We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money especially if you don't like the big touristic hotels!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for money especially if you don't like the big touristic hotels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent 2 nights in Prana Tented Camp. The tents are spacious and well equipped. The service is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful if you wish to organize any activity.

It is situated 10 minutes drive from the Falls in a remote and quiet location. Ideal if you don't like big and touristic hotels. The value for money is very good.

The pool is very clean and has a nice slide for the kids (only clean pool we found during our trip through Botswana and Zambia!).
The food is simple but good. Bring your wine as they do not have a big choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is off of the beaten track, but very nice accommadations. Peter took great care of us. Bathroom in your tent, pool, playground, firepit with fire at night. Peter did up a great breakfast and there is a Bilboa tree at the entrance to the gated faciltiy. Listen to the frogs to go to sleep by, and if your'e an early riser, supposedly you can hear the lions. We slept in and missed them.

Room Tip: If you have a large group you can get the lodge, We just rented two tents. There was one with a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Unfortunately, our stay at Prana Tented Camp in October 2012 was extremely disappointing. For some reason, my husband and I were put in a tent containing no less than 4 twin beds, with barely enough room to walk around, while other tents with a double bed and more space to move around were vacant. According to the website, each tent is advertised as "carefully positioned to ensure privacy". There are about 10 tents, each of which is just 10 metres apart. We were able to hear absolutely everything happening in the tent next to us - no privacy whatsoever. On our second day, I asked for our bin to be emptied - it was taken away by a member of staff, and when he returned, he handed me the bin and a plastic packet and told me to put the bin liner in before I used the bin. As a paying guest, I was rather shocked to be told this. All the tents are located in the garden of the owners, whose modern house (rather than African bush, as promised on the website) dominates the view. When we arrived, we asked if we were able to use the pool in the garden and were told we were most welcome to do so. However, potential guests should be aware that this pool is not actually for the tented camp, but is the owners' personal pool right outside their front door, and during our weekend there, the owner's children monopolised the pool throughout the day, so that we were unable to find a spot to relax quietly or even to swim. No bottled/drinking water was provided in the tent - which caused much discomfort in the sweltering heat. (Although, guests are invited to walk all the way over to the owners' house to fetch their own water from the water dispenser inside the dining room). Each tent is equipped with fans, which in October - the hottest month in Zambia - just blew hot air around. It was so hot in the tents, that we left camp each day from morning to evening - it was easier to spend our time in the air conditioned lodges and hotels in Livingstone town, rather than swelter at the camp. If I could give one piece of advice to the owners, it would be to erect a thatched cover over each of the tents, as is done in most respectable tented camps nowadays, to shield each tent from the unforgiving Livingstone heat. So to sum up: uncomfortable and noisy accommodation, lack of privacy, not as advertised on website - we will definitely not be recommending this place or staying here again. This camp is more along the lines of a backpackers' camp more than anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Prana House was the perfect place for a detox weekend. The location between Livingstone and Victoria Falls in the beautiful African bush was nice and calming. The big, well equipped kitchen was perfect for "kitchen medicine". The lovely decorated bathrooms were great for a little spa. The lounge was cool and relaxing with TV and DVD player. The outside area was brilliant with a swimming pool, sun beds, a fire place, a garden where beautiful birds came for water and a barbecue area. Wonderful Bev, with a little help from her nice staff, made the weekend detoxing, relaxing and educating for all of us, and we really enjoyed it! I would not hesitate to bring my family here (with three kids) if we needed somewhere to stay in Livingstone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidibil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Prana tented camp was quite a surprise after a half hour trip from town. When we arrived our hosts took the time to introduce themselves to our party of 18 so we felt at home very quickly. The tents are well appointed with comfortable bedding, mossie nets and electricity so you can charge everything and have lights. A lock box is provided in each tent and there is an ensuite, yes you read correctly no venturing out in the night. The pool is most enviting and the staff are pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We (4 adults and 2 children) stayed at Prana House for a week in August 2012. And we couldnt have been happier. The house is so tastefully decorated, its peaceful and feels so welcoming. As a family with small children I would ALWAYS prefer to rent a house over staying in a hotel. It gives you privacy and flexibility. There was all the help we could want as we had access to Eddie (butler) and Florence (maid) so staying in a self-catering house doesnt feel like you have to give on the help or service you might get in a hotel - on the contrary its just more personal and they were at our beg and call all day (and evening). The management/owners are wonderful and very attentive also. We had a minor problem on an excursion and they sorted it out for us straight away with a few phone calls. They genuinely were there for their guests and made us feel welcome and looked after. We will be coming back. My daughter (4) refers to Prana House as 'our House in Livingstone with the gold fishes'! So as you can gather the whole family felt very much at home. We will return. Wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else in Livingstone now.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had the pleasure of a brief one night stay at the Prana tented camp just 8km from the Livingstone bridge. The road to the lodge is a rather bumpy 4km dirt track but it sets the scene for the safari tent camp to come. The tents are well appointed and have a comfortable bed, couch and en suite toilet/ shower at the rear of the raised tent. The bed is covered by a generous mosquito net and coils are provided. Dinner was provided and was fantastic ! I also was provided with a scrumpcious breakfast the next morning. Thanks to Eddie and also to Bev and chef Peter.
I do feel that if you were to have loud guests in the tent next to yours, the night could spoilt.
Otherwise, its a wonderful bush camp experience.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a distant tent if you dont want a snoring neighbour to disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taita Falcon Lodge
Taita Falcon Lodge
#14 of 84 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia

Property: Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia
Address: Prana House & Tented Camp | Farm 9920, P.O.Box FP, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Conveniently located just 15 minutes drive from the mighty Victoria Falls & Livingstone town center, yet far enough away from the hustle & bustle to truly relax, unwind & rejuvenate in this very special corner of the world……...” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Prana House & Prana Tented Camp Zambia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing