We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good memory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaryllis Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I must say that we expected the standard of the hotel to be quite high for a 4-star hotel, but we were positively surprised to discover it even much higher.
We felt welcome and taken care of from the first day. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially whose girls working at the breakfast buffet and restaurant. The breakfast is good, the fruit section is of great variety. The room is spacious and the terrace overlooking the sea is convenient. There is a safe-box at the room which comes in handy. Sometimes there was a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for us at the room while we were sun-bathing near the pool. The internet works perfectly. When we arrived, we got coupons for the spa and beach bar. Nice! Try spa there. They are professionals! You won't be disappointed.
There are some things to keep in mind before you book this hotel.
The location: it is situated on the outskirts from the main Mui Ne street. Good if you want to have max fewer people and less noise around you. You need to take a taxi if you want to eat in other restaurants that at the hotel's. We took a taxi every evening. Once we decided to walk along the beach from Mui Ne to our hotel. It was ok, but we got sunburned and were very tired after that. My suggestion - take a taxi. The little cab is always cheaper (50-60 000 dongs) than the big one (80-100 000 dongs). The receptionist can order taxi for you.
Receipts: Keep all the receipts you get from the hotel: reception, restaurant, beach bar in order to avoid any misunderstandings when checking-out. If you pay for smth, do not write the room number. You may be charged twice.
The beach: is is clean and so on. But you will not be able to swim because of high waves. Only jumping in the waves and then off to the swimming pool. This place is sometimes visited by wind-surfers...
The swimming-pool: ok pool. Although it is written in the rules "Please, do not smoke, so that others can enjoy the stay", they still smoke. Take it or leave it. I usually changed my seat when smb started to smoke near me. One usually reserve a seat at the reception. You get a map of the pool there to choose what seat you want and then you get a small sheet of paper with your number on.
All in all, If I ever go back to Mui Ne, I will probably stay here again. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just returned from 6 nights in the Amaryllis - first impression - even better than on the internet. We were very impressed with the hotel and particularly our room. We were right overlooking the sea and the room was outstandingly clean and beautifully furnished. We have never been to any hotel so clean in all areas, pool, gardens, rooms and public areas. Built directly onto the beach - with lovely beds, etc - it was ideal to laze or walk along the beautiful sands. It was lovely as the sun went down to sit on the balcony with a drink and watch the fishing boats - heaven
We ate in the hotel and were extremely satisfied with quality and price. One evening we went down to Muine but were very disappointed. A long street with a straggle of shops selling the same thing and local bars trying to get you inside, Cheaper than the hotel to eat but not worth the effort.
We would recommend this hotel if you wish to relax and just spend time together. We would certainly go back

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a Deluxe premium with balcony - request to be right on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jenna109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Nice, big enough territory, good beach with white sand, beautiful swimming pool..
We lived in "deluxe family room (№101)" - it's huge, clean, very-very comfortable (but one night there was a lizard (!) in our room - very strange thing :). Staff was friendly.
Breakfast - european standart:)
The only thing is its location - a bit far from the main Mui Ne street with restaurants, spa and other things. To get there you should take taxi (2$ one way). But, in my opinion, thats not a problem :)

P.S My advice: do not stay in Mui Ne more than 4-5 days, it is very very boring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArturKulaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very nice and cosy resort. We enjoyed the clean swimming pool, coconut garden and nice lunch bar. The sea was bit rough, but the morning walks but the beach were great, found many treasures. In the evening we went to MUINE for dinner, once went to Phan THiet town for an evening walk, fantastic experience. The only disadvantage was the service during the breakfast, not very friendly staff and you have to push them all the time so they would bring missing food. Apart from that I would recomend the hotel to everybody with small children, as they have possibility of sea and swimming pool, great grass garden.

Room Tip: Beach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SabrinaSeckova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our expectations for Mui Ne beach were not so high . Staying 3 days in HCMC Five stars american hotel standard recommend us to visit this area waiting for a delayed flight for bangkok. Guided to Amaryllis Resort quickly forced our admiration , finding out an awesome arty hotel.No words to describe out of reality days where we experienced seafood stuff from the region as the manager, coming from Lausanne (which is the top school talent for industry )directly satisfied our needs and stomach.No surprise then finding: a Friendly staff , everything seems high adjusted , . I definitely recommend this high level standardised resort for couples / Family . The beach is huge ! Could contain 4 soccer playground. Amaryllis certainly for a long time

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mayonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I feel compelled to contribute to this site, having never written anythnig negative about a hotel previously. I, too was part of the group staying at the hotel when the below comment was written and I am absolutely shocked and outraged by both the tone and the content of the hotel manager in his response.
As married expats whom have lived in Vietnam for three years, working in both business and education, I can assure you that we are not unreasonable or noisy guests. Yes, it is true that two of us brought a cricket bat and ball to the pool- oh, the horror! Let me put that in context though, this was at 11am for maybe 45 minutes and again at 4pm for half an hour. To further contextualise, it was a tennis ball down one end of the pool. More? How about that there were only approximately 5 other guests staying there. Were they concerned? No. Did they ask us to stop? No. Had they done, I would have happily done so. But no, the manager, as if he was speaking to small children rudely told us to stop. As for the insinuation that somehow we were forcing the Vietnamese staff to 'act as ballboys' , this is incorrect and frankly insulting. There was one guy in the garden who happily threw a ball to us on the rare occasion it went on the grass. We actually invited him to play and he seemed to want to join in....maybe he was scared of his manager?
At this point, I should add that the staff are wonderful there- all very smiley, helpful and friendly; they just seem fearful of breaknig one of the many arbitrary and petty rules.
As regards our 'arrogant behaviour' , it beggars belief that a hotel manager wouldf actually refer to his guests in such a way. What 'arrogance', pray tell, were we guilty of? Questioning one of the many rules? The rules by the way, are extensive- just to give you an idea of how stupid and officious they are: one may not "play a board game without informing staff first", we were not even allowed to turn over the tv in the (deserted) lobby to watch another channel without a good 15 minutes of wrangling.
As for the kitchen staying open 'extra late' to prepare us food. Well, excuse us for being guests! This is what hotels do- keep guests happy. As an 'professional in hospitality" , I thought this would be obvious. As with most people coming to Phan Thiet/ Mui Ne for the weekend, we came from Saigon, leaving at 330. We arrived at 930 in the hotel- hardly unreasonably late.
So, in conclusion, I hope that this in fact offers 'precision' to the sad events of the weekend. In all, this manager has rather shot himself in the foot- with all of our party having pretty hight profile jobs in HCMC, we will be telling anyone who will listen that until the manager has a complete change in attitude or is changed, Amaryllis is to be avoided like the plague. A lovely place, spoiled by a clipboard-toting, rule-obsessed individual.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fantastic new resort with beautiful facilities which is ruined by too many rules- there are signs everywhere! You are not allowed to take more than 2 towels to use by the pool, you cannot borrow a book, play a game or go into the shop before checking with the management. You cannot order food or drinks to eat by the pool. I completely agree with another reviewer who said the owner/ manager is rude. He told us off twice for playing ball games in the pool- even though there was no other guests around! He spoke to us like children which was very upsetting. He also thought it ok to glare at us for extended periods. We are professional people who live and work in Vietnam -not crazy, noisy backpackers! We did not feel welcome or valued as guests.

There are many other places to stay in Mui Ne (Pandanus Resort is a great one) where you will be shown exceptional hospitality. Stay at Amaryllis for the facilities but not if you want to have fun!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOP_1, Manager at Amaryllis Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear our valued guest,

We are so sorry to read that your stay in Amaryllis was not successful but at this point we need to add some precisions to your feedback.

The double intervention at the pool of our manager has been done on request of some guests and of the pool staff.

The guests have called at the reception to inform that some people were playing with noise into the pool area and that they were therefore scared to come to the pool. The pool staff was quite disconcerted because facing unknown ball games.

It was with reason: having people playing CRICKET and RUGBY in a pool area is not a common situation. NOT SO SAFE in fact (for you and for the other people around, staff included). You have been suggested (not forbidden) by our manager to play those 2 games into the garden or the beach which is deep and large.

It is usually to children that we have to say the thing twice not to professional people claiming not to be “crazy, noisy backpackers”.

Actually, it is always embarrassing to receive staff’s feedback reporting an arrogant behavior from the guests. In fact, it should be the opposite from people living and working in Vietnam. By the way, the pool staff is not trained to be your personal ball boy when playing cricket.

For your information, the first night of your stay the kitchen of the restaurant has been let open exceptionally late. It has been done to welcome you after a long trip and valued you as special guests. Moreover, all of your requests (i.e. bringing you the beach volley and beach soccer balls even if at the end you did not even play) have been realized on time and even some rules broken by our “rude” manager. Maybe you did not notice those details but as professionals in hospitality it is this result we are looking after.

In conclusion, rules and regulations are written to place limits not only in resorts but in everyday life. They are usually integrated by everyone and can be adapted according to situations. However, sometimes it is good to have some signs to remind people where the boundaries are.

With regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
0.1 mi away
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 129 in Phan Thiet
264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Resort & Residences
The Cliff Resort & Residences
#7 of 129 in Phan Thiet
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Muine Bay Resort
Muine Bay Resort
#4 of 24 in Mui Ne
337 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#6 of 24 in Mui Ne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaryllis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaryllis Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaryllis Resort & Spa is located 5 minutes away of the city of Phan Thiet. It is well-known for its authenticity with the turquoise blue of the South China Sea. The philosophy of the resort is to spend time on the terraces immersed within a second ocean: the ocean of coconut trees. Of these terraces, the view is impressive & calming. This is the ideal place to relax & to sunbath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaryllis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing