We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shackletons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shackletons
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Have just spent 3 weeks chillin' out at Shackleton's. Wow, do they care for you.
From the early morning wake up tray of tea, to the final Amarula at the Von Togo bar before the generator signals 'lights out'.
I arrived 'wound up like a clock' and the 3 weeks just did the trick.
The Tiger fishing was great, caught plenty, although can't call myself a fisherperson. The guides certainly know how to help beginners. Also caught my first beautiful Nembwe.
Visits to the little Sooka School, and hearing the kids sing really made my day.
The lodge staff are amazing, happy, smiling, helpful and professional.
Meals delicious, rooms cleaned thoroughly and beds turned down at night. Awesome visit.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kuku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for 3 days and wanted to stay longer, but the plane reservations could not be changed. From the moment you arrive until departure, you are pampered by the attentive staff, both on land and water! There are other varieties of fish besides Tigerfish. We flyfish 90% of the time, but would suggest bringing in lures, rapalas, etc. for trolling as well as spin casting. Shackleton's has the rods, but you may be happier with your own spinning and/or trolling reel. We used blue and white rapalas, bright green and orange with black spots. Ended up a friend gave us two big boxes of lures, just in case. we had about 3 dozen different saltwater flies in different sizes. Remember there are no fishing stores around, so bring everything except the fishing pole. (many folks bring this too!). The sheets were fresh and crisp, the food was down home excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We went to Shackletons for Tiger fishing, and that was absolutely wonderful. We caught the first 7.5kg fish the afternoon we arrived, Between the four of us we each caught a fish 5kg and bigger.
The accomodation and food was brilliant. Being on the river early morning and getting back for lunch and then dinner worked perfect and we came back with a few kilo's to lose.
The guides kept us on the fish, and were very friendly and helpful. This is the kind of place where you can bring your family to.
Shackletons are recommended by me as a brilliant tiger fishing spot as well as a stop over if one is traveling through Zambia!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerhard_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

My daughter, a friend and I spent a wonderful two days at Shackleton's in March. Billed as a "fishing camp" and none of us being keen to fish we were a little concerned that we would have nothing to do. We ended up wishing we had more time there. Remmy took us on the river for a sunset cruise which was spectacular. That big water and big sky with the enormous rain clouds is breathtaking. All the water birds were flying home to roost for the night making a huge noise. I have been to the Zambesi too often to mention but the river at Shackletons is unlike anywhere else. The food is also definitely the best on the river. The next day we went for a long walk and saw some wonderful birds and walked around the small settlements seeing how the people live and trade. My friend from England was most intrigued. The rooms are so much nicer than the usual tents. Beautiful crisp white sheets and everything one needs to be comfortable. The generator goes off at 9.30 pm so I suggest one takes a head lamp to read after lights out.

Room Tip: All the rooms are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

My family and I have been blessed to travel the world over and have had wonderful holidays , but NOTHING could come close to our experience at Shackletons !! What an incredible base to see Zimbabwe , Namibia and Botswana.
We flew from Durban to Livingston and were collected at the airport with a friendly driver and cooler box of Zambian beer. Trip to Shackletons was about 1 and a half hours.
Shackletons is positioned on the ZAmbezi river with sunsets for the Gods . The fishing was spiritual and the care that the staff and hosts Sherie and Howard gave was faultless. Sherie took us to the local mission which was an eyeopener for the teenagers . The locals played soccer with the teenagers and willing men . So much fun and laughter. Cabins are modern and spotless and luxurious. Howard looks after your every need ! If you are looking for a week end away or a few days retreat there could be no setting more ideal. Its perfect for family and friends and just as perfect for a company bonding trip

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine16037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

we had the most amazing time at Shackletons - we caught caught a 7.8kg tigerfish, had wonderful good food and were absolutely spoilt. The staff were unbelievable friendly and accomodating.

The highlight of the trip was the sunsets every night over the river - we watched with sundowners from the deck. The camp also arranged day trips to chobe and to vic falls which were easily accessable.

Our family drove up from South Africa through Botswana which was a pleasant and unexpectedly easy trip. No 4x4 necessary as the roads were good. The rest of the party flew from JHB to Livingston and the lodge arranged transers from the airport.

The owners, Sherie and Howard made the stay a holiday of a lifetime. Would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to experience the beauty of Africa.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awesomesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We went as a group of ten, ages ranging from 21 to 54. One lady did not want to do the fishing (sore back) but sat at the lodge and read. The staff were always available, quietly and in the background. A guide was supplied for walks (to keep fit). This was very necessary with the amount and quality of the meals!! The rest of the group which was made up of 6 men and three sofisticated, young business women, had a very intense fishing competition going. I (the matriarch), expected the men to love the fishing but was so surprised that the girls (in their 20's) were so intent on the fishing. Afternoons spent lounging in the superb pool. The weather was delightful. Mauritius and the Seychelles have lost this family to Shackeltons!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillipsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
47.4 mi away
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges
77.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
77.7 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.5 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shackletons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shackletons

Property: Shackletons
Address: | Zambezi River, Western Province, Zambia, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is located in the flood plain region of the upper Zambezi River in Zambia. This places Shackletons Lodge right in the middle of 'Tiger Country', the premier venue for awesome tigerfish. These rich tiger fishing grounds are less than 5 minutes by boat from the lodge. Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is Zambia's premier venue for trophy tigerfish, bream and catfish. We cater for fly fishing, spin and lure anglers of all levels. Shackletons accommodates 12 people in thatched, en-suite chalets with private teak decks overlooking the magnificent Zambezi River. The Van Togo bar, sun-downer deck, lounge, library, open dining area, swimming pool and fire pit provide guests with unparalleled vistas of the Zambezi River. The upper Zambezi River lodge is home to over 300 bird species that can be spotted at the Lodge or by boat along the Zambezi River banks and in the tranquil river channels. At Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge you, your family and friends will be truly spoilt by the exciting tiger fishing, the pristine waters of the magnificent upper Zambezi River, glorious Zambezi sunsets, Zambian culture, abundant bird life, the peace and tranquillity of the Lodge, great home-grown food, and the unsurpassed friendly hospitality of the Shackletons' people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing