We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach holiday in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #1 of 275 Hotels in Da Nang
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Beach holiday in Asia”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We decided to book 4 nights and looked online and chose the 2 Bedroom Seaside villa on the rocks. That way our 2 kids(11 and 16) could have their own room downstairs. The room was brilliant with the parents room overlooking our private pool which rested right on the rocks with spectacular views out onto the ocean. Due to a booking conflict we were moved on our last night to 2 seaside pool villas on the beach which consists of a one bedroom villa and private pool right on the beach. (We actually preferred this room as it was closer to the beach and access to the restaurants.)

Included in the package was a private butler which we thought was just a gimmick but Ty Na proved herself to be a gem always anticipating our needs and ensuring we enjoyed ourselves - we were given a mobile phone so we could contact her at any time - we wish we could have brought her home!

We had access to the club lounge which made breakfast very relaxed and enjoyable away from the main crowd and we also liked the evening cocktails there. The kids loved the beach activities with the kayaks and boards and the long pool was very nice. We took a trip to Hoi An for dinner one night but was glad to scurry back to the quiet of the resort. I would thoroughly recommend this place to stay for a relaxed beach holiday in a nice secluded setting.

I notice some reviews are critical of the service but having lived in Asia for 16 years you know to manage your expectations. We found the service was fine; the staff always friendly but the real reason to come here is the location. On holiday in this part of the world you have to go with the flow and understand this is how things are otherwise you will start stressing yourself out!

In summary It beats every other Asian beach holiday we had been on before.

Room Tip: If you are going to splash out - Seaside Villa on the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armstroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Armstroe,

thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a great time with us and will certainly let Butler Ms. Ty Na know that she did a good job.

Looking forward to welcoming all of you back to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula soon!

Sincerely,


Patrick Maurer
Director of Quality and Continuous Improvements
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,153
    327
    74
    37
    24
See reviews for
820
1,108
86
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

High expectations, but disappointing stay
We stayed 4 nights at this property as part of a trip through Asia in August. While the resort is truly beautiful in terms of its design and location we cannot recommend it. Main reasons are:
1) The sound proofing of the rooms is very poor due to thin door/walls and the hard floors inside and outside. You can hear everything: your neighbours talking/ using the bathroom/ returning to their room late at night/ leaving the room early/ etc. This is maybe acceptable for a hostel, but not for such a property.
2) While the staff is very friendly and tries hard, trying hard unfortunately does not replace a proper hospitality course and international experience. This is most evident in the food and beverage outlets where quality of the service and products is a hit and miss (simple individual requests, like coffee without sugar or salad without onions, are not met the first and sometimes not even the second time/ child meals delivered long after adult meals/ dishes under- or overcooked/ etc.). Against the background of probably the highest prices amongst comparable hotels in Vietnam (e.g. pizza at the beach level cafe 25 USD), this is simply unacceptable. The best service and food quality can be found in the French restaurant “La Maison”, but expect at least 150 USD per person. While the restaurant is marketed by the hotel staff as 3 star Michelin, it isn’t (Michelin doesn’t rate restaurants in Vietnam).
3) The beach level, including the open restaurants, the swimming pool and the beach itself was full of small flies - non-biting though -, but still very annoying.
Last but not least, hotel staff seems to be so convinced of their property that no one ever bothered to ask how our stay is/was, including at check-out. During the same trip we also stayed at the Hyatt Regency Danang. While this also not a faultless property we would clearly prefer it for any future trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yannic-fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that you loved the design of our Resort, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the service. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your valuable comments and shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.
We would like to let you know that our staff have been well informed and trained that La Maison 1888 is not a 3 Michelin starred restaurant, as you’ve mention yourself in your review, Michelin doesn’t rate restaurants in Vietnam. We do have the culinary legend, Mr. Michel Roux, the longest standing 3 Michelin starred chef outside of France, to help this restaurant. Nonetheless, we will make sure to communicate this message to all our staff once more time.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Best regards,
Grace Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Intercontinental Danang this May for our family trip. The first sight of the resort was truly breathtaking as the whole area was something I have never seen before. The resort was nestled in a secluded, mystic bay area(monkey bay), and the modern, extravagant yet zen-like design of the hotel was somehow seamlessly harmonized with surrounding nature.
Our room was in Heaven level far away from funicular. The room was very quiet with a great view of the ocean. One of our favorite time during our stay was listening to our favorite tunes in the room with iphone speaker dock in the closet. We very much enjoyed swimming at the long pool and having afternoon snacks and drinks at the long bar. Although I did not have any problem finding chairs by the pool, there seemed to be limited number of chairs in pool area.
Our only complaint was that many parts(including rooms) in the resort were not wheelchair accessible with multiple set of stairs. Overall it is my top choice Danang hotels for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vr770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear vr770,
Thank you for your kind words in this review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at the resort.
We hope you'll come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

a week after coming back from a 4d3n birthday surprise trip for my wife, i can't still shake off how dreamy intercon danang was. just a good spot to celebrate, unwind and just be lost in a place so very different from your usual fare. overall, the resort is a toast to bill bensley's vision and then souped up by the intercontinental touch of care and service. just utterly lovely.

the minute you step out of the curb and greeted by the team, you know that this is going to a good one. My who took care of us until we were ushered to our suite is one of the better meet/greet experience so far i have experienced. the corner suite on the heaven level was super luxe, expansive with a view to relish. but i must raise issue with how IC seem to be slipping in the maintenance of some in rooms items - spots on curtains, stains on desk, a long blonde hair on the dark floor, missing bottle opener. small things really but these small details help separate the good from the best.

we loved exploring the IC danang grounds. a must do is the tram - from 'heaven' to 'sea'. we did try out all their restaurants. totally enjoyed citron, barefoot cafe and la maison. my wife gave a thumbs up to the their harnin heritage spa. it was superb to vegge out in their pool on top of the long bar. i can't say enough how the architecture and design of the place seem to found the right partner with a smiling, gracious staff. the IC team made the best effort to help me celebrate my wife's birthday.

the weekend we were in welcomed a wedding party (2 i think they said). from 'heaven' you can see the beautiful set up. the after party noise goes up so much so that we can hear some songs (and futile attempts to sing!) from our level. the clincher was trying to relax on the beach the following day. it seems the wedding party had cordoned off a section of the beach, celebrating to raucous techno music. bleh. lost my holiday mood.

we did a day trip to the UNESCO site called hoi an. a must do if you are in danang. get the 10 am shuttle and then stay on till 5 when the bus heads back. there are many restaurants to try but we went to a recommended one called morning glory. 2 thumbs up. it was actually going back that messed up the experience. we were herded to an obviously rented bus to go back to the hotel. the driver was horribly reckless with a few close calls. IC should be meticulous in checking agencies representing their brand.

it could have been 'excellent' for me but there are small lapses in details.

Room Tip: corner room suite. choose heaven level as it offers an expansive view of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dantipolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear dantipolo,
Many thanks for this detailed review. It is great to hear that our resort and service was to your liking as we strive to provide our guests with the best holiday experience possible. Your comments are well noted, and we will do all that's necessary to do better in the future.
We hope you will come back and give us another chance to impress you in a place where 'myth meets lyxury'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

All I can say is WOW. Today we went to the cooking class and the experience was fantastic. To spend time with these magnificent chefs in such an intimate environment is a once in a lifetime experience. It was one of those unforgettable moments that I will treasure for a very long time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Andrew L,
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at La Maison. I'm sure the chefs will be delighted to hear this as well.
We hope you'll come and back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is fabulous. The staff here are polite, kind, and friendly. The structure of the hotel is magnificent but, most importantly, its staff that make this place special. They go out of their way to make sure that you are feeling comfortable and relaxed. This is a true heaven! If you are looking for a holiday destination in South East Asia, this place is for you! To make it more special and unforgettable, treat yourselves with its club status. You will not regret!

Room Tip: Any room is good here. They have club cars 24/7 and a cable car running up and down. It is a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasTsuchiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ThomasTsuchiya,
Many thanks for writing this review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is situated in a bay of its own, with beautiful views in every direction. The design of the hotel is amazing, the rooms have beautiful vies, the service is excellent and the dining is outstanding. We were there for 3 nights (only) and ate only at the Citron and Barefoot restaurants (one on the mountain (top of the cable car), one at sea level, and they were both great. Reserve one of the private balconies at the Citron restaurant at sunset or even breakfast for a very special experience. Words cannot describe the beauty of the resort. Note that It is totally removed from any civilization and about 25 drive from the City of Danang. It was a perfect timeout from two and a half weeks of traveling in Vietnam. All rooms are absolutely beautiful in design and ultra comfortable. Real 5 Star +.

Room Tip: We were in connecting rooms 308-309, on "Sky Level". They were quite close to the cable ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... D, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Michal I,
Thank you for this review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.
Please come and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#40 of 275 in Da Nang
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#26 of 275 in Da Nang
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Property: InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Da Nang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Da Nang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Da Nang
#1 Business Hotel in Da Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Da Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort Vietnam/Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing