We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in sea of hyperactivity”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Dunes Resort
Ranked #47 of 122 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oasis in sea of hyperactivity”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We booked when this was a Novotel so we were a little apprehensive but this proved to be unnecessary. The facilities were excellent while the location was first rate. Arriving on a Monday from the chaos of Saigon we were shocked at the quiet - hardly any other guests, staff everywhere.
The breakfast was amazing with a huge choice. We did not eat at the restaurant as the prices were light years beyond street food or even the Vietnamese fast food chain about 1 k away. We used the bikes a lot and they were really useful even though they were well past their best, rusted and worn. Great swimming pools. Lots of local tourists on the weekend. Don't bother going to Mui Ne just relax here. Try the crispy pancake stall in the street behind the co-op supermarket and have diner for $1.We took the train back to Saigon from Moung Man, a nice change from the madness of Highway 1.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rusanjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
32
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A hotel with beautiful lawn& garden just beside the pools. Lay down in pools or beside pools still give you the feeling like on the beach. One can feel the strong ocean wind and sound of wave with quiet surrounding. And best of all FREE wifi ( not like those expensive hotels which still charge wifi service) connected all the way to the beach. This is the hotel to stay if you want peaceful surrounding, relax atmosphere with greens and yet connected to the world.

Room Tip: Room facing sea front or room facing golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie1234293925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Arrived to stay at this hotel 23-25 August. This is really a place to relax, and is near the town of Phan Thiet. It has its own beachfront with sands raked daily to keep the beach neat, and silverbells planted to keep part of it green. This hotel has large grounds, so there is plenty of space for everybody, and hammocks, deckchairs, and seats are provided for outdoors solace. Swimming pools (including a water polo pool) and a gym are available. Rooms are clean. Free wifi is available and reaches even the beach. Breakfast is provided, and I say the quality of the items like cheese, sausage, yoghurt, variety of tropical fruits are good. We had our seafood at reasonable prices dinners outside in Phan Thiet town. Service by the hotel staff is good and polite. A good place for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMLeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

What a beautiful place, rolling, impecably maintained lawns, gardens and golf course. The beach front bar got a lot of use, as the location was marvellous and the staff outstanding. This hotel is beautiful, from the greeting with green tea on arrival, porterage of luggage to beautifully sited suites overlooking the ocean or golf course. The beds were large and comfortable with high quality linens and covers, with views directly through the floor to ceiling glass doors and windows. Breakfasts were casual in the garden resturant, with a great variety of western and asian foods, fresh fruits and outstanding service by the staff. Dinners were superb, even though our group was on a set menu, with attentive staff, and the hotel put a duo on to entertain us on our last evening which was above and beyond (the duo were very good). A very comfortable hotel and an example of how hotels should be run - there were no issues with not being able to converse, as all the staff had a good grasp of english. If there was a drawback, be careful on the beach, as we were approached by a few 'unsavory' locals as we took a stroll (that said, we were outside the boundary of the hotels private beach at the time) - just keep your wits about you, when you are out and about. The spa with its extensive massage and beauty menu is to be applauded - after our experience in Vung Tau, we were apprehensive about availing ourselves of the spa services, but as it turned out the services were outstanding, the staff professional and well trained, polite and accomodating - highly recommended !

Room Tip: Cant give a tip, all the rooms from our view are well located and besides, the locale is just so qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyjw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is no longer a Novotel hotel, it changed ownership on 1 August 2012 to Du Parc Ocean Dunes & Golf Resort, a Vietnamese hotel chain group.

Here is our review, based on the fact that we travelled in the low season, staying for 5 nights.

Check in - we received a warm welcome from the receptionist even though the reception was packed full with people, we needed to change some money into VND and we had a hire car driver waiting for his money and wanting to leave to go back to Ho Chi Minh City, a 4-5 hour drive. However, all the staff remained calm even if we were a little frazzled! Hotel looked a little dated at first sight and this was confirmed when we received a key to our room, I can't remember the last time I used a key in a hotel room, usually a swipe card is provided.

We had booked a Luxury Garden View room but were upgraded to a Luxury Sea View room. Very large room with two sets of sliding doors onto a balcony. Table and four chairs plus two extra chairs outside. Great views over the immaculate grounds and ocean. Very nice. Again room was dated with shower in bath, large TV (not flat screen) in cabinet but for the rate we paid it was fine. In the high season it could be noisy as it overlooks the pool and there is a soccer game arcade machine which was being used very early in the morning by young children.

Breakfast was reasonable, good selection of food for all nationalities buffet style although I believe that if occupancy dips this changes to an a la carte breakfast menu.

Gym - fairly basic but OK.

Location - this is a fairly isolated hotel with virtually no other restaurants within walking distance. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service three times a day to the closest tourist town of Mui Ne where there are plenty of restaurants, the last bus returning at 6.30 pm so you would need to catch a taxi back to the hotel, 25 minute ride (about AUD$10). Consequently we ate the hotel most days using our Accor Advantage One card to receive a discount on food and drinks. We would rate the food as average.

Restaurants, Seahorse restaurant and a great beach bar which served drinks and meals from the main restaurant. We ate here most days, fantastic location overlooking the ocean.

Service was very good, staff making the effort to talk in English to us and all food and drinks were served promptly with a smile.

Swimming pools, one large pool, a lap pool and a kids pool, all nice and clean. Good pool attendants.

All in all this was a good stay, the grounds of this hotel are immaculate, the staff are great and they try very hard to make your stay enjoyable. At the weekends this hotel is very busy with visitors from HCMC, I imagine they offer a special weekend rate for them. After Sunday lunch time it was pretty deserted. It was however too isolated for us and if we returned to Phan Thiet we would stay in Mui Ne. If you are looking for shopping there is not very much in this area, better to do it all in HCMC as we did. We used Satsco Travel for the transfer to this hotel from HCMC. Cost was about US$110 each way. Kevlin is the contact - Kelvinpham@Satscotravel.com. I can recommend them.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are great but could be noisy. Hotel also offers non-smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel was just what we needed for a quiet break during our tour in Vietnam. The hotel and the surroundings are well maintained. There are 2 swimming pools. The hotel also has a private beach (although the sea and the beach in Phan Thiet are not great). There are many grass areas, hammocks hanging from the trees, tennis court, ping pong table, pool table, a games room, bicycles for free and of course the golf course.
On our arrival we were welcomed with a hot towel and a cold drink. We stayed in a room overlooking the golf course which is cheaper (the rooms overlooking the ocean are more expensive), and we enjoyed the beautiful view. The room was a good size with a nice balcony and it was clean.
Breakfast buffet was excellent with an enormous variety.
The staff were professional, friendly and helpful.
There is a free shuttle bus running to and from Muine 4-5 times a day.
After being in Muine and Phan Thiet, we vote for Phan Thiet. Muine is very touristic; lots of hotels, restaurants, gift shops and of course many tourists, esp. Russians. Phan Thiet is more authentic with a feeling of a fishing village. Take a bicycle and visit Phan Thiet port in the early morning or walk from the hotel entrance along the beach into the small streets of Phan Thiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irit832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
6.2 mi away
Mui Ne Hills Bliss Hotel
Mui Ne Hills Bliss Hotel
#5 of 122 in Phan Thiet
472 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fiore Healthy Resort
Fiore Healthy Resort
#79 of 122 in Phan Thiet
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Phan Thiet
TTC Hotel Premium - Phan Thiet
#55 of 122 in Phan Thiet
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Phu Hai Resort
Phu Hai Resort
#15 of 122 in Phan Thiet
221 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Links Beach Hotel
Sea Links Beach Hotel
#37 of 122 in Phan Thiet
177 reviews
3.8 mi away
White Sands Resort
White Sands Resort
#30 of 122 in Phan Thiet
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Dunes Resort

Property: Ocean Dunes Resort
Address: 1 Ton Duc Thang Street, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phan Thiet
#14 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
#26 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#29 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on some of the most unforgettable stretches of beach throughout, the stunning Ocean Dunes Resort Phan Thiet provide family friendly fun in a relaxing setting, helping you create vacation memories to last a lifetime! A quick glance at your holiday’s accommodations will reassure your chose the perfect Phan Thiet resort. Ocean Dunes Resort Phan Thiet is designed to infuse the cultural characteristics of your destination of choice, bright Vietnam Ocean Sea colours and trendy decorations will welcome as you begin to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ocean Dunes And Golf Resort
Novotel Ocean Dunes & Golf Hotel Phan Thiet
Novotel Ocean Dunes Hotel
Novotel Phan Thiet
Phan Thiet Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing