We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but didn't feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amaryllis Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but didn't feel welcome”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fantastic new resort with beautiful facilities which is ruined by too many rules- there are signs everywhere! You are not allowed to take more than 2 towels to use by the pool, you cannot borrow a book, play a game or go into the shop before checking with the management. You cannot order food or drinks to eat by the pool. I completely agree with another reviewer who said the owner/ manager is rude. He told us off twice for playing ball games in the pool- even though there was no other guests around! He spoke to us like children which was very upsetting. He also thought it ok to glare at us for extended periods. We are professional people who live and work in Vietnam -not crazy, noisy backpackers! We did not feel welcome or valued as guests.

There are many other places to stay in Mui Ne (Pandanus Resort is a great one) where you will be shown exceptional hospitality. Stay at Amaryllis for the facilities but not if you want to have fun!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOP_1, Manager at Amaryllis Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear our valued guest,

We are so sorry to read that your stay in Amaryllis was not successful but at this point we need to add some precisions to your feedback.

The double intervention at the pool of our manager has been done on request of some guests and of the pool staff.

The guests have called at the reception to inform that some people were playing with noise into the pool area and that they were therefore scared to come to the pool. The pool staff was quite disconcerted because facing unknown ball games.

It was with reason: having people playing CRICKET and RUGBY in a pool area is not a common situation. NOT SO SAFE in fact (for you and for the other people around, staff included). You have been suggested (not forbidden) by our manager to play those 2 games into the garden or the beach which is deep and large.

It is usually to children that we have to say the thing twice not to professional people claiming not to be “crazy, noisy backpackers”.

Actually, it is always embarrassing to receive staff’s feedback reporting an arrogant behavior from the guests. In fact, it should be the opposite from people living and working in Vietnam. By the way, the pool staff is not trained to be your personal ball boy when playing cricket.

For your information, the first night of your stay the kitchen of the restaurant has been let open exceptionally late. It has been done to welcome you after a long trip and valued you as special guests. Moreover, all of your requests (i.e. bringing you the beach volley and beach soccer balls even if at the end you did not even play) have been realized on time and even some rules broken by our “rude” manager. Maybe you did not notice those details but as professionals in hospitality it is this result we are looking after.

In conclusion, rules and regulations are written to place limits not only in resorts but in everyday life. They are usually integrated by everyone and can be adapted according to situations. However, sometimes it is good to have some signs to remind people where the boundaries are.

With regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    45
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here on business but it felt like pleasure - great room and the staff so friendly and helpful. Exceptionally clean and the food very high quality but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel is just on the beginning of Mui ne with a lot bigger & big beach. other hotels in Mui ne still very much close to each does,nt make any distinction, But Amaryllis has a class of its own. Its more suited for western people, people with a liking for international food and asthetics. The beach front - 1st floor was a perfect with long terrace where my kids can enjoy. Room service option was quite western and customised.
The Swimming pool have warm water to make you relax for a longer time....
Staff was excellent and room were based on keeping Green environment idealogy.

Room Tip: Ultra Luxurios - relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankur07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

If you are looking for a place to relax after or during your Vietnam trip, the Amaryllis Resort is the place to stay and believe me you will "regenerate your battery" !!!
We really enjoy our stay. The beach is quiet and large (which is absolutely not the case everywhere in Phan Thiet), the room are super confortable and the staff really nice.
(by the way, the resort is located a little bit outside Mui Ne, but it is much better that way as it keeps the place calm and peaceful ! )

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ced5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Great beach view apartments. Quite, romantic atmosphere. Taxi for 2$ can take you to touristic street Mui Me with restaurants and shopping, or for 6$ dollars to center of Phan Thiet city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyclawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed at the Amaryllis from Dec 18 - Dec 23 and came away generally satisfied. We were travelling with young boys ages 2, 7, and 8. First thing to note is that the Amaryllis is on a separate beach south of the main Mui Ne beach and beach strip. For those wanting to be right on the main beach at Mui Ne, the Amaryllis is not for you.

Facility: The physical facility is nice and obviously fairly new. The rooms are functional and we were very impressed with the ocean view from what was supposed to be a garden view room. Our suite was just a longer room that had more of a bunkhouse feel than that of a tropical paradise for which we were hoping. The ocean front rooms are right on the beach. The pool is large and very nice and the kiddy pool has a gradual slope perfect for small children. The main restaurant had little atmosphere on the inside but a great ocean view from the outdoor tables. Spa and game facilities were dark and under the main floor. Computers for games were not hooked-up. Overall the facility is clean, new and the pool area is very nice yet lacking a little atmosphere.
Food:

We liked the food at the outside restaurant near the pool - good spot for lunch. The breakfast buffet was adequate at best. The fruits were a big disappointment - not great quality and not much variety.

Service - Other:
The staff was generally friendly and nice and we appreciate their kindness to our children. It was obvious that the Amaryllis does not benefit from any affiliation with an international chain in that the staff did not seem to have much hospitality training. Friendliness does not translate to good service and, generally, service was poor. The staff lacked attentiveness and desire to follow through. When requesting train tickets the answer from the front desk came back that they tried to call but couldn't reach the station so we would simply have to drive there ourselves to buy the tickets. My wife went for her complimentary pedicure only to be "hustled" for several different add-on “services”, like nail polish that are part and parcel of a normal pedicure.

Summary:
The Amaryllis is a great place for a getaway for a couple that want to relax. Beware the beach mites, we returned with itchy bites all over our bodies.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

It still new hotel. It is located in the beginning of tourist zone Muine, in territory of a tropical garden, in 5 minutes of driving from the city of Fantet.
Food: in hotel basically only had breakfast. Breakfasts good, but aren't present a variety of dishes. Had once supper in hotel, all was tasty and quickly, the price naturally is a lot of above the prices in cafe.
There is ideal cleanliness in rooms and territory. There is a good beach (sometimes with jellyfishes).
It was a low season. Four days we lived in hotels one! Life in hotel stops at 22. At night there is one person at reception and two guards patrolling the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 121 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#11 of 121 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Resort & Residences
The Cliff Resort & Residences
#10 of 121 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phu Hai Resort
Phu Hai Resort
#12 of 121 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 21 in Mui Ne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaryllis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Resort & Spa

Property: Amaryllis Resort & Spa
Address: Hamlet 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaryllis Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaryllis Resort & Spa is located 5 minutes away of the city of Phan Thiet. It is well-known for its authenticity with the turquoise blue of the South China Sea. The philosophy of the resort is to spend time on the terraces immersed within a second ocean: the ocean of coconut trees. Of these terraces, the view is impressive & calming. This is the ideal place to relax & to sunbath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amaryllis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing