We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funtastic Danang Hostel
Ranked #151 of 336 Speciality Lodging in Da Nang
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I loved this hostel so much! I arrived having made a massive mistake in my booking (my fault) and basically didn't have a bed. Luckily my friends let me share with them and the next morning I spoke with the owners who helped me out so much and made sure there were beds for me to sleep in! I win the record for the most difficult guest to deal with as I just went on to sleep in the wrong bed and stuff, but they were so friendly and funny and warm about everything. This is a really easy going, friendly place with such a personal feel to it and they really go out of their way to make sure you feel safe, happy and not alone! I would 100% recommend this hostel. Then hostel attracts such a god bunch of people and the common area is usually full of people mingling and relaxing! There is always something to do here and people to talk to! Breakfast is tasty with meat and veggie options! As for the bad reviews, I can say that I 100% have the complete opposite to say about all of it. I love this hostel, the people staying here and the people who run it! I will return one day! Big love!x

Room Tip: The dorms are great, the beds are really spacious. Mattresses are generally harder in Vietnam, so ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie_Hug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a fantasticHostel. Very clean with very nice rooms and bathrooms. The staff are very nice, extremely helpful for finding anything I needed locally and spoke English very well. They took care of pretty much everything I needed (anything from calling Taxis to laundry). They called me by my first name from the first moment I checked in to when I checked out.
Breakfast was local food served every day and was always nice and fresh.
The common room is my favourite part, which really feels like you're at home. Watched many movies in there, sometimes with the staff.
All round a great hostel to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place was good for me, on the pricier side of things when it comes to hostels but it is very clean and has a great common room for relaxing, watching movies, meeting people, PS3, good guitar - everything you need really. The manager is always around and very helpful with directions advice etc. The people that wrote the "terrible reviews" here are a bunch of whiners and I'm ashamed that one of them is Australian. Toughen up you princesses its one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in, go stay at the MGM grand in Vegas if its not good enough for ya. Peace travellers

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Mitch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

If you travel to Da Nang on budget, Funtastic is a must-stay place.
This place is the best international hostel in Da Nang.
Very nice owners, super helpful staffs and perfectly clean rooms.
You can't ask for more with such price!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Linh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and friend arrived to Funtastic Hostel after being up since 2am. We had booked into a dorm via Hostelworld as that was all that was left. So after having limited availability and reading the reviews on here I thought we were up for a treat....was I wrong. When we arrived I asked if there was any private rooms as we was absolutely exhausted. Thankfully there were. We was told our room wasn't going to be ready for another 2 hours which was fine as we hadn't pre booked the room and we wanted to get some food which we said to them. Then 15mins later a lad came to get us to show us to our room. Well the room was dirty, floors weren't clean, bins weren't changed, unsure if the bedding was clean...didn't smell of washing powder, the pillows were tiny, stains up the wall and there was a empty hand wash bottle in the bathroom. I complained to the lad on reception when we came down for dinner after a nap he didn't really know what to say. When we came back from dinner I think it was the manager that was waiting for us. I explained the situation again and he said he would have the room cleaned tomorrow (should they not be cleaned daily anyway?? Every other place we have stayed in has!). He then knocked on our door later and said he would refund us for half a night so $12. This is the most expensive place we have stayed in so far whilst travelling and has been the worst place! The breakfast was poor too, not hot drinks offered there was tea in the common room and mugs if you were lucky. No water on the table during breakfast and on our last day a lad pulled out a hair from his breakfast. Couldn't wait to leave!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GemLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le H, Manager at Funtastic Danang Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

We are very sorry for your bad experience. We have since updated our service and fix all the errors in our system as indicated in our recent feedbacks. Thank you very much for your input

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

“Bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. The bedding.was dirty. Room was not cleaned for whole time. Mould in the bedroom cupboard. The girl on reception was extremely unhelpful, she had no knowledge of the local area when we asked her questions and directions, she didn't have any basic English skills. The breakfast was disgusting and was street food. No hot drink tea/coffee was given as part of the breakfast. We was forced to eat out for breakfast which we didn't budget for. Nice decor and modern.. They have obviously spent a lot of money on that but the owners seem more interested in making the place look hip and trendy rather than focusing on the simple things like cleanliness, comfortable beds and a normal basic breakfast (such as toast and a hot drink) other than street food.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawnieb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le H, Manager at Funtastic Danang Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

We are very sorry for your bad experience. We have since updated our service and fix all the errors in our system as indicated in our recent feedbacks. Thank you very much for your input

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

One of the two best hostels I've been to in all of Vietnam! Very clean, modern facilities. Very helpful english speaking personel. Perfect as a base for visiting Hue and Hoi An(45min with a scooter, wich you can rent at the hostel). Check out the fire spitting bridge! Has it's own laundry service, very helpful wheb your on a longer trip!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dries U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#12 of 303 in Da Nang
703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofia Boutique Hotel Da Nang
1.9 mi away
Funtastic Beach Hostel
Funtastic Beach Hostel
#153 of 336 in Da Nang
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Danang Backpackers Hostel
Danang Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 336 in Da Nang
466 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Danang Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Pullman Danang Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funtastic Danang Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funtastic Danang Hostel

Address: 115 Hai Phong Street, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 336 Speciality Lodging in Da Nang
Price Range: £6 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Funtastic Danang Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minute walk from the train station and a bus stop to Hoi An, 7 minutes by taxi from airport, tons of good food around. We are proud to be the first international hostel in Danang with the most exciting/fun environment and the most helpful staff ever. (If you prefer to stay next to the main beach, try our brand new Funtastic Beach Hostel!) Stay here and you'll be provided with all the tips to the best foods and attractions in town (the hostel owner is a New York Times featured food blogger) which you will unlikely to get anywhere else. Our young, energetic native-Danang staff are always eager to answer all of your questions. We bet you will also enjoy our cool common room equipped with a big flat TV, enough new-released movies to watch for months, PS3 and video games, English books... Having said that... Breakfast is included and so is high-speed Wifi. There is always some staff here to check you in 24/7. No curfew! So, what are you waiting for? ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Funtastic Danang Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funtastic Danang Hostel Vietnam/Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing