We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine break away from business!”
Review of White Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Resort
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Ok, so we took the train from busy busy Saigon to Phan Thiet. We were looking forward to a nice relaxing soothing break by the beach after the crazy Saigon.
Taxi from Phan Thiet train station is 100,000 Dong. Not bad at all, takes about 15 minutes.
White Sands resort does feel and look like it's in the middle of nowhere but that's why we chose it. We took a taxi in to Mui Ne a few times which involves telling staff at hotel to call up one and waiting around maybe 15 minutes. It's a about 50,000-65,000 Dong depending where on the strip you get off. It's ok, the strip with it's bars and food joints. That's about it. Few massage places and tourist offices.

Back to White Sands. A summary then.


Peace and quiet.
Clean rooms.
Lovely beach to look out on from beachfront balcony.
Friendly staff.


Ok, so it's Asia you expect bugs and geckos.
But you have to know you will share your room with geckos. And unfortunately if your partner is a bit squeamish about this, it makes staying in the room a bit stressful at times.
I think people need to know this if this could be a problem. The roofs are so high and thatched that holes are inevitable and the two doors have big gaps a the bottom.
We wrapped the net around us each night and unluckily a gecko fell on it scaring the life out of my wife!
There are frogs, big moths and bigger lizards around too. I don't have a problem but as I said some people do!
Beach is ok but as someone else mentioned, lots of little crabs under foot! The wind blows very strong in off the sea too.

Pool is nice if not very very cold!!
Sauna/steam room very nice also.

Food could be improved. The western dishes are very poor.

Staff very friendly but very poor English and they have a few etiquette issues like 3 or 4 of them crowding around you at a time when dealing with paying bills etc. Strange!

We stayed over Christmas and it was pretty quiet. A bit too quiet. I came to my own opinion over this trip that I need a bit more life. And I think I can get this and relaxation with a hotel more in the midst of things.

If I was to this coming from bustling Saigon and needed a few nights peace I would possibly stay here again but then move onto the strip where it would be a bit more lively and still chilled out as Mui Ne is not that crazy at all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2009

My partner and I arrived here after spending 3 weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia, cramming in just about every site possible! The White Sands Resort was the perfect way to end our holiday. Pure relaxation. A wonderfully clean room with the gentle sounds of the ocean, just metres away, to rock us to sleep each night. We found it all so peaceful due to the resort's excellent location - at the end of the beach where a sea wall has been built. You can walk along this wall, which is a great spot to watch a sensational sunset from.

The White Sands boasts friendly, professional staff, excellent food, a beautiful relaxing beach where we had one of the most peaceful days that I can recall, and a crystal clear swimming pool where we also spent some quality time. We didn't even want to leave this resort to sight-see, and on the one brief occasion that we did, we returned to the resort pretty fast! Glenn, the Resort's Manager, was the most welcoming person imaginable, and he is obviously the reason for the smooth and quality running of this fantastic place. We were sad saying good bye to him, and the other wonderful staff. Only one complaint... 4 nights was not long enough!! Thank you for a WONDEFUL stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank discomountainboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Our family stayed at White Sands for a week over New Year's. It was just the kind of vacation we were looking for--hanging out together, some fun in the waves, and great Vietnamese food. Here are some pros and cons for the resort, and Mui Ne in general:

LIKED:
Beachfront oceanview rooms--only meters from the water. No "glimpse through some trees and around a corner " view here.

Wide beach with soft sand--neighboring resorts were VERY rocky, and water was unswimmable.

Safe for children: The "main drag" of Mui Ne beach has been totally taken over by kitesurfers--dangerous if you and your kids want to swim. Another safety plus- the jetty/breakwater lessens the possibility of being pulled away by a riptide.

Nice pool, clean rooms with everything you might need, a game room with darts and billiards (yes, we had darts) cute beachside bar, adequate (but not great) food. Tons of restaurants 5 min ($3) away by taxi. Wi Fi is available in the coffee bar, and around the pool.

Friendly, kind staff.

Some things which could be a problem~ no bathtubs. This wasn't an issue for us, because our children are older but people with babies and toddlers should be aware of this.

The beds are sooooo hard. True all over Asia, but most places which cater to Westerners have softer mattresses. Not here!

We enjoyed bodyboarding, ($5 /hr a bit steep, though!)taking long walks down the beach, poking around town (not much to it) and fooling around at the red dunes. Bring Dramamine for the ride from HCMC.

All in all, we thought that White Sands was a good value for the money, and we would go back there over any of the other resorts we saw in Mui Ne beach.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelingfamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This was our third stay at White Sands across the last year and as always we had a fabulous family break. The beach has been naturally extended and is the best beach in the bay. It is safe for the children and has great waves for boogie board fans. Sand is clean and nearby rocks are great for crab collecting. The staff at the hotel are lovely and try their best to to keep everyone happy and comfortable. Great manager who keeps a close eye on things and offers a laid back resort - relaxed and friendly. A little isolated but you can bus or taxi around and it is cheap and easy. Second time we have ended up extending our stay...............

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eatingnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Summary: Just ok!

Check in was great! The staff helped us move in, as we were a larger group - 9 with a lot of luggage. They invited us to the BBQ at 7pm that night. We were 1 of only 2 guest groups. The BBQ was very disappointing and very expensive comparitively - I can see why hardly anyone ever ate at the hotel in the evenings (we saw most guests in the main Mui Ne strip). On the positive side, the food was good quality. I would suggest to Glenn, the manager - have a few items in the main menu that are not extortionate - to cater for more peoples' budgets. Not everyone wants to be ripped off. Why would I pay so much for a meal, when I would not even pay that in the UK?

Rooms were nice and clean. Air conditioners and fans were super! TV reception better in the garden view rooms than in the beach front rooms, where most channels were fuzzy. Beach view rooms were highly recommended - very nice view, and sound of waves on balcony heavenly!
The staff came to "turn down" the beds every night, which meant making a little tuck in the sheet, and pulling the mosquito net around. Found this a little unnecessary?.

Breakfast OK, not great. They ran out of eggs the first morning we were there, which was disappointing. Staff spoke very little English, so often hard to communicate (see other guests comments in reception guest book). But they were super friendly - esp the head chef! Glenn, have a 30min English lesson for your staff a day.? (Just a suggestion)

Sauna, steam room great! 5/5. But they tried to charge us more for it, even though on their website it says included! Some tourists have saved for a long time to come, and trying to squeeze as much money from them, just spoils the experience. US$3 for a Mars bar is a bit too much, I think!

Pool - lovely! Clean towels everyday! Clean - very nice! If you are expecting a beach hol. don't go to Phan Thiet - Mui Ne. Water very choppy and the amount of crabs, worms etc eeked me a bit...Hardly anyone on the beaches (maybe time of year?)

Check out was a nightmare! They also tried to charge us US$3 for a Mars bar from the minibar that we never ate. They had found an old wrapper in the bin.

It is far from the main strip. So if you do want quiet.....real quiet... then stay here. It is beautiful, but there are other places I would recommend before this one.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BeatriceAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Tucked at one end of Mui Ne beach, this resort was a good place to get some peace and quiet. It has a small beach and a decent pool. The rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. We had a beach front chalet where we could see and hear the waves crashing onto the beach...great way to be lulled to sleep.

The restaurant was nice...we had a sumptuous all Vietnamese dinner one evening...

The main Mui Ne strip is only 5 minutes taxi ride away, so we could still go out there to explore. But if you like the crowd and the nightlife on the main strip then this may not be for you.

They could offer more tour information though, especially since it's far from the tour agencies on the main Mui Ne strip. We travelled out to make our tour bookings.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HTH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed in White Sands in an ocean view room. The view was really amazing and the beach was nice and quiet. We managed to get a promotion from Wotif which actually made the room good value, however if we were paying rack rate I would be quite dissappointed. The resort is out of town, which we knew but the provisions for transport were slim. We had planned on renting a motorbike which proved more difficult as the police have been cracking down on unlicienced foreigners. I feel that the resort would be a lot better if they offered some sort of shuttle service.

The service was also dissappointing. We enquired about buses to HCMC and were told to go to town and ask in the travel agents. Even budget places normally assist with booking tickets. Breakfast was good but not great.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at White Sands but feel that it may be more advisable to stay in the tourist strip unless you want to pay a lot for taxis or eat in the overpriced resort restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_the_Sea_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
2.0 mi away
Unique Mui Ne Resort
Unique Mui Ne Resort
#41 of 127 in Phan Thiet
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 127 in Phan Thiet
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#25 of 127 in Phan Thiet
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Romana Resort & Spa
Romana Resort & Spa
#32 of 127 in Phan Thiet
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poshanu Resort
Poshanu Resort
#21 of 127 in Phan Thiet
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai, Mui Ne Beach, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#27 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and try our excellent cuisine prepared in our international standard kitchen by our fully trained staff. Once you have dined here you will surely come back. Try out our health complex, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna, massage and gym all there for your pleasure or just laze about by the swimming pool or on the beach; our staff are only a moment away should you require service. White Sands Resort looks forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Phan Thiet
White Sands Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing