We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort with the best breakfast i have in VN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunsea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunsea Resort
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resort with the best breakfast i have in VN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

we've booked a pool view room for our stay in mui ne, and the room at sunsea comes only available for 1 day. so we actually stayed for 1 day and find another one next door for the other day, which is not good but serves as good comparison. sunsea's breakfast is not buffet so you could order different things from the menu and have all the things fresh and warm. they truly have a bunch of options and it includes around 3 dishes and 2 drinks. way better than any other breakfast i had during my 13 days visit in vn. definitely recommend this one. and if you get plenty of budget to go, go for the cottage room, which is even better, with great views and easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: if you get enough budget go directly to the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    27
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The location of this place is lovely. The beach is great and up there with any in Vietnam that I saw. The plot is really good and they have a nice pool, if just to look at as I didnt use it, and a very nice bar area. So, first impressions are really good.

When I saw that this place was quite a lot cheaper than the sailing club and the 5 star offerings I wondered why but it became apparent. There are a few annoyances that irritated me. There are lots of mozzies on this part of the beach. Accordingly, when you stay in a place like this you expect a haven away from them. However there were big gaps under the front door and between the sliding doors on to the veranda which meant there was a constant stream of mozzies getting in spoiling your relaxation. Actually I would have liked to have spent more time on my veranda as it was lovely however when you closed the sliding doors to stop the mozzies getting in to the room they locked meaning you couldn't get back in!

There was a mozzie net in the room although I found this wasn't big enough to easily and cover the bed. There were actually some mosquito coils and electronic repellents however I wasnt told about them and only noticed them in a drawer when I was leaving!

It is a shame really because this is a really nice looking place. But i was disappointed it let itself down and didn't give me the luxurious feel that 95 dollars a night should demand.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedeadlysubmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed in a Pool View Room, one of about 10, which provided a patio door to a private patio area with lounge furniture just a few steps from a pool (about 40 feet long). It felt like our private pool as it is only shared by the 'pool view' rooms. Just amazing.

The main pool, beach and restaurant are just down a path for our room. These are all wonderful.

Around the hotel are restaurants and shops for most needs so you don't really have to go elsewhere for your stay.

This is as close to paradise as I have experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We originally booked a standard room which was nice, beautiful patio out to a pool. Then we walked through the resort to the beach and saw the beach and saw the cottages. They are just beautiful so we upgraded. The cottages also looked out onto a second pool andvwere close to the resturant and beach. Amazing bathroom with an outdoor bath. We had trouble with the hot water in our first room so they switched rooms. WIFI in the rooms doesn't work very well at all. We ended up using it in the resturant only which was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, nz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked to stay 5 nights at this resort on recommendation from an expat family in hcmc that had stayed here. What a find! Couldnt have asked for better. Its right on the beach, with a great, beachfront restaurant. It has two pools, one on the beach front, and one in a lovely sheltered garden setting right by the family suites. We literally roll out of bed and into the pool with the kids. We extended our stay to 9days.

Food - everything on the menu is delicious. A mix of authentic vietnamese food, thai food and western food. The morning breakfast is amazing, with a lovely selection of options.

Rooms - lovely and clean, maybe a little small but worth the compromise to be right on the beach and to have two pools. We stayed in the family villas which overlook the garden pool area and it is such an oasis - especially because the beachfront can be quite windy, you dont feel any of that wind by the family rooms.

Location - as it was our first time to mui ne we werent sure what to expect and we are travelling with three kids so we needed everything to be close and easy. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the central beach area. Shops right outside the resort door.

Overall. I wasnt sure about this place when we booked it because we are used to staying in large resort facilities but i totally rate a boutique feel. Not so many people everywhere, more personalised service, very safe with kids. It only has 14 rooms so most of the time i felt like we had the run of the place.

Dont even think about it, bookmthis place, its great.

Room Tip: Family rooms are connecting. We had three kids and they put three single beds in the one room for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

One of the very best resorts i have ever stayed in.

Best bits; it is located on the best bit of the beach, clean and quieter than other areas. The new infinity pool is perfect and goes right upto the beach so you can watch the waves from the pool if you find them a little scary. No other pool in the areas has such a good location. The staff were exceptional, fantastic with our daughter, very polite and helpful but intrusive. The resort is small which was great for us looking for a quiet family getaway. The food is superb - best we had. Excellent western and asian dishes. The bar is cool and relaxed - excellent cocktails. The manager is friendly and very efficient. Really almost perfect. We went for one of the garden rooms which was totally fine, but did not look as good as the cottages, if you can afford it go for one of them because they look amazing. Airport transfer, and tours all went off without a hitch. Also is is exceptional value for money we were quoted $50 a night more at other hotels near by which looked much worse. This is certainly the smartest resort in the area. Stay here soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apm1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Sunsea Resort is a beautiful place. It's is located on the best part of the beach. Our room is a standard garden view room, it is a little small but an outside decking area and beautiful garden view make up for this. If you can afford to splash out book the newly cottages- they are spectacular and have a wonderful location only steps away from the beach. The breakfast here is fantastic, our best yet in Vietnam. It's a menu style breakfast with great choice and very tasty food. We would recommend eating at the beachfront restaurant rathe than the main strip of restaurants, it's hard to beat the food and location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 122 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cham Villas
Cham Villas
#1 of 122 in Phan Thiet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#15 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#26 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#11 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunsea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunsea Resort

Property: Sunsea Resort
Address: 50 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, KP. 1 | Ham Tien Ward, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunsea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNSEA RESORT! SUNSEA RESORT is located on the tranquil and relaxing golden sand beach, full of charm of Mui Ne, 200 km east of Saigon. It has an ideal location: on the first part of Mui Ne Beach, clean, large and quiet to allow yourself the best relaxing experience on the sun loungers under the coconut trees of the resort or in the breeze under the sun. In addition to this privileged location SUNSEA RESORT is close to many restaurants, bars, shops, massages, spas; you have also bicycles, motorbikes, water sport equipment for rent and kite surf lessons at walking distance. SUNSEA RESORT features 2 swimming pools, one in front of the pool view rooms and one infinity pool located on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunsea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsea Resort Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing