We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fishing Extravaganza”
Review of Shackletons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shackletons
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent the week of the 17th-23rd April at the lodge during the easter break. The river level was extremely high still from the flooding season and everything was in full bloom, but we still managed to haul in decent sized fish from drifting with bait and spinning. Largest tiger fish caught was 6.2kg. The food at the lodge was fantastic and the staff are very attentive and on the ball. Overall - a very special spot and a must do for anyone interested in experiencing the heart of Africa and the mighty Zambezi.

Room Tip: Try and get the fish eagle room - it has an epic view over the river and a great place for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I can't write a review every time I go to Shackletons but once every two years is fair going. The family go once a year and the "boys" go generally 3 times a year for their serious fishing. Once again fabulous food, unbelievable service, crisp, clean accommodation and unbelievable detail to style. I, Mum, am not keen on fishing but adore the opportunity to catch up on my reading and quiet time in one of the most spectacular places I have ever travelled to and only a one and a half hour flight from Johannesburg to Livingstone and approx one and three quarter hours to the Lodge in an air conditioned bus. Even the bus is stocked with drinks for your comfort. Unbelievable that every detail is taken care of for your comfort in deep Africa. Howard and Sherie know how to do it right. My boys are SERIOUS about the tiger fishing with numerous trips down the lower Zambezi (below the Kariba dam wall), Mozambique, the tented camp in the Barotse Plains and the best results I.e. most fish and biggest fish recorded at Shackletons every time. Numerous species of fish too. My husband has caught a 19 lb tiger and in fact on one trip they didn't count anything below 6 lbs because so many were caught over 10 lbs. This time (early March 2014) he caught a 6 lb Nembwe besides all the Tigers that he caught. The birding is also great. I think that you get the picture WE LOVE SHAKLETONS, Howard and Sherie, and their special staff!!

Room Tip: Carmine for the view although all the chalets look onto the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillipsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent 4 days at Shackleton's, doing drift bait fishing and relaxing in between. We enjoyed it thoroughly. Everyone at the lodge was friendly and incredibly helpful. Our chalet was spotless and beautifully done out with fish-themed bedlinen- lots of little touches which enhanced our experience. Food excellent.
The weather was a little unco-operative when it came to the fishing, but I managed to land a 4kg tiger and am over the moon as it was my first one. Guide Remi was very patient with us- two relative novices.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet10cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing time at Shackletons for 4 days.
We fished all day and ate some amazing food. The accommodation is very comfortable and the food is home made and delicious!!
The staff are all local so it's great to see the upliftment of the area.

The guides are full of wonderful stories of tiger fish caught and lost and are so helpful with fishing tips

An amazing experience I would recommend to anyone looking for adventure!

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank candicep906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our group of 17 had an unbelievable 4 days. The accomodation was great. The food prepared by Howard,Sherie and their kitchen staff was fantastic. The lodge staff and bar men were also great. Nothing was too much to ask of them,they were friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

The tiger fishing was just too good to be true. Our guides were ready and waiting for us every morning at 6am. Cooler boxes were packed,bait was sorted,tackle was all taken care of. Just had to wake up and step into the boat. The fish were biting all day and the guides know the river really well. It really was an memorable and fantastic experience. A must for every keen fisherman

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great fishing had for 5 days on the mighty Zambezi, landed some good Tiger, Bream and Catfish. Accomodation superb, food excellent, all staff friendly and very helpful, very good guides, good working boats. The owner, however, does need some lessons in 'people's skills', if only his attitude was as good as his Manager / Manageress and staff it would be an all round 100% venue !

Room Tip: All have river facing views, so all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Best fishing on the Zambezi ever - 2nd to 9th June 2013! Every year for the past 5 years I have been lucky enough to take one or two trips per season fishing on the Zambezi with a guide called Haydn and a group of like-minded fly fishermen. We have stayed on a houseboat a couple of times and at two other places on the river banks. This was our third stay at Shackletons and the best fishing we have ever had - for all of us. One of the group caught a 17pound tiger on fly on the first day and I thought that he had the trophy for the biggest fish of the week in his bag. We all caught lots of double figure fish and then a couple of days later I caught a 18.5 pound tiger myself on fly. I was over the moon and am still smiling!

This spot has always been good but it seems to improve every year. The boats are good - Evans our guide was fantastic and the food and service all fantastic. Staff are all so attentive and helpful - a really well managed lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
14.1 mi away
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
#7 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
6 reviews
77.7 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,847 reviews
77.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.6 mi away
No photo provided
75.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
65.2 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shackletons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shackletons

Address: | Zambezi River, Western Province, Zambia, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is located in the flood plain region of the upper Zambezi River in Zambia. This places Shackletons Lodge right in the middle of 'Tiger Country', the premier venue for awesome tigerfish. These rich tiger fishing grounds are less than 5 minutes by boat from the lodge. Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is Zambia's premier venue for trophy tigerfish, bream and catfish. We cater for fly fishing, spin and lure anglers of all levels. Shackletons accommodates 12 people in thatched, en-suite chalets with private teak decks overlooking the magnificent Zambezi River. The Van Togo bar, sun-downer deck, lounge, library, open dining area, swimming pool and fire pit provide guests with unparalleled vistas of the Zambezi River. The upper Zambezi River lodge is home to over 300 bird species that can be spotted at the Lodge or by boat along the Zambezi River banks and in the tranquil river channels. At Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge you, your family and friends will be truly spoilt by the exciting tiger fishing, the pristine waters of the magnificent upper Zambezi River, glorious Zambezi sunsets, Zambian culture, abundant bird life, the peace and tranquillity of the Lodge, great home-grown food, and the unsurpassed friendly hospitality of the Shackletons' people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing