We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food for a Great Cause”

Olga's - The Italian Corner
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: absolutely stunning restaurant. From june 2012 also Guesthouse
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food for a Great Cause”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We went here for one night for dinner and the food was great. There was a big party in front of us, so it took a while for our meals to come. My friend ordered a pizza (Margarita) that was supposed to have herbs on but it didn't come with any because they had run out. I had a Chicken dish with potatoes and salad which was very yummy.

Atmosphere was a little dark, but very pleasant. The chairs and tables had been made by the youth center they support.

I loved the way that this place supported the community by having the youth center and was selling the items in their store! I brought a really neat bag from here and it felt good to be buying from someone who was being trained and upskilled to be able to make ends meet and have a better life for them, and for future generations.

Would definitely recommend and would go there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seziej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    215
    52
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

African travel in general is not associated with good food. However Olga’s is the exception on this rule. We spend a couple of days in July in Livingstone and went for dinner one night. It was marvellous. Very good pizza, ENORMOUS salad with VERY good olive oil.

Well done and highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Navisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Thank you for the diarrhoea”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were food poisoned at Olga's. After a Pizza and some wine we made the mistake to order some ice cream. We hardly survived the next day and nearly lost 1000$ because of an upcoming tour.

NEVER AGAIN!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gates2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esther k, Manager at Olga's - The Italian Corner, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for your humanity.
We apologize for everything that happened to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It is a long wait for the only Italian joint in town. Large servings of food, ok food but not over the top good. Why do I go back? They support the underprivileged in the city. Good enough for me.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muzunguterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esther k, Manager at Olga's - The Italian Corner, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kindness and for your support.
We are sorry for not meeting your desires.
We shall do our best to improve in order to meet people’s yearning all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Wonderful Italian food, and supports some of the most underprivileged people in the city. Cheerful orange decor, lovely pizzas. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cdn-npl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esther k, Manager at Olga's - The Italian Corner, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your support, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olga's - The Italian Corner also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Olga's - The Italian Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing