We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, chilled out hotel.”
Review of Chu Hotel Danang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chu Hotel Danang
Ranked #6 of 411 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel with super comfy beds, clean rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast is delicious and served till 12 which is amazing. It's a bit out of the main city but nice and quiet with the beach a 30 second walk away. Hot water in a very big nice shower did run out, after 2 consecutive long showers so again no real complaint there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Location:
The first thing is that this hotel's location seems great on paper- near the beach! The problem is, it is still usually quite cloudy and a little cold in the winter travel season so you may or may not be able to fully enjoy the beach depending on your timing. The hotel is near nothing else. The selection for food is also a bit low, vietnamese or otherwise. There is a nice Aussie pub a few steps away, a decent seafood restaurant, Paul a short walk away and Tam's surf shop a few streets back (we tried to go-twice- and it appeared to be closed both times). Not much else is walkable. If you stay more than a few days, get used to taking taxis to dinner or make use of delivery services. Taxis to the city from the hotel will run 75,000-90,000 vnd. It adds up taking this taxi so keep this cost in mind.

Pros:
-Staff is incredibly considerate, kind and speak very good English as well as some staff speak Japanese. They helped us with a number of situations and gave very good advice.
-Very comfortable pillowtop mattress. I loved coming back from a long day and resting here.
-Sitting area near the ocean view windows (if you select this option).
-Complimentary water, cheap minibar
-Great restaurant attached
-Breakfast was more than enough and the largest I had at any of the budget/mid-range hotels I stayed at in Vietnam. You get a plate of fruits in addition to your breakfast and the staff gave us traditional Vietnamese jellies in beautiful shapes and colors for New Years.
-Free transport from the airport to the hotel which was most appreciated.
-There are always taxis parked right outside the hotel, Mai Linh usually which are very reliable taxis.

Cons:
-No electric kettle provided (though you can rent it) as well as no coffee/tea
-No safe
-Room had a musty smell among arrival. Turning on the dehumidifier eventually took away the smell, however.
-Noisy hallways and a light street noise - was ok for us but may be troublesome for light sleepers
-Would be nice to provide room service but not necessary.
-My partner was also surprised there were no restaurant menus provided in the rooms. I also think this would be a good idea for the hotel to increase business. I also think that added Japanese to the menus could be beneficial as more than half of the other guests were Japanese.
-Hotel tour selection is a little lacking, only expensive options.
-The biggest downside was that there was basically no hot water in the shower during our 4 night stay. I timed it once and got 1 minute and 30 seconds of truly hot water, it was just cold water about 4 min in. It was unbearable at times, honestly. I tried taking it at both morning and night thinking we were hitting peak times but it never seemed to matter. For a family staying in this hotel, I don't even know how everyone could get their showers in one day.


We decided to take a taxi to Hoi An to enjoy the day at our own pace. It cost 325,000 dong one way. Of course, this will vary a little depending on your drop off point. The way back it cost us 385,000 dong so that gives you a good range of what to expect. The hotel does offer private car services round trip for 500,000 but keep in mind you are limited to only 5 hours usage but it's a really good deal for a short trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lana190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The view from our room was something special...beach 50 metres away looking onto the mountains and sea beyond. Great little hotel in general, but will probably prefer to stay in Hoi An on our next visit as Danang itself was not as charming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a short 2-night stay at Chu Hotel. Good location as it is near the beach with nice view. Nice decor, clean and the room size is acceptable. Service is up to standard. Just the water supply at bathroom is a bit weak and hot water is not that stable. The food is nice even though there is no buffet breakfast provided. But it is appreciated that they offer a free one way ride to the airport when I check out.

A bit unpleasant at the surrounding area because of the smell of burning wood something. But the overall experience is still okay.

Room Tip: Choose the room with 2 windows to have a feeling of boarder space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericlisathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our family need to stay one day in Danang before going to Hoi An for Christmas holiday at a homestay. We have choosen Chu Hotel in Danang because it’s closed to the beach and convinient to go to Hoi An. But it too expensive for a budget midle-range hotel. We have to pay around $US42 for a small room with torn and dirty bed sheets. It smelt so bad. It had a very unpleasant smell as it was in use a few days earlier.
Construction works in progress also make the hotel very messy and noisy, although the external architecture seems pleasant.
Da Nang is a beautiful city with a long coastline of white sand. We were very happy visiting Marble moutains and Monkey moutain before leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms on contruction side are very messy and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John1965Vista2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The complimentary pick up from the airport to the hotel was much appreciated as the hotel is by the seaside quite a distance from the city which made my stay relaxing. Unfortunately as it was the
rainy season, I could not enjoy the beach or the hotel's terrace.
My room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooks the beach but it would have been better if there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room as most Western travellers like a cup of tea ( not Chinese tea) first thing in the morning. The location is quiet but there was building noise
coming from next door in the daytime as the hotel is expanding.
The Manager and his staff are very friendly and helpful and interact well with the guests.
I have a couple of comments though. When breakfast was served, the bread was placed on a saucer instead of a side plate and another time, I noticed a member of staff bringing the bread out to the dining area with her hand which is unprofessional. I hope the manager will take this on board and rectify this. Otherwise, this is a very nice hotel and I would be happy to return and also to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjaywalker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have not stayed at the Chu as I live very close by. But because I do live near it, I often stop for a meal and usually dine outside. The food is always fresh and ample and you have a decent selection of Vietnamese as well as western food. Prices are reasonable and the staff, including Mr. Chu are attentive, polite and friendly as can be.If you are in the neighborhood and want to dine directly across from the beach in one of the nicest hotels in Da Nang, dine at Chu. This is a very good place to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
1.5 mi away
Sofia Boutique Hotel Da Nang
2.2 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#8 of 291 in Da Nang
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
King's Finger Hotel
King's Finger Hotel
#30 of 291 in Da Nang
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Beach Danang Hotel & Resort
2.2 mi away
Sanouva Danang Hotel
Sanouva Danang Hotel
#12 of 291 in Da Nang
865 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brilliant Hotel
Brilliant Hotel
#16 of 291 in Da Nang
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chu Hotel Danang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chu Hotel Danang

Address: 02-04-06 An Thuong 1 Street, Ngu Hanh Son Dist, Da Nang, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chu Hotel Danang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chu Hotel in Danang has a wonderful beach front location, literally a 1 minute walk to the sand, with views of Son Tra Peninsula and Cham Island off in the distance. The Hotel has 24 hours reception service. Daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. Tranquilos restaurant and bar in the ground floor at the Chu hotel is a open restaurant serves Asia, Western and International dishes. All rooms of the hotel are equipped with modern facility and nice amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chu Hotel Danang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chu Hotel Danang Vietnam/Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing