We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabonina Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were made very welcome Laurent picked us up at the airport which was great as we had been travelling for 26 hrs.
We loved our room which was at the pool,and was kept spotless.
Laurent and Bronnah had been great in giving us advice before we came and prior to them going on holiday.
As we were at tabonina for 12 nights we got to know all the staff,thank you Belinda,Karen,Precious,the 2 Bridgettes,Emmanuel,Lance,Alex,and Mondao.
We will never forget you and the way how you organised our trip for us to Chobe safari park and our microflight
Situated 15 mins walk from centre of town was great we felt so safe and the people were so nice and helpful and restaurants really nice and reasonable.
Enjoyed our high tea at Royal Livingstone Hotel a definate must and the sunsets were superb.
What else can I say but go to Livingstone and enjoy!

Room Tip: Not all have air-conditioning some have fans but it is your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for many weekends while I was conducting fieldwork in southern Zambia. The owner and his wife were quite friendly as were the staff. The location is great, a safe 15 minute walk from the center of town and about equal distance to the Maramba market. Several of the rooms also had fast wifi conniption (which was available in the pool area for those with rooms farther from the router). I would highly recommend Tabonina to anyone looking for a great value in Livingstone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just the place needed to chill out by thr ppol and pick people s brains about Victoria Falls area. Pool good and staff friendly, with clean sheets & the usual amenities & good reliable recommended restaurants esp. the Indian!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife, parents, and I stayed at Tabonina for two nights in mid-April. The guest house offered us clean rooms with great service, as we launched off into trips to Vic Falls and into Botswana's Chobe National Park (both on the "can't miss" list). Laurent was personally invested in our stay, guiding us to great local restaurants and helping us figure out the logistics of driving down to the Falls and into Zimbabwe or Botswana - which we opted against, on his advice.

The guest house has a great little pool and offers a serene, friends-backyard feel with its eclectic, but colorful flowers and trees. Breakfast was basic, but good, with guest house service courteous and well organized. The rooms were nice, with ample beds, TVs, and en suite bathrooms (though water pressure varied). One caveat for light sleepers: make sure you bring ear plugs, as the mosque down the road will issue the call to prayer around 5:30 a.m. We saw it driving in and knew what to expect, but that could be a jarring surprise!

All in all, Tabonina was a great place that we will revisit in future trips down from Lusaka.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahlerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Don't expect silver service but everything is done fast and with a smile .
The rooms are clean and tidy basic but with air con . We stayed in room 6 which has no tv but has a shower and a bath . Best rooms are 1&2 for pool access also have tv"s .
There is a self-catering kitchen & they will set up a BBQ for you costs about £1 . It's about 15 min walk into town try the 2 side streets before the main road.they take you through local markets and also better walk . Don't expect value for money in Livingstone all activities are very expensive . I would also recommend a taxi driver called obey as he was one of the best value & will leave you with a local mobile so you can call him .his number is in reception book .
A main point we found Livingstone a safe place to walk about

Yes I would stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Psm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice. Best value for money in Livingstone. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and everything was clean. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The kids all had a ball playing pool and the swimming pool was a hit. It's a bit out of the main town area so very quiet but well worth the money. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shesmoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Good choice to stay in Livingstone with very reasonable rate, nice pool and light breakfast included. Friendly safe guesthouse, a 15 minute walk to town. The owner knows all the best restaurants and it's a good base for couple nights before continuing on your African adventure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 91 in Livingstone
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 37 in Livingstone
115 reviews
1 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
3.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#13 of 91 in Livingstone
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabonina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: £36 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing