We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, affordable option for Livingstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabonina Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good, affordable option for Livingstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Tabonina is a very good lodging option for visitors to Livingstone. The rates are very affordable in comparison to other properties. The owner, Laurent, and his staff are very friendly, helpful, and responsive to queries. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is nice, the wi-fi signal is strong, and cereal and toast for breakfast are complimentary.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 1, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    58
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
104
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the most basic room. We could have stayed in a better room but didnt realise when we made the booking. The bed was pretty uncomfortable and the staff couldnt help us with the bookings (they just couldnt get what we wanted). The bad stuff aside. The rest was great. A really nice pool and the breakfast was amazing and Laurent (??) was so helpful. A great atmosphere and really well priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSKPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabonina, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We would have wished your memory of Tabonina to be more positive though, as you mention that there was some “bad stuff”. You had booked our cheapest, and admittedly smallest, budget room (Zmw200/£24/€30/$40 per room/per night), which has its own large private bathroom, is air-conditioned and comes with mosquito net, tea & coffee facility and complimentary breakfast. If you had mentioned it us that you found the mattress to be not very comfortable, it would have been replaced within an hour, but kindly accept our apologies for the discomfort. The mattress was actually changed a few days after you stayed with us. As for the activities, we always try our best to ensure that our guests can do the activities they want while in Livingstone. We book them on a daily basis, both on the spot or in advance, as many reviewers have stated. But we are not the activity providers: it might be that the ones you wanted were not available on the day or at the time you wanted to do them. This is beyond our control if these activities are not booked in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Tabonina is a gem! We stayed there with my husband from 16 to 20 Sept. We had booked for 15 to 21, but had to cut our trip short because of other extenuating circumstances. Laurent did not make us pay for those days we unfortunately could not stay. The staff are always on hand, bright dazzling smiles always. Beautiful breakfast setup (Loved the toast). We even ordered English breakfast for an additional charge. It was super delicious, but it's too filling you will not be active for the rest of the day. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, absolutely refreshing atmosphere. Very quiet, but conveniently close to the town center. Their friendly staff, Laurent's warm attitude make this guesthouse a cut above the rest. I wish they also provided other meals too, lunch, dinner etc.

Room Tip: Our room faced the lovely pool, had A/C, dstv small bouquet for winding up a hectic day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We planned this very early and Laurent had been very genourous with help and information via email. He told us about tours, reminded us of visas and yellow fever vaccination. Already 5 stars before we arrived.

We asked Laurent nicely if he would pick us up at the airport and he was more than happy to. He was there on time, all smiles to welcome us. Another great start.

the place is basic, room and bathroom was in good shape. You sometimes get mozzies but the mozzie net works well. (My only complaint is that the water pressure of the shower is pretty erratic, but I could live with that).

The pool right in front of our room was very nice especially after a long day outin the brilliant African sun! Its also a nice spot to chat with other guests in the lodge, who are all very friendly and happy folks!

tabonina is abit out of town but it was always easy to call a taxi to bring you in at 20 to 25K. We walked one day to the curios market, it was nice cos' you are amongst the friendly locals (very safe) but it was October and it was just too hot!

Last but not least, Lance and all the other ladies at Tabonina are all so sweet! Always happy and smiling and very ready to help. One day our tour operator was late and they immediatelycalled to make sure they were coming. Laurent was really sweet to make us some eggs (at a small small fee) the day we departed after he called several restaurants who refused to do deliveries!

All in all, wonderful place which is great value for your money! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed with Laurent at Tabonina Guesthouse for 3 nights at the end of September. We had a great time visiting Livingstone/Victoria Falls and couldn't be happier with our decision of where to stay. Accommodations around the falls tend to be really pricey but we weren't interested in the noise and lack of privacy at a backpackers either. Tabonina Guesthouse is super reasonably priced and offers breakfast and wifi along with a friendly and attentive staff. Plus air conditioning! I would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to the Falls.

The Guesthouse has a really nice community atmosphere while also providing good sized, comfortable, en suite private rooms. We really enjoyed chatting with other guests around the pool area (a little chilly for me but great to dip feet in to cool off!) and learning about what everyone had done each day. Walking to town for dinner was easy, the road has big sidewalks which made us feel much more comfortable about walking back in the dark. Laurent was a great host and he even managed to book a last minute helicopter flight for us, literally the morning we left Zambia!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in Tabonina, and felt totally comfortable in the premises. Laurent and staff made us felt very welcome. They will help you call taxis, activities booking, dinner deliveries.... Excellent service indeed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evieive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a lovely guesthouse. The owner Laurent was wonderful and very helpful. I had many questions prior to my arrival and he never hesitated to answer anything and everything I threw his way. He even arranged activities for me prior to my arrival so that my stay would go smoothly. The guesthouse itself is clean, peaceful and located in a nice section of town. Just a short cab ride to anywhere. Cabs are easy to get and the very friendly staff was always happy to call for me. Wifi was always easy to connect to and they had a lovely pool that was nice to sit by and check emails and such. The room was large and simple and clean and decorated nicely. It was exactly what I needed. I am a single female traveler and I felt very safe at all times. Even at night as I came and went, I felt perfectly safe. They have a security wall around the premise as well as a gate and a night guardsman who was always smiling. I would recommend this property to anyone and I certainly would stay there again should I find myself back in Zambia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green Tree Lodge
Green Tree Lodge
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabonina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Property: Tabonina Guesthouse
Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing