! We are delighted to acknowledge that you really enjoyed our design, our pristine beach, and friendly staff.

Also, we have passed your recognition to our staff members and they would definitely like to express their appreciation to you.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, to the place "Where Myth Meets Luxury".

Best Regards,

Iain McCormack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First there is the landscape. Who would build a resort here in his right mind? No access roads, steep slopes with lots of boulders, size of a refridgerator.
The owners put in over 220 million USD to get the resort up to the highest standards. It has a real cable car (made in New Zealand), it's own executive lounge (no kids under 11), barefoot bar and restaurant, completely private beach, and its own 'maison 1888' restaurant with Michelin star.
All is designed consistently, and a small army of landscapers ensure there is nothing left to complain to the eye of the perfectionist.

We ordered a suite that was half outside half inside, all with oval shaped tables, dining facility and a magnificent view over the bay of monkeys. The rooms do have doors that are all 4 meters high. The designers chose not to work with tiles at all in the rooms and suites, so in the shower, room for the towels is carved into the walls.

Transport can either go 2 ways: with buggy or by foot, a real workout. Needless to say that things like beds, amenities, room service are near to perfection. Kids club... clean , and even here architecture and design. You may need to stay a full week here to discover all the design twists and beautiful spots. Yes, it is in a remote place, but this resort (as one of the few) does never invite the guest to even want to go outside, There is so much to enjoy inside.
'will be back'

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for a suite... 'earth' allows you to walk down to the beach in no t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear PaulZ z,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor ! We are deligthed to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Resort. Every detail you mentioned: the views, culinary, facilities and especially the team make InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a unique property indeed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again in a not too distant future for experiencing another memorable stay.

Best Regards,

Iain McCormack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This resort appears to have been built with no budget constraints at all. Opulence and luxury prevail and the wow factor is present in bucketfuls. Its location is wonderfully remote and quiet and the views are stunning, perfect for true relaxation. The hotel, an architectural wonder, appears to cling precariously to the side of Monkey Mountain, the gardens are full of colour, the grounds beautifully manicured and the picturesque beach beckons.
After a leisurely check-in with the usual welcome drink and cold towel we were introduced to our private butler and taken to our villa in a golf buggy. Our villa was amazing with its own heated infinity pool overhanging the rocks and overlooking the beach and bay. Inside was a sumptuous bedroom, comfortable daybed area, fantastic bathtub, indoor and outdoor showers and plenty of space. We were so thrilled with the accommodation that our camera worked overtime .
Unfortunately, during our stay (April) we experienced bad weather including fog, low temperatures and heavy rain. Our balcony offered no protection at all from the rain and so all the sun lounger cushions got completely drenched, so much so that in order for them to have any chance of drying we had to take them into the villa one night. On the other hand, when the sun came out there was no where to sit in the sun as the balcony was completely shaded by a slatted roof and so we were forced to move our sunbeds under the outdoor showers, this being the only place in full sun. These issues made me agree with a previous review which states that the design has triumphed over functionality.
Other niggles with the villa were maintenance issues:
our TV had to be re-programmed - resolved
we had no hot water one day- resolved
our bathroom had no electricity one evening - resolved
a screeching noise woke us up every morning at 4am (probably a water pump under the villa) -not resolved
the blind behind the outdoor swing was so knotted up that it could not be raised - we resolved that ourselves by untying all the rope and retying it
the coffee machine did not work - we never reported this as we were somewhat fed up with maintenance men in the room
not enough wardrobe space and very few coat hangers
no plastic glasses for use by the pool
Now I come to the room's most annoying feature - privacy. I would have thought that a Private Villa would offer the pinnacle in privacy - far from it. The villa was adorned with magnificent windows all round and accessed by 80+ steps. Staff members needed to descend the steps and approach the villa door before seeing our 'do not disturb' sign. By that time they could not avoid seeing completely into our villa. We wish to make no complaint against any member of the housekeeping staff as they were all very conscientious, hard-working and polite. The fault lay with the 'do not disturb' signalling and caused us to feel very 'disturbed' as we could not walk round inside the villa without clothes on even after showering for fear of causing embarrassment to approaching staff. The only alternative was to have the curtains closed at all times and there was certainly no skinny dipping in the pool for us. An arrangement where staff could see the 'do not disturb' sign at the top of the steps would easily solve this issue. We also like to leave our windows open even when we have gone out. We were dismayed to see staff entering our villa while we were enjoying breakfast on the beach despite our 'do not disturb' sign being illuminated and closing the windows.
What we did like about our villa and there was plenty to like:
fantastic private pool - with such bad weather the beach was very uninviting and both of the resort pools are unheated and short on sun loungers.
lovely toiletries
fantastic bed, ooh so comfortable
good wifi in the room
wine cellar in room
vast day bed.
plenty of quality towels
very romantic bath tub
great views
With regard to other aspects of the resort, we enjoyed dining at the Citroen restaurant where we enjoyed both Vietnamese and Western dishes. Sitting at the conical outdoor tables was unique and fun while we were spoilt with excellent service. We would particularly like to mention May (spelling?) for her friendliness and fantastic service.
The Maison 1888 restaurant deserves a special mention as the food was divine, the wine list superb and the setting very luxurious. Here we would like to compliment Thy (spelling?) for making the whole evening extremely memorable for all the right reasons. She is a wonderful ambassador for both the restaurant and hotel and the most accomplished member of staff we met during our stay.
We also enjoyed room service on our terrace and breakfasts and lunches at the Citroen and Barefoot restaurants. We found the breakfast service in the IC Club Lounge extremely slow and the choices limited. We were not aware that we could order from the buffet next door and had we known this it might have improved our experience.
The IC Club Lounge, however, was a real treat in the evenings with its spectacular views from the outdoor terrace. Again, the service was slow and on one occasion my Husband had to help open a bottle of sparkling wine as a new staff member was having problems doing so. But, hey, the setting was so good it really didn't matter. We never ventured up for tea or refreshments during the day but they were available. This was also the only place that we ever saw any member of management who in the few minutes that we communicated lavished praise on the hotel, informed us that we were in paradise and spoke negatively about the next hotel we were due to visit. Not very professional.
During our stay we shared the resort with a huge conference which we think altered the atmosphere of the resort. A huge tent was erected and disassembled on the beach causing quite an eyesore, music played until late and the spa bookings were over thirty minutes late owing to conference members turning up late for appointments. Also, the Barefoot restaurant was closed on some evenings for private functions. To be fair all guests who were not associated with the conference were invited to use the IC lounge which was quite a treat.
This resort has huge potential, the design is breathtaking, the local staff very dedicated and we experienced no problems with communicating in English. Every member of staff really tried to make conversation and we appreciated their efforts immensely. Our only issue regarding service was the over enthusiasm of our butler. As soon as we woke he was waiting outside our villa to escort us to breakfast, after which he would escort us back to the villa. He informed us repeatedly that he had made a restaurant reservation for us and seemed to be constantly hovering. He was very polite and respectful but was trying too hard to please. We go away to spend quality time together and so found this 'nannying' a bit too intrusive. It may work for others but part of his training should be knowing when to back off. At other hotels where we have used private butlers they have been an asset rather than an irritation.
To wind up I would like to say that we had a good stay and would recommend the resort to people who seek lavish surroundings, plenty of activities and a choice of bars and restaurants. For us the weather wasn't kind and the villa's lack of privacy and numerous maintenance issues were serious negatives. The staff and hotel design deserve 6* however.

Room Tip: The private villas have their own heated pools, a real bonus if the weather is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear heb999,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed your stay in our Resort.

Nevertheless I would like to present our apologies for the issues you’d encountered during your vacation. We are renovating our different building for the 1st quarter of 2014 in order to be able to provide the same "wow" effect as the opening.

And I hope you would understand that we’ve always tried our best to provide the same service quality for all our guests as usual, even during a private event being held in our resort. Please rest assured that your comments regarding the lack of privacy and the invasive "nannying" from your butler are well-noted, we'll do our best to avoid this kind of issue in the future.

In addition, we have passed your recognition to La Maison 1888 staff member as well as F&B Department and they would definitely like to express their appreciation to you.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future, to the place "Where Myth Meets Luxury", for another memorable stay.

Best Regards,

Iain McCormack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The new Intercon Da Nang is amazing. Designed by the same individual that delivered some of the best Four Seasons resorts in Asia I believe, and it shows in all the attention to detail. The hotel embodies Vietnamese modern style, but importantly links ones stay with visiting the styles seen in Hoi An, the main attraction of the area, just some 30 mins down the road.

Competition? Well if you like dark, dated, snobby, a very limited number of F&B venues at Paris prices, then the Nam Hai is still for you.

My only feedback is the staff are still learning at the Intercon. But they so try hard, and do it with a smile. So patience from time to time is a good thing.Otherwise I think we can expect to see the Intercon Da Nang well taking the LHW award for the best accommodation in the area soon enough.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are great. Get one near the main reception area for amazing views of the bay an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doggy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Doggy88,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay in our Resort. The room, the views, culinary, amenities, facilities and especially the team make InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a unique property indeed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, to the place "Where Myth Meets Luxury".

Best Regards,

Iain McCormack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#11 of 270 in Da Nang
1,709 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#27 of 270 in Da Nang
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Property: InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Da Nang
#1 Business Hotel in Da Nang
#1 Spa Hotel in Da Nang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Da Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Da Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort Vietnam/Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing