We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation, unbelievable fishing, superb food, gentle, sweet staff and GREAT hospitality”
Review of Shackletons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shackletons
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We went as a group of ten, ages ranging from 21 to 54. One lady did not want to do the fishing (sore back) but sat at the lodge and read. The staff were always available, quietly and in the background. A guide was supplied for walks (to keep fit). This was very necessary with the amount and quality of the meals!! The rest of the group which was made up of 6 men and three sofisticated, young business women, had a very intense fishing competition going. I (the matriarch), expected the men to love the fishing but was so surprised that the girls (in their 20's) were so intent on the fishing. Afternoons spent lounging in the superb pool. The weather was delightful. Mauritius and the Seychelles have lost this family to Shackeltons!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillipsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

You can always see owner run and managed establishments - they shine above the rest. The Shakeltons run a professional operation with great amenities, wonderful staff and the best river setting ever - the bonus being the opportinity to catch and release the best Tigers in the Zambezi. A memorable stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clivelCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This was a superb holiday which met all our expectations and exceeded many others. The good feeling started with being collected at the airport by Victor, safely driven to the Lodge and being met by cheerful staff bearing chilled face wipes with mint leaves to refresh us, serving us hot cheese scones and tea on the deck overlooking the Zambezi river. The chalets which are situated with privacy in mind, and overlook the Zambezi were ideal with plenty of hot water, mosquito nets and very comfortable beds made up with good linen. Meals consisted of good freshly prepared home cooking, just right for the experience. Outstanding and above all expectations was the friendliness and efficiency of staff and our host Howard. This was primarily a fishing and bird watching holiday and we could not have wished for a better experience. Boats and guides were excellent and we identified over 100 bird species and were able to photograph many of them from the boat. We caught several good sized tigerfish.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We rate the lodge and the complete experience as simply the best we have ever encountered anywhere. A true Zambezi dream come true...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swartaasvoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

A wonderful holiday in a most beautiful setting. Great lodges, amazing scenery, hospitality and kindness oh let me go back there. Excellent food and yes the fishing was first class. We are on our way back next year if we can wait that long.

Tim and Jeannette Murphy
Dublin Ireland

1  Thank BywaysDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Shackltons is a beautifully situated lodge in southwestern zambia on the upper zambezi river. accommodations consist of thatched en-suite huts with teak decks overlooking the zambezi. it has a sundowner deck, a swimming pool, a very nice open dining and lounging area. the hospitality of the owners/managers and the staff was wonderful. we had a very nice stay there; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xerxes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
14.1 mi away
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
#8 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
5 reviews
77.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
77.7 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.6 mi away
No photo provided
75.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
65.2 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shackletons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shackletons

Address: | Zambezi River, Western Province, Zambia, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is located in the flood plain region of the upper Zambezi River in Zambia. This places Shackletons Lodge right in the middle of 'Tiger Country', the premier venue for awesome tigerfish. These rich tiger fishing grounds are less than 5 minutes by boat from the lodge. Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge is Zambia's premier venue for trophy tigerfish, bream and catfish. We cater for fly fishing, spin and lure anglers of all levels. Shackletons accommodates 12 people in thatched, en-suite chalets with private teak decks overlooking the magnificent Zambezi River. The Van Togo bar, sun-downer deck, lounge, library, open dining area, swimming pool and fire pit provide guests with unparalleled vistas of the Zambezi River. The upper Zambezi River lodge is home to over 300 bird species that can be spotted at the Lodge or by boat along the Zambezi River banks and in the tranquil river channels. At Shackletons Tiger Fishing Lodge you, your family and friends will be truly spoilt by the exciting tiger fishing, the pristine waters of the magnificent upper Zambezi River, glorious Zambezi sunsets, Zambian culture, abundant bird life, the peace and tranquillity of the Lodge, great home-grown food, and the unsurpassed friendly hospitality of the Shackletons' people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing