We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking with Lions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion Encounter

Lion Encounter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Africa's first genuine programme to ethically re-introduce the offspring of rehabilitated captive-bred African lion back into the wild, helping safeguard the future of the king of the beasts.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walking with Lions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The same company does elephant rides, cheetah expereinces and lion walks. The elephant ride is worth doing; the lion walk was better. You get up close and personnal with some 1-2 year old lions (older than 2 and they're too big). The lions are lovely creatures, and you get to rub their belly and walk alongside them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    35
    12
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lions was a baby lions but you still feel an wild nature!!!!
You can hold a lion by his tall and he will be guide you in the forest.Of course you are not alone with your journey
All trained staff keep an eyes on you and your baby lion.
Feel explore!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vchiwasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutely Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We've been living in Africa for some time, and figured this was another cliche "Africa experience." Wrong! The lion cubs are adorable and not drugged. We almost got charged by a buffalo, but our guards had us covered. It was only the two of us, not a massive group. Only complaint, we weren't allowed to recreate the opening scene of The Lion King by holding a cub up over a cliff.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They forgot us!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were very excited about the lion encounter and having traveled all the way from Australia, one can only imagine the eagerness.

Long story short, we confirmed our booking via email many times before leaving Oz, headed to Livingstone, got the hotel staff to reconfirm a day before, everything was set. Next day, we got to the lobby at 6.10am to check out and wait to be picked up at 6.30am by these guys. 6.30 came and went, so did 7am but there was still no show by these guys. The hotel staff who was with us the whole time we were in the lobby were just as surprised at the lateness. Hotel staff called them at 6.45 and they said they already picked us up. When it was obviously wrong, they sent another driver. 7am-ish we call to see where they were and this time they make the excuse of "we came but no one was there". Not only did they lie to us but to the hotel staff as well.

We were lucky to have gotten to another lion walk near the hotel (Mukuni Big 5) who were great at accommodating us last minute. We had to cab it there and pay out of our pockets and there's still no apology from these guys.

Very disappointed and would not recommend them. If you're staying at Zambezi Sun, go to Mukuni Big 5. It's a lot closer than these guys and much more professional.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Meghna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose N, Manager at Lion Encounter, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Meghna G
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback and we would like to sincerely apologise, for you not being picked up for the lion walk activity. For our transfers we sub hire vehicles to pick up our guests for the activities and on the day in question, the driver did not advise us that they had not picked up some guests and we only learnt of it later when the other guests had arrived and were going for the walk. We called your hotel but we were advised that you had gone for another lion walk. We have spoken to our transfers company and they have assured us that it will not happen again and the driver in question has been reprimanded for that action. Again, we sincerely apologise for the experience you had.

Regards
Lion Encounter Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I volunteered with Lion Encounter - It was the best experience of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perfect for couples and families, a visit to this beautiful part of the Mosi-O-Tunya National Park is a must. We are located right on the Zambezi River next to an Elephant boma with zebra, antelope, hippo and buffalo walking past daily. Volunteer-tourism generates a lot of money and new jobs into the local economy for local people. Without volunteers and tourists visiting these parks, paying fees to get in and walking with the lions, no money would be put back into the park which need to be protected and monitored in order to sustain wildlife that is already endangered such as rhino and lion. Your money IS going to good use, your experience will be on everyone's bucket list and photos so impressive, people back home wont believe how close you get to the animals. At Lion Encounter we walk with the lions to the Zambezi and when happy to, we sit with the lions and are able to take photos with them (As in right next to them) and yes its perfectly safe.
Eventually, as these lions get older they are "retired" to a larger national park where they become de-humanized and live as normal a lion life as possible with little interference from us, other than to monitor and protect from a distance from poachers and habitat loss. It's a great day out with our local lion handlers/guides & you'll get to meet us volunteers from around the world as well. Please do consider visiting Lion Encounter when in Livingstone w your friends and family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Codydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion Encounter also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Lion Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing