We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Fairmount Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a conference - the rooms were adequate - the bathroom and "showers" were a joke. The toilet was positioned so that when you were sitting you had about a 3" clearance from the wall - I had to sat sideways. There were roaches everywhere - in the room - at the buffet line - even cooked into the food! There weren't any mosquito nets - which in a country with malaria is essential and a basic necessity. When we were checking out EVERYONE was arguing with the staff about errors in our bills. The conference director had had to have several long discussions with the staff about changes made in pricing - even with a contract they charged more than had been agreed upon. NOT a place I'd ever use again.

Room Tip: As far away from the pool and dining area as possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank svoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for New Fairmount Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I did not stay at the hotel however I did frequent the restaurant twice during a recent stay in Livingstone. It was not until my second evening that I realized that the prices for beer that we were being charged was not that in the menu. When I questioned we were told there was nothing that could be done. I question how many other items on the menu are wrong and you will be forced to pay since the manager is not willing to discuss.

As for the restaurant/bar it was very quiet with no guests. I think the hotel has a lot of issues to work out before deciding to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DHelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

this hotel is great if you are also a party animal because it has a night club so u dont have to go really far for that.I was worried about being disturbed by the noise from the night club but that didnt happen as i didnt hear any probably because i got a room that was not close to the club.I also liked the fact that it is located right in town so it was easy to move about.it is also located just next to the curio market.The only problem i had was the cleaning of my room,it looked as though the cleaners would only spread my bed because the bin wasnt emptied always and empty food packs that i would leave in the room would still be there when i got back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nyalumanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have to agree with the previous post that this hotel must have sunk in standard. The reception was generally unfriendly and had service mind what so ever. The rooms decent size but the bathroom was lacking with no hot water at times and a badly chosen shower head. The only activity we booked thru the hotel was elephant riding and they managed to screw it up and they had the nerve to ask for a 100% cancelation fee when they had booked for three instead of four. We didn't pay of course, use other agents like bush tracks or livingstone safari. Livingstones river safari is highly recommended. The pool was only on paper because its to cold to swim in. P.s if u decide to stay there make sure u bring your boxing gloves.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Due to a flight problem, we (2 adults, two teens) stayed at the New Fairmount Hotel for one night on July 7, 2012. Our guidebook categorized the hotel as a mid-level quality option, in the same category as the Zambezi Sun. Clearly, no one from the guidebook had stayed at the New Fairmount in many years. It hasn't seen mid-level quality in at least 20 years.

We stayed in a family suite, consisting of two en-suite bedrooms and a small living room area. Shortly after checking in, we were forced to leave our suite because smoke and fumes filled one of the bedrooms from a fire the hotel kitchen staff decided to start in the alley outside our windows. At first, the staff's solution was to close the windows, tell us not to use the air conditioning (on a hot day) and spray some air freshener. Of course, the smoke smell persisted and after two hours of politely asking to be moved, the hotel moved us to the family suite next door.

Our second suite was identical to the first, but with no smoke and a TV that worked. The rooms were tattered, the 1960's furniture (age, as well as style) was in various stages of decay, the electrical sockets were from another era of wiring (even for Zambia) and hit or miss as far as providing power and the mattresses had that lovely crescent shape that is so good for one's back. The bathrooms were gems, as well. They were narrow (at most two feet from wall to tub) and had tubs and hand-held showers with no shower curtains. Unfortunately, both hand-held shower fixtures were rusted or clogged and barely spit out any water. If we waited long enough, warm water eventually arrived. One toilet was fine, while the other refused to take anything away when it flushed, so it was only good for one use. Mind you, it wasn't clogged and flushed heartily, but refused to take everything with it. Sorry to be so graphic, but it was comical.

In its favor, the rooms were reasonably clean, in that "best you can do given what you have to work with" sort of way. Restaurant and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly, but reception staff seemed bothered to have to deal with guests. Overall, a low end hotel by any standard and certainly far, far below the quality of the Zambezi Sun.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hackmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Fairmount is made up of rooms around small gardens, with most of the rooms on the ground floor, and just a few on the 1st floor. The compound has a slightly confusing and maze-like quality to it, but the hotel is quite charming, and offers a budget option to stay in Livingstone.
Livingstone is a wonderful place to visit for the Victoria Falls, cruises on the Zambesi river, and the wildlife safaris. So if you want to visit Livingstone and not spend a huge amount on a fancier hotel, Fairmount is a good option.
The hotel is very close to the bus stand. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the service during breakfast was cheerful and attentive.
The quality of the breakfast was quite good, too.
The hotel had a rocking party going on when we checked in on a weekend night, with dancing going on until 4 am.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suhasini21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gamardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#8 of 18 in Livingstone
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Fairmount Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Fairmount Hotel & Casino

Address: Plot Nr. 441/2 Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range: £39 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Fairmount Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing