We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meeting the Missionaries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 29 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Meeting the Missionaries”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for 2 very enjoyable days with Alan and Oriel at Bushbuck River House. Alan met us at Livingstone Airport and was our travel guide, grocer and taxi driver, imparting his knowledge and understanding of all things African. Oriel was equally helpful and quietly but efficiently looked after us. Albert, the chef, produced superb meals with guests dining communally under the African sky.

This is where we met missionaries from the TearDrop Foundation and we were enthralled and hugely impressed by their accounts of their time in Zambia.

If you wish very personal service and first rate food and lodging at a very affordable price, then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    16
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

After a 90 min queue to get through passport control at Livingstone airport we were starting to wonder what the rest of Zambia was going to be like, but Alan was there to pick us up and on the drive to Bushbuck we knew we were going to the right place. If you are tired of the clean, busy and slighlty clinical hotel experience and want something a little more homely and personal then this is the place to go. As we arrived at the house gates a herd of elephants came rumbling by and this is another aspect that really marks this place apart. It is off the beat and track, right on the Zambezi river, where we saw a croc on the opposite bank and a hippo later in the evening - and we thought we were just comig to see the Victoria Falls! It was the homliness of Bushbuck that we really loved - a honesty bar, with snacks and drinks fairly priced. Do take Alan and Oriel's advice on what to do and what not to do - they really do know. Albert the chef is also to be commended, catering superbly for both my carnivore son and my vegetarian daughter. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A small lodge with outstanding hosts and a magnificent chef. The hosts also arrange local tours and will arrange for flights into and out of Livingstone. A bit out of the rush and noise, which for us was just what we needed. We stayed 9 days and enjoyed every bit of it. Evening meals were excellent, served family style. Organic veggies, grown on the property, as well as oranges and lemons.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

You won't find a better location to stay on the banks of the Zambezi than here at Bushbuck River House. Wonderful hosts, Alan and Oriel also plan and organise safari itineraries. Alan's advice during the planning of our holiday was invaluable. Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Zanzibar - almost 4 weeks of seamless transfers with both Alan and Orial accompanying us to guide us, mid way, at Zimbabwe's Mana Pools where we camped on the banks of the Zambezi - an experience to cap anything we have ever done. We subsequently stayed at their Bushbuck River House which was perfect for visiting the falls. Livingstone's museum, though 'old school', is a must to learn more about both the famous explorer and the newspaper journalist. In all things a 5 star holiday.

Room Tip: Ignore the Fitness mark! I was unable to delete this item and there was no Fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

After an awful experience at Johannasberg airport with South African airways we arrived a day late, and when we did we were really amazed by how welcome we were made and how flexible Alan and Oriel were about the arrangements. We in the end only stayed for two nights yet we wanted to stay for all our holiday once we saw it!
There is a pool, a game viewing point and extensive (really really extensive) grounds with wild elephants, hippos, giraffes and many many more animals who come down to drink at the river.

Thank You for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent five days at the Bushbuck River Lodge in June of 2013. The lodge is located on a large farm close to the Zambezi River bank. The place is beautiful and quiet. Our room was comfortable and large. The very welcoming and helpful hostess, Oriel, wonderful meals prepared by chef Albert,
fantastic views of the river and VERY close encounters with animals on the property, made this a very special stay. It's perfect place to unwind after exploring the Falls.

Room Tip: Dear Editor, I was not able to select 5star rating for the room and deselect fitness center since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early June and it was just the most perfect finale to our Zambian wildlife holiday. Oriel and Alan are fantastic hosts and together with their chef Albert they make sure their guests feel absolutely pampered. If you like to be amongst nature where buffalos, hippos, elephants, warthogs, crocodiles, a variety of antelopes and amazing birds are never far away, Bushbuck River House is where you’d want to stay. The beautifully restored Zambian farmhouse is delightfully decorated and offers all comforts you would need. The gardens, the pool and outside dining area are lovely and are perfect for either relaxing in privacy or catching up with some of the other guests. We had breakfast and dinners at Bushbuck River House: the food is divine and diner is an experience, really something to look forward to.
It is an incredibly peaceful oasis amidst the African bush and yet close enough to some of the major attractions of the area, like Livingstone town, Victoria Falls, Lion Encounter. If either Alan or Oriel is going into town, they are happy to take you; otherwise they can easily arrange a reliable taxi for you for a very reasonable price.
We really appreciated Oriel’s and Alan’s expert advice and wildlife knowledge. Although we had our own itinerary, Oriel and Alan can organise your trip for you and customise it to the sites and particular wildlife you are interested in (either in Zambia or other African countries).
In summary: Bushbuck River House offers impeccable quality and service combined with personal attention, we highly recommend it. We really hope we will be able to return and stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoosDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Property: Bushbuck River House
Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing