We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Waterberry Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Waterberry was recommended and booked for us by Audley Travel in UK as a chance to relax following 2 safaris in Botswana. After an 8 km drive down a bumpy dirt track I was beginning to wonder where we were going (and would we ever return!). However we were warmly greeted by Charmane (apologies if spelling error!) and the sight of lush green grounds with a swimming pool beckoning. We were shown to the outside dining and lounge area for a welcome drink and a spectacular view of the Zambezi river.

The rooms are individual 'huts' with all the facilities required, including ceiling fan and air con, clean and comfortable.

Ours was an 'all inclusive' package which, as well as all food and drink, included various activities such as sunset river cruise, visit to Victoria Falls, visit to local village and school. There were also optional extra activities (to be paid for) such as helicopter trip, visit to Livingstone Island, which they were happy to arrange on our behalf.

We spent the first day 'doing' Victoria Falls and our last day doing nothing - Waterberry Lodge is perfect for doing nothing. Beautiful grounds and very peaceful - with the Zambezi flowing by and occasionally, you could see elephants having a splash on the other side of the river!

If you do visit Waterberry DO do the village and school (which Waterberry sponsor) trip. Very interesting and the kids are enchanting. They rush up to you shouting "photo-photo" as they want you to take their photograph (see attached photo). All smiles and if you're lucky they'll do a dance too!

Food excellent and all staff very friendly and helpful. Hint - DON'T have the local 'beer' made from maize. Weird stuff! The proper beer 'Mosi' is fine however.

A wonderful way to end a hectic 2 weeks in Africa. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 'Swallow' is closest to Zambezi with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

The lodge certainly had a lot of charm to it, as it lies right on the edge of the Zambezi river with cottages spread out on its property.The service was good & the food excellent.Amy,the in charge would greet us enthusiastically every time we returned from a trip.The ambiance was that of a small charming personalized lodge.The only drawback was their definition of an "activity"!Even a visit to the Museum coupled with a visit to the Victoria Falls was classified as two activities.A drop and pick up for a "paid safari" was likewise considered as an activity.We exhausted are 2 free activities per day included in our package fairly rapidly.In my opinion a more practical definition of "activity" needs to be adopted!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank akm841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to this lodge after a fairly long journey to South Africa and a hectic few days of game drives. We were ready for a rest and this place provides that. The location is good for looking out over the Zambezi and the food is also of a high standard.

The main drawback is that most of the included activities are outside the lodge and involve a three quarters of an hour trip to get to Livingstone. 10-15 mins of this are over a rough dirt road. This is fine if you are only doing it once of twice but becomes a bit of a pain if it has to be done more often.

Room Tip: All rooms were good as far as we could see. None being far from the dining/communal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddox49, Owner at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

I'm glad this guest enjoyed his rest after a hectic holiday overlooking the beautiful Zambezi. Yes we are 6k off the main road down a dirt track to the riverbank - this is one of the reasons for the peace, quiet and solitude you find at Waterberry. Our included activities are a balance between those available on site (dawn, daytime and sunset river cruises, guided birding, a visit to our local very Zambian village, fishing) and those that have to be done in town - a tour of the Falls, a tour of the town and markets to see the Zambian way of life. There are many other wonderful activities centred around the Falls (such as helicopter flights, visits to Livingstone Island, and so on) and we plan thoroughly to make sure that people enjoy these activities all on the same day. I don't remember this particular guest but it seems he chose to travel into town more than once. It's a choice - the first line on our website points out that we are 30 minutes from Livingstone (hence the total peace and quiet). People who don't want to travel have a huge choice of places to stay in town with buzzing activity and a different ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The first thing you notice when disembarking from your transportation is the view of the Zambesi - wide, calm, ageless...it flows along like a matriarch, witnessing human history yet somehow above it all.
We were so delighted, on our first evening, to go out on the boat with one of the lodge's wonderful guides and witness a herd of elephant playing on the river bank. We could have stayed there for hours but darkness falls quickly in this part of the world and we had to go back to the lodge on the opposite bank. The next couple of days were filled with equally wonderful sights and sounds as we flew over Victoria Falls in a helicopter, visited four local villages and went back in history at the Livingstone museum to discover Livingstone's hand written letters, his family history and the impact he had made on this part of Africa.
All this was made possible by the marvellous team at Waterberry Lodge. Charlotte leads them with quiet confidence and efficiency. She is extremely knowledgeable as one would expect from a third generation White African Lady who has travelled extensively throughout the continent and is also widely read. Her right-hand woman is Amy, a warm, friendly girl who greets every guest with enthusiasm and her own special brand of hospitality. Their staff are extremely well-trained, articulate and enthusiastic about their country and what it offers and are reliable and safe drivers,too!
The cottages are comfortable, beautifully situated on the banks of the river, offering privacy and seclusion and neatly kept. Bathrooms are well appointed. The bedroom is spacious with mosquito nets (although we didn't need them) a comfortable bed and a small wardrobe and drawer unit. Laundry can be done at no extra charge.
Meals are taken in the central lodge which is charming - has a terrace overlooking the river and an upstairs area set out with easy chairs and binoculars! A mother hippo and her baby wallowed in the middle of the river on several occasions when we were there.
Food is good and well-presented. There were special touches such as birthday cake for my husband and a singalong from the staff to accompany it! Guests very soon find themselves chatting easily with complete strangers on nearby tables and soon join tables to share the wonderful experiences they have enjoyed in Zambia. The whole place encourages such camaraderie and relaxation.
We stayed for three days. My only regret was that we were not there for longer. Next time it will be a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage near the river bank but they are all very nice so there is little to choose betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerseybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I started our African holiday at the Waterberry Lodge and what a great recommendation it turned to be. The setting is truly wonderful on the banks of the Zambezi. The management organises a very interesting group of trips, including of course to the Falls.The sunset boat cruise and visit to a group of local villages were memorable experiences. We also did a helicopter trip around and over the Falls which was amazing.

All of the staff are delightful, charming and helpful. The food is very good.

Altogether a lovely experience which I can't praise highly enough.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AlanNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After travelling through Namibia for 3 weeks we got 3 days at The Waterberry to relax and take in the nearby Victoria Falls...... before flying home. it was special!! The lodge was a wonderful place and the service provided by the whole team was absolutely excellent. Always smiling and keen to talk, the staff catered for us really well. Amy asked us what we wanted to do activity wise so we mentioned a few things and she put together a package, with all timings, transfers and packed lunches taken care of.... we just had to turn up at reception. We spent a day at the falls, helicopter trip and both sides of the falls..... which we would recommend, then one morning we walked to within feet of Rhino. The drivers we had were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very helpful, including assistance at border crossings etc.
We'd go back here in a moment........ it was a lovely way to end our trip.
And I haven't even mentioned the herds of Elephant on the opposite bank of the river, or the hippos in the river.......

Room Tip: The room Swallow is down by the river........ WOW!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NGPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Waterberry Lodge on the Zambezi river (Zambia side) is one of the best value for money Lodges I have visited - and I've been to quite a few around Africa. The setting is superb, the individual units very quiet and well appointed, the food fabulous and the service - way beyond the call of duty. Amy the Lodge Manager worked long hours for me and my fellow guests. I could not have managed my lost Golf Bag without her. All the activities were perfectly organized, and even my road/river transfer back to Kasane, Botswana to catch a plane, after I had left Waterberry was not too much trouble for her. (Flight times only received 24 hrs in advance!!)
Amy you are a GEM - Tessa please note you have a fabulous Manager there. Value for money was good, as Livingstone is expensive.
Both the American family I met there and myself will be back to Waterberry. Wonderful memories, thank you.
As it's in the Game Reserve and 30 mins from the Falls and the town, I recommend hiring a car so you are flexible. Taxis are plentiful but it adds up if you want to look around a bit and do things other than the tourist activities.
Make sure you have some local currency also (contrary to what I read before I went) as many shops and Petrol stations only take Kwacha CASH. Forget Travellers Cheques and US$ notes over 2 years old or with a tear in them - nobody will take them not even the banks! Getting money from the bank machines is also a mission. So carry cash, it's quite safe.
I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. The sunset cruise is wonderful. Visit Michael Mushaukwa at The Muk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
4.6 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,812 reviews
7.8 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
108 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Chundu Luxury Zambezi Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberry Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Address: Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, family-friendly lodge in the heart of the wild on the banks of the Zambezi. Good food, lovely en suite rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Come here and enjoy river cruises, fishing and birdwatching plus all the activities around Victoria Falls, or just sit back and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterberry Zambezi Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing