We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Natural Mystic Lodge
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I cannot see this place surviving much longer. It is rather run down and in need of attention and some sprucing. I suppose some travellers like that fact that it is more 'rural', but its not for me. Beautiful setting, but no, its slid a little to far backwards at this stage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the Natural Mystic for 3 nights mid July. Staff were the real highlight; welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable about activites in the local area. Chalets are great value for money, roomy, clean and well-sited (especially the riverside chalets). Location is excellent if you're after something a bit rural and riverside. There's plenty to do from the lodge itself and Livingstone is just a taxi ride away. Bar and restuarant are good value, as a vegetarian I had no problem. If you're looking for a gorgeous location, decent accommodation, friendly staff and a rural lodge setting - at a very reasonable price, I'd definitely recommend checking out Natural Mystic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent 6 very relaxing days at this lodge. True, some of the facilities need updating, especially the decking, which is very dodgy in places, but if you are looking for rest and relaxation away from noises other than that of birds, hippos and other animals, this is the place. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had hired a car - if you do not have your own transport think carefully about how you intend to get into Livingstone. Would recommend it for all adults who are steady on their feet and are not looking for all mod cons or a busy nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 427britishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is our second trip to Natural Mystic. We traveled there from Monze where we were working at the Mission Hospital prior to traveling to the lodge for a little R & R. The property is gorgeous and sits on the river and in the bush. The chalets are large and clean with grass thatched roofs. The bar and restaurant has a great view and sunset. The staff are very friendly. The four of us were there on the off season and the only guests. We found this very relaxing and a good value. The lodge arranged a safari to Chobe park in Botswana and had transportation available to Victoria Falls. We look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Although we did not find the accommodation unpleasant, we felt that this badly run lodge was in dire need of decent management or new owners. The food on the menu was very limited especially for vegetarians. The pool was more of a duck pond & although the bar menu had prices for wine they had none in stock. We had booked for two nights but couldn't wait to leave in the morning! Sad considering the position and opportunities presented.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingstone hotels

Modena, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The place is great but definitely badly run. Nobody is ever around at the reception/bar/dining area and - even worse - nobody seems to care. A real pleasure as the infrastructure and locations are fantastic and this place could be a true gem. We spent USD 140 per night per double - definitely NOT worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for two night at Natural Mystic lodge during our trip to Zambia and it was a great experience. Kathy and her staff were so friendly and warm. The rooms were clean, bathroom was big, bottles of water were provided throughout. We had the most peaceful and relaxing time sitting at the bar by the river, under the waterberry trees, watching the sunset. Ask for a river side chalet, room numbers 5,6,7,8 I think. The lodge is a bit far from Livingstone so it takes about half an hour to get to the airport or the falls so the taxi fares to and fro can add up. On the flipside you get a more peaceful and natural experience being away from town.

Room Tip: River side chalets are best. Room numbers 5,6,7,8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#8 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 29 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Mystic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Mystic Lodge

Property: Natural Mystic Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 60638, Livingstone, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing